We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cajun food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Daddys

Big Daddys
1 Park Lane, Massapequa, NY 11758
516.799.8877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 95 Restaurants in Massapequa
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Cajun food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love this place. Nice bar with live blues music on some nights. Great spicy Cajun food or mild Texas BBQ for those who don't like the spice. The "Pig Out" is a combination of everything and really hard for one person to finish. Portion sizes are huge so everyone leaves with a doggy bag. Tommy is great at the tables or the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I try different items all the time here - as the menu always changes. Never had a bad meal - and there is always something left to take home for lunch the next day. Great Hurricaines!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Big Daddys is one of our staples on Long Island. The food is always great with the right amount of spice and flavor. Crowds do get heavy around 7:00 on weekends and waits have been up to an hour and a half. The bar is small and gets crowded but the drinks are strong and good - I suggest the Choking Doberman for a real kick.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service, setting so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Tried this for the first time. We tried a number of dishes: BBQ Chicken, Shrimp Po-boy, Baked Beans, Cole Slaw, Sweet Fries, Grits, Cheddar Cheese Mashed Potatoes, and Pecan Pie. All were very well prepared and presented. Casual yet nice.

Service was excellent.

All these comments should be considered in the context that this was more of a very good food shack in a restaurant facade. That is not a complaint. Just how I saw it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Catering order review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently had Big Daddy's cater our off-premises party and would absolutely do it again.
Tommy the catering manager was excellent to deal with. We called several times to ask questions & go over the order & he was always very friendly & professional.

The food was excellent & everyone loved having something different than standard party fare of heroes or baked ziti.

The biggest hit was the beef brisket po boy. And people really loved the 'house salad' which doesn't appear on their regular menu but should..

The only thing was that the price was a little different than what is on the website & should have been discussed when we placed the order.

Overall the service & quality of food was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddys also viewed

Massapequa, Long Island
 
Massapequa, Long Island
Massapequa, Long Island
 

Been to Big Daddys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Daddys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.