We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club to your Saves list
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
576 West Hubbell Hill Road, Off Route 30, Margaretville, NY 12455   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

we booked at the Hanah and the desk service was very pleasant, and we love the area in this part of the catskills. The views and surroundings are beautiful. we were so disappointed when we checked into this lovely hotel, the lobby is grand, but the reception we recieved was very rude, and the rooms were very dirty, our bathroom it seemed had not even been wiped down, i was so disgusted i showered with a towel on the tub floor. there was no one to contact,as the lobby closes at 9.00 pm, and we left as early as possible, and the lobby was still closed at 8.30 am....what a disappointment for such a large new hotel on such a beautiful mountain.... it is just a shame..

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
34
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

Well, how do i start this? I enjoy golf! I also enjoy new places to play golf and a friend has a home on this property.
The Golf course is gorgeous! The views are Spectacular! The ride to the Club is breathtaking and truly shows off the real NY Catskills!
However, this place is run by a person who is absolutely CLUELESS. At times I felt terrible for the staff. Everyone seemed so eager to help but everyone was very thinly spread. Management needs to be replaced!

Don't take ANY rooms that are not at the top of moutain unless they are offering you the Hanah House. The ones at the top are new and nice and normal......the ones at the bottom are well........at the bottom.

GREAT place to GOLF!
Great place to stay to ski!
Eat some where else...........there are alot of places to do so in the many charming towns tht surround the club.

  • Liked — the golf
  • Disliked — the lack of management and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go on a holiday weekend
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

Just returned from a weekend at Hanah. We had a blast. Three days of unlimited golf & carts, 2 meals, nice double room, a golf appreciation tournament for $229 + tax (and incidentals)

We went up for a final golf outing with some 10-12 handicapers. The rooms were fine, not the Ritz but clean & comfortable. The food was great, breakfast & dinner buffets.

The course is chalenging, difficult, interesting. The area is beautiful. The view is gourgeous. The new owners are trying hard to please. They are gracious.

I think it's hard to beat. My guess is some of these reviews were while the place was being rebuilt. There is still some work to do but we had a great time and would go back again.

  • Liked — Golf
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

We made a last minute reservation and were given a choice of staying at the higher priced hotel or lower priced motel. Of course we chose the lower price thinking that the only difference would be more personal service. Since their web site gave the impression of a very nice place to stay, we were completely unprepared for what we got. When we checked in on what we thought were the grounds on which we would be staying, we were given two keys. One was attached to a dirty piece of old wood and the other was attached to a filthy golf ball. We should have run in the other direction then but we were then told that we would have to drive quite a ways to arrive at our room which wasn't even on the grounds of the country club! It just goes downhill from there. The room was in an extremely rundown building next door to one that was literally falling down with a junk car to top it off. The lamp had a bare bulb-no lamp shade. The drape was held up by one hook on one side. The window was open and would not close. The toliet had mold on the seat cover. At first I thought that there wasn't even any soap to wash your hands, but did find some in the cabinet. I was afraid to even sit on the bed as it looked like something that a second hand shop wouldn't even accept as a donation. We drove all the way back to the check in to get our money back or a new room but were refused. There was still no way that we were staying there so we gave them the keys and left. Very rude and unaccommodating service to check in initially and worse then. We normally stay at inexpensive but decent hotels but this was not what one would expect for $100 a night. Go at your own peril!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't believe their web site.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmingdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

very clean rooms, somewhat comfortable beds, view from the balcony (room 202) was somewhat blocked (as all the room are) by some trees. this is the new lodge. the tub is very small in which to take a bath in. the balcony had some uncomfortable iron old bistro chairs to sit on. bring your own outdoor chairs for the balcony. the maid staff was kind and excellent. the indoor pool was clean and very relaxing however the shower area was somewhat dirty. the sauna was excellent. the fitness room has 3 stations really nothing to speak of. the outdoor hot tub was a tad dirty but very comfortable however the jets in the hot tub are badly in need of repair as they are losing power with age.there is a small deck with a few uncomfortable cheap chase lounges next to the hot tub. by the way the view(by the spa) of the mountains is blocked by some trees and a sump with some garbage in it . the dinning room itself was very nice breakfast was the same every day the pancakes were cold and not good but it was a decent breakfast all in all. dinner was excellent. good choices for the few days i was there . staff was excellent in the dinning room
the bar area had a kid who was mixing drinks the first day i was there he was great at it. but the next day a not so nice person was bartending and shoving the patrons bar appitizers in her mouth not good indeed!! the golf course is very challenging but in need of updating and i saw some work going on a very few holes but in all i loved the couse but more the back 9 than the front 9 which is no big deal. the lower rooms one should not stay in as they are very very old and not close to the top of the resort.
the sad thing is there was a buliding by the golf course that said spa on it and was destroyed and never rebulit so all in all the place has so much potential but the owners are really not int in improving the place too much and just getting as much money out of it as they can
the owner staff will not talk to you as the only thing i got was give us your money and get lost. not much politeness on their part
the place needs a new infusion of capital and new owners

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — blocked views of mountains from room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

The place was ok. This area has either little Roach motels or extremely expensive hotels (like the Emerson), so this place is a nice middle. In the winter it is reasonable and they offer good ski and stay discounts.
In the spring, summer and fall it is a great place to play GOlf - Championship COurse.
No one will hit into you, and you will be the only one out there, except holidays.
NOT a cruise ship or Carrebaean All-inclusive, so don't expect FINE Abundant cuisene.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

My husband & I had the unfortunate experience of staying one night at Hanah Mountain Resort & Country Club in late March.

The grounds were under construction- bulldozers, partially constructed stairs, mud pits, sections roped off, etc.

Room was in need of help as well - mold in shower, torn comforters, stained carpet, etc.

We decided on a "dinner/breakfast" package- our first impression (upon entrance into the "dining room")of the adjacent table using styrofoam containers (provided by the waiter) to scoop the remains of their dinner to bring home should have been the tip-off. Dinner was barely edible (and took 2 1/2 hours to be served (there were only six tables occupied, and believe me, this WAS NOT a fine restaurant). By 9am the next morning @ breakfast (which, after waiting 15 minutes to be acknowledged & given menus, my husband had to get up and find the waiter), the kitchen had "run out of" bacon, pancakes (how do you run out of flour?), wheat toast, homefries, bran muffins and English muffins. Aside for the fact that this godforsaken place was in the middle of nowhere, we would have elected to find another source of nourishment.

Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Address: 576 West Hubbell Hill Road, Off Route 30, Margaretville, NY 12455
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanah Mountain Resort And Country Club Hotel Margaretville
Hanah Mountain Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.