We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are You Waiting For??????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar House on Sound B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mattituck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar House on Sound B&B
Save
You added Cedar House on Sound B&B to your Saves list
4850 Sound Ave., Mattituck, NY 11952   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Babylon, New York
1 review
“What are You Waiting For??????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Wow! Dave & Donna were the most amazing hosts. The Cedar House is like being at your families house. The House is incredible. Cozy,warm,welcoming. A bar & wine tasting. A Pool Table everything you would want in your own home!!! Daves Breakfast was delicious! My husband & I will be going back every year for our anniversary & then some! So if you like Great Wine(they make their own, best on the North Fork..just Sayin)Good People & A Home Away from Home GO!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
104
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Found this place by accident a few months back and can't get enough. My wife and I have been there twice and look forward to returning very soon. Can't help but find yourself in a good mood as soon as you walk into this B&B. Dave and Donna are excellent host and the story of how they got their start is fascinating. Evening complimentary wine tasting is a must attend. I highly recommend staying at this B&B if you are visiting the North Fork.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvc
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Recently my husband and I along with 4 other couples rented all the rooms at Cedar House. Dave and Donna provided us with a wonderful experience. All of the rooms are immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. Our hosts made us feel so welcome and encouraged us to enjoy the common area with pool table and tv. The breakfast the next morning was delicious!
We already booked our return for next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great. We stayed in the honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Cedar House and had a great time! It's not your typical B&B, but still has all the best features of a typical B&B. There's a 21st century feel to it with the numerous flat screens in every room and the pool table/wine tasting bar area. Dave & Donna were gracious hosts and the breakfasts were incredible! Close proximity to all North Fork wineries and Tanger Outlets. We will only stay there on any return trips!

Room Tip: If you tend to stay up late, recommend the back rooms and not the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Owners of this B&B also live on site, with their small daughter and dog. Property is well maintained, evening wine tasting is nice, breakfasts are tasty and property is convenient to all wineries. Dave and Donna are pleasant, recommended some great restaurant picks and generally strive to ensure you have a nice time.

Keep in mind that because the family lives on site, you may have to contend with visiting family members, small kids on the premises, family dog (friendly), etc. Not necessarily a bad thing but one should be aware of this before booking.

We really liked the place and had a nice time at the property and the surrounding area. For the price, one would expect that family / guests to be separated, with guest comfort and solitude taking priority.

During our stay, Dave / Donna had family visiting from out of town and stayed up pretty late at the 'bar / wine tasting' area reminiscing and talking. Hey, I have family and love 'catching up' but the set up of the B&B and of the tasting room causes booming voices to echo and carry so we weren't able to sleep until they decided to turn in for the evening. OK to entertain family friends / guests but owners need to use discretion when guests are on site.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I attended a party not far from Cedar House. (Right up the street). Our friends told us about the B&B and booked a night for us there.

As soon as we walked in, it felt as if were home. Welcomed by hosts Dave and Donna, they immediately showed us around, invited us to the wine tasting, (so sorry we couldn't make that), showed us the bar where we immediately got a bottle of wine to bring back to the room.

The room was beautiful. Comfy marshmellow - like bed. Nice size flat screen TV, and just a warm comfortable feeling all around.

In the morning, Dave made us a delicious breakfast. Poached eggs on Italian bread halves, proscuitto, provolone cheese and a yummy tomato sauce.

We plan on going back in the near future and spending more time enjoying the living room, pool tabe and other surroundings.

If you're looking for a nice little getaway, THIS is the place!! You will NOT be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Any room is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were looking for a weekend getaway not far from New York City and I happened to stumble upon this b&b and we are so happy I did!

We took the jitney out there Friday night and Dave picked us up at the bus stop and waited while we ordered some delicious food to bring back with us. We sat in the kitchen talking with dave and Donna while we were eating our dinner. They are both wonderful hosts - very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and about the many delicious restaurants located nearby.

The entire bed and breakfast is beautifully decorated and charming. There is even a tasting room where you can sample some of the wine that they make - very good!

Overall, this experience was great. The b&b is beautiful, Dave and Donna are wonderful hosts who both clearly love what they do, and the north fork is a charming place for a romantic NYC weekend getaway!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar House on Sound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House on Sound B&B

Address: 4850 Sound Ave., Mattituck, NY 11952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House isn’t your ordinary B&B. We’ve worked to create an environment that’s fresh and contemporary, yet totally in tune with the area’s rustic beauty. We offer relaxation and comfort in an authentic but thoroughly modern setting, with polished hardwood floors, local art, unique amenities, and furniture and fixtures that reflect the colors and forms of Tuscany.This is more than just a place to sleep and eat – although you’ll do both very well here. We aim to take simple hospitality to the next level and provide you with exactly the kind of getaway you desire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar House on Sound B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.