We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent Quick Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59-40 55th Road, Maspeth, NY 11378   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Maspeth
Waynesboro, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convienent Quick Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at the HIEX Maspeth during a five-hour layover. The room was the typical HIEX - clean and functional. Alexis made check in and check out painless. She ordered an early morning cab to LGA for me. It arrived on time.

The reason I rate this property four star instead of five is that airport shuttles only run between 8AM and 6PM.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the hotel away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    28
    11
    21
See reviews for
51
24
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is my first stay at this HIE as I stayed before a flight home at LGA. My rating is deceiving - I would give the staff and their helpfulness and courtesy an "excellent." As a Platinum, they are what I expect from HIE in terms of top notch service and attention. The rooms and hotel are clean and well-appointed - I did not have to ask for anything additional. However, the location is the issue. Convenient to LGA airport, it is in the midst of a commercial area with I-495 at the front door. Even with a room on the backside of the hotel away from the freeway, I still heard some traffic noise as well as the trucks coming and going on the side streets. I'm a sound sleeper, so I wasn't bothered; but, light sleepers may need to be higher up away from noise. McDonald's is next door for fast-food enthusiasts, but a number of the other sit-down eateries are about a 10 minute walk away. Not totally convenient. But - aside from the location, I will stay here again because of the attention and professionalism of the staff.

Room Tip: A room on the away-from-freeway side of the hotel on a higher floor would help reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Millionmiletravelers,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provided. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for you did not find our location convenient to your needs. We regret that this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Nevertheless, it was real pleasure hearing that you enjoyed most aspects of your visit.

Your patronage and support to the hotel are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

During our stay in New York at the end of June we took a double room for two nights. The location of the hotel is unfortunately extremely unfavorable, located right next to a gas station and very close to I-495, enough parking lots were available. Public transportation (bus / metro) is reachable by foot (~6 min. to the next bus stop Q59) or by the hotel's shuttle, but it only runs once every hour and only to the nearest metro station.

The male staff at the reception was not very friendly when we checked in, we did not feel very welcome from the start. I told him that we wanted to spend our wedding anniversary here and asked if he could offer us something special for this, but he just ignored it. We got a room in the basement for $ 165 (plus tax) per night with a window directly onto the parking lot behind the hotel.

However, the room was very nice, although the overall space in the room was quite scarce. The king size bed was definitely a dream, the bathroom was quite large and very clean. The equipment of the room was very good, there was a large flatscreen tv, telephone, hairdryer, safe and a office table. The air conditioning worked well and was not too loud.

After we had checked into our room we wanted to use the shuttle to get to the metro station, but at the front desk I was (again from the unfriendly guy) told that the shuttle only runs until 6 pm (it was 6:02 pm at that time). Fortunately, the female staff at the reception was much more friendly, they gave me an overview map and explained to me the way to the nearest bus stop, so we were able to get to manhattan.

The next day we tried the breakfast and it was really very rich, with scrambled eggs and sausages, toast, bagels, a very good coffee and great cinnamon rolls. This was one of the positive points during our whole stay.

By 3 pm we wanted to take the shuttle to the metro station ... again there was that rude male staff at the front desk. It seemed to be a burden for him, since he was the driver of the shuttle. Not only that the metro station was in a completely different direction, he did not speak a word with us and has not even thanked for the gratuity. If hospitable and friendly service annoys him that much, he should perhaps consider another profession. This guy has almost ruined our wedding anniversary! Fortunately, at least the female staff at the reception were very friendly.

Summary:
PRO - Rooms & Equipment, breakfast
CONTRA - Location, some unfriendly staff, shuttleservice

Overall, we had a stay of 4 weeks in the United States and have seen many motels / hotels where we felt much more welcome.

Room Tip: My advice would be not to take a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear DasBausV,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our accommodations and breakfast were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the service you received and our location. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the first review I have ever written, but our recent stay the holiday inn express maspeth was really good. We were looking for a hotel with a good rate, free parking and wifi. This holiday inn express fit the bill and more. First and foremost was the manager, Andrea - she was so nice and helpful and went out of her way to help us with subway routes and more. Thank you, Andrea! Our room was nice and clean - as was the lobby and breakfast area. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Had an enjoyable stay. Loved the theme throughout the hotel, just as every holiday inn. Got a goddie bag at check in, which helped with the bottle of water in it. Had to park on the street because parking lot was full but I didn't get a ticket or get towed so I was happy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pros - Good clean rooms, free parking and wifi, friendly hotel staff in a neat Queens/Brooklyn neighbourhood. Easy access to Manhatten by bus and cheap taxi ride back at the end of the night. Right beside a convenience store, gas station and McDonalds for late night hunger!

Cons -. While the neighbourhood overall is pretty neat during the day, I have to say we didn't feel very safe at night. Saturday night modified sports cars and motorbikes revved into the wee hours of the morning. Shuttle to and from the airport and subway station only runs on weekdays :(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear CSchmidtke,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff. However, I am sorry that you encountered some issues with noise. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We needed a place to stay that was near the Long Island Expressway as well as having access to Manhattan. This hotel fit both criteria! Although the surrounding area was more industrial than I would have liked (but this wasn't a romantic getaway so it didn't matter), the hotel was clean and the staff was extremely accommodating, offering us a take along bag of fruit for our day. We had extra pillows delivered to our room too. The room itself was on the small side, but the luxurious bathroom made up for that and the king mattress was supportive and comfortable. The breakfast was the typical "Express" breakfast and there is a Dunkin Donuts a block away. We would stay here again for sure for the cleanliness, staff and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York

Address: 59-40 55th Road, Maspeth, NY 11378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Maspeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Maspeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Enjoy comfort at Holiday Inn Express - Maspeth located in Queens. Our hotel is located only 5 miles from Manhattan and LaGuardia Airport, and 11 miles from JFK International Airport. Your family will enjoy staying at our hotel, located just off I-495, with fast access to the endless attractions of New York City that include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Empire State Building, Times Square, Central Park and the Statue of Liberty. Also nearby are the American Museum of Natural History, Shea Stadium and Ripley's Believe It or Not. Situated within minutes of both airports and close to most major NYC expressways, our New York City hotel provides close proximity to many of the business and transportation hubs of the area. Some nearby corporate headquarters include Coca Cola, Chase Bank, McGraw-Hill, Merrill Lynch and Group Health, Inc. With our convenient location, you can make it to your meeting on time. During your visit to our New York City hotel, enjoy amenities that include fitness center, high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar with our signature cinnamon rolls. Business travelers can take advantage of our business center that offers copying and fax services. Book your hotel reservations now and take advantage of our great New York City hotel deals and rates. Make the smart choice - choose the Holiday Inn Express Maspeth and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York Hotel Maspeth
Holiday Inn Maspeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.