We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, Inn seems out of place for the surrounding area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 West Orvis St., Massena, NY 13662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Massena
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good, Inn seems out of place for the surrounding area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed over one night with friends while traveling. Everything seemed to be quite good; Rooms were clean as expected, fresh linens, etc. I could comment a little on the overall neatness of the hotel, which for the most part was good, but then I would I think I was "nitpicking". Continental breakfast was more than I expected, with eggs, bacon, waffle maker, and many choices of cereal, fresh fruit and Pastry. Lobby was very nice with tv, and hot coffee around the clock. We arrived after 8:00pm on a Sunday, and "Dar's" was already closed. Sadly, the area around the Inn has seen better times, and most places to eat were also closed for the evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityMassenaGM, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know how we are doing. Yes, Dar's is closed on Sundays, so I'm sorry you missed out on the great food she serves. Maybe next time! Best wishes from everyone at the Quality Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
23
8
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had a quiet night at this hotel. Our room only had 1 double bed, which was up against a wall, so it wasn't roomy around the bed, but the rest of the room was an okay size for 2 people. Everything was well maintained and working. Breakfast was quite good, with lots of choices, including hot scrambled eggs and bacon, as well as the usual continental offerings. The restaurant attached to the hotel offered a lot of choices for dinner, and the servings were quite large. We'd definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityMassenaGM, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and hope to see you back with us again real soon! Happy Travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed here in the past and they have done a great job of updating the rooms and facility. Staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good and the overall stay was relaxing. The restaurant adjacent to the lobby "Dars" is very good and I have eaten there twice now and the food has been very good and large portions. Prices are low to moderate and the staff friendly. Excellant stop while making sales calls thru the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityMassenaGM, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We have several others plans to make the Quality Inn the best hotel in the area. See you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel was recently enovated with beautiful rooms, comfortable beds ans sparkling,new and spotless bathrooms. I believe our AARP rate was about $70.00 a night! Georgous indoor pool. Wonderful free breakfast from 6:30am until 10:am. Fresh coffee in lobby at all times and a beautiful lobby and breakfast room to boot. Friendly and accommodating staff. Can't say enough great things. Have paid over $200.00 a night for much , much lower class accommodations. You won't be sorry--promise.

Room Tip: All good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Went to this hotel in November 2011 for some cross border shopping, pretty basic but I would go back without hesitation...

Germain, Quebec

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Quality inn has done a pretty good job updating the hotel but In the elevator and in the halls the smell of smoke is overwhelming. The room was also very noisy with the noise from the hall carrying though. I was totally turned off by the smoke, which is also why I no longer stay at the Best Western in Massena. When will hotels in Massena catch on that many better hotels are now smoke free??

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityMassenaGM, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the issue you had regarding the smoke smell. We are hoping to convert all rooms on the 2nd floor to smoking before spring, thereby leaving 3 floors smoke free. For now, when booking, request a first floor or 4th floor room, and again I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Just back from a quick two night getaway to the massena area. Stayed at the quality inn on E Orvis St. It is what you would expect from a 2 star hotel, and more. Positives were the staff, who were without exception ecellent. Also there is quite nice restaurant, which I didnt expect. Food was reasonably priced and decent. The room was small with one double bed against the wall. The room had a fridge and microwave, tv worked fine, and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom also fine. It is an older hotel, so some things needed updating, but were clean anyway. The negatives were a thermostat in the room that , no matter what I did could not be changed. It was always registering the same very warm temp. I was able to open the window in the room though, so I managed. Housekeeping lady tried to fix it for me, but still didnt work. I didnt report it though until I checked out. The other negative was what other people here have mentioned, and that is slamming doors. I myself even did it one day by accident, as my arms were full of packages, and window was open, the wind took the door and WHAM! There should be some kind of mechanism in the door to prevent this. Also at times I smelled cigarette smoke, though it was a non smoking room, but I did have the window open so it may have come from another floor. All in all a very good stay, clean comfortable room and bed, great staff, and all for the excellent price of 69.00 per night. It was booked on the companies internet website. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 10 West Orvis St., Massena, NY 13662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Massena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Massena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Massena
Quality Inn Massena
Massena Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.