We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous bed and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margaretville Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Margaretville Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Margaretville Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1478 Margaretville Mtn Rd, Margaretville, NY 12455   |  
Hotel amenities
Hopewell Junction, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous bed and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Wonderful breakfast this morning, lovely room, large bathroom, and best of all super large hot tub!
Great price for two days and 9 miles to skiing, very relaxing, no noise just peace and serenity!
Left two comfy robes for us to use while we stayed here to make us feel at our own home and very close to get restaurants to eat too.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice but if you want a king bed I believe there is only one that I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    2
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a comfortable quiet fall night stay at this lovely inn. The room was charming and the attached bathroom all you could ask for. The Queen size bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. There is a first floor den and sitting room for guest use where I spent an evening reading after dinner. The outside porch was a delightful place to sit and watch the occasional car go by amid all the fall colors. Bear, the dog, provided great company. The breakfast in a beautiful dinning room was delicious and included choice of eggs or waffles. Our hosts Carol and Peter were gracious and Carol really made our trip perfect by suggesting a leaf peeping route which we throughly enjoyed and would not have taken otherwise. The inn is just minutes from the small country town of Margaretville where you can eat dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
THANKS!, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves, Carol and Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I took our 5 month old daughter for a three night stay over the 4th of July weekend and we would recommend the Margaretville Mountain Inn to anyone. Peter was a great host and the breakfasts were delicious. The B&B is in a beautiful setting with picturesque views and a lovely porch to sit out and enjoy them. We stayed in the Lavender Room which has a small ensuite bathroom. The room wasn't that big but was clean and was large enough for us to fit a travel crib for our daughter. The room has a window AC unit which kept us cool in some pretty warm weather. The B&B is located outside of Margaretville but is a short drive into town and isn't too far from other small villages like Roxbury and Andes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are happy you folks had a relaxing time, thanks, Carol and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Margaretville Mtn Inn B&B! A delightfully nostalgic house, fantastic service, clean and comfortable, and excellent breakfast - what more could we ask. While there for a wedding weekend, I can safely say that we enjoyed more of our time in Margaretville's cute shops and the B&B's comforts than our actual wedding festivities! Peter was nothing but kind and hospitable, and kept us all laughing around the beautifully laid breakfast table. I was completely enchanted by the old world Victorian charm throughout the inn - and what a beautiful collection of antique pieces coordinated within each room.

I have to say however, my favorite part - the over-sized red plush robes awaiting us in our room after a long drive and a lot of chilly, rainy weather. Nicely done. <3

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a recent ski trip to Belleayre and spent two nights at the Margaretville Mountain Inn. It was just myself and my two children ages 7 and 10. We had a beautiful room and the kids were in love with both the friendly dog "Bear" and the most delicious breakfasts. They could not stop talking about the french toast and the maple syrup that was fresh from the trees. We had a private bath that was very clean. We didn't use the hot tub located out by the barn, but instead went to the nearby Hanah country club and purchased very reasonable day passes to the pool. Overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi glad you enjoyed your stay with your family. The French Toast and Bear will be awaiting your next visit, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My partner surprised me with a weekend getaway to Margaretville, and I couldnt have asked for a better surprise. The house was beautiful and very homey. The Inn Keepers were very accomodating and sweet, and gave us a tour of the house, which included two parlor areas with game boards, books and even a fire place. We were even greeted by their big,sweet dog Bear! Our room was quaint but very comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice as well. Because it was so cold outside, they had the house heat turned up, and it can get a little too warm, but our room had a radiator that we could turn down to adjust it. The breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend their French Toast. We ended up going to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, just over an hour away, and then back into town for dinner at Peekamoose, in Big Indian, not far from Margaretsville. I also Highly recommend eating there if you're in town. The views from Sunrise to Sunset are magnificent and we will definitely be coming back for more relaxation! (PS they have a jacuzzi in the back, but we didnt get a chance to use it. Looking forward to trying it out next time )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review of us and the area, I'm glad your getaway worked out well. See you folks soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fallsburg, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

enjoyed the inn very much . The hosts where great. They went above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, I highly recommend it . Dont forget to bring the kids . Close to all ski centers. . ask for the french toast the best I have ever had
Bring your snowmobile close to 36 mile trail system . A nice weekend getaway. The rooms where clean and cozy . The kids stayed in connecting rooms to ours with a shared bath. If was warm and cozy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi guys, thanks, got some new snow, come on back, the French toast and maple syrup are waiting for you! Cheers, Peter and Carol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaretville Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaretville Mountain Inn

Address: 1478 Margaretville Mtn Rd, Margaretville, NY 12455
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Margaretville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaretville Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Queen Anne Victorian with spectacular views. Superbly preserved this wonderful house is further complemented by fine antiques and period interior design. Recipient of DISTINGUISHED PROPERTY AWARD by InnKeeper.com. Only 9 miles to Belleayre Mtn & 10 miles to Ski Plattekill. Listed on National Register of Historic Places. Rates include gourmet breakfasts served in formal dining room. Jacuzzi hot tub on site. All guest rooms have flat screen TV's and private baths. Free Wi-Fi on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Margaretville Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaretville Mountain Hotel Margaretville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaretville Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.