We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mahebourg
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

There was a great atmosphere at Preskil Beach Resort and some of the most attentive service I have ever received. There was good entertainment every night and plenty of activities throughout the resort. We also made great use of the spam getting massages, using the sauna and the steam room. The staff were always very friendly and the rooms were kept very clean. The beach was also decorated beautifully and the security made me feel safe. The food was good but could be improved. The food in the Charka steak restaurant wasn't as good as expected. The lunch menu at the Indigo bar was good but a little expensive and needed less carby food options. Dinner was good but could be overall a more spectacular experience. For example, a place we went some years ago decorated with spun sugar. Overall though the food was perfectly good and so was my experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the trees at the back of peninsula might be advisable to light sleepers as the birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    419
    117
    40
    20
See reviews for
248
726
35
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just came back from a week at Le Preskil. Last here 3 years ago and its improved greatly in terms of food quality and especially the staff, they smile at last and engage in chatty conversation as opposed to looking like the last thing they feel like doing is helping you.
We stayed in a Honeymoon Suit (172), a downstairs room, very clean, tidy, nothing super luxurious but very comfy firm bed, aircon, ensuite, bar fridge (bit noisy at night so pack ear plugs).
5m walk to the beach from the room.
Best night for the buffet is Wednesday... Creole... although Tuesday night they have Pavlova and Choc Mousse on the dessert buffet.
A big plus is there are no hotels close by so you don't get the feel of 'Masses of people' at anytime.
Glass bottom boat trip is fun and free, a trip across the water to Ill Aux Aigrettes is a must.

Avoid the taxi's outside (the hotel use them if you ask them to call a cab), they charge like a herd of wounded buffalo, 300 rupees from the Hotel to Mahbourg Market which is only a 30min walk along the coast is excessive! And the market is not much, better to take a day trip to Curepipe markets or Port Louis.
Plenty of private taxis driving around that will stop if your walking, and barter for a fixed fee.

some of the beach hawkers selling necklaces are a menace, and don't take no for an answer... its fake rubbish so save your money.

Will definitely be going back next year

Room Tip: avoid the standard rooms if you want a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Preskil is a beautiful well manicured resort sitting on its own peninsula 15 minutes from the airport (nice not to have a long transfer after an 11+ hour flight). Many of the rooms directly overlook the beach, and out towards the reef, a smattering of islands, and to the ocean beyond, flanked by the stunning mountains. This is picture postcard territory. We were hoping for a week of sun and relaxation and, bar a day of tropical showers, that is exactly what we had.

Our room, which had a decent view, was in good order (although the walk-in shower leaked slightly). The maid service was unobtrusive and very effective at tidying up after us. On the whole, the staff (of whom there were plenty) were welcoming and helpful, but were occasionally let down by the attitude of some of the waiting staff.

We stayed half board for seven days, which was suited us. The food was varied and tasty, with just one uninspiring evening meal. The bar foods was ok, if pricey. We didn't find many eateries within easy walking distance.

We didn't use any of the water sports, but they looked fun. Must be showing our age, because we did worry for the safety of fun seekers at one point, as we watched them bump and splash at break-neck speed in a tiny dingy dragged wildly from behind a speed boat. Having said that, the beach is quiet with plenty of loungers and places to escape the sun and breeze. The hawkers are polite. The security is very obvious, with a gatehouse, cameras, guards, and even dogs: I did wonder at one point if they were there to keep unwelcome visitors out or the guests in!

I would recommend Preskill for couples in need of relaxation, sun, and romance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Preskil Beach Resort in August 2013 for 11 nights. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are amazing...they are so pleasant, helpful and polite....nothing is to much trouble. The service throughout the hotel is first class and everywhere is spotlessly clean.The food in all restaurants is delicious but the steak house is without doubt well worth a visit...you will not taste a steak like it!! It was our anniversary while we were there and the staff went to a lot of trouble to make it a very special occasion and one to remember. We would definately recommend Preskil Beach and hopefully will be making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Let me try to keep it short:

Get the All-inclusive package. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at Spices restaurant is excellent and buffet all the way. We also got two vouchers for Charka and/or Tapas. We ate at each only once, but it was excellent food; best fillet ever at Charka! Good selection of wines and other drinks on all-inclusive menu. Delicious cocktails ;)

Rooms will do, especially because you don't go to Mauritius to stay in the room. Not the best or biggest, but we had a big bed and satellite TV when we 'needed' it. It also had a small safe for wallets and cellphones and passports etc. Cleaned twice a day that I know of. The aircon and pillows need a little attention. An extra blanket hidden in the cupboard would have been handy some nights. The shower really needs attention; warm one second, cold the other.

Beach; excellent. We had very good weather. Just lie in the sun or in the shade, tan, read, order cocktails, beer or fries. A little bit windy. I think a little bit later in the year (mid-summer) the wind will be welcome. The 'sand' is rough; shingles and pebbles more than sand. No effect on swimming and tanning, just rough under (office) foot. Makes for good photos!

Activities; excellent. The catamaran trip is a must. Food and drinks are included. Remember your wallet for the 2 hours on Ile aux Cerfs. Good scenery, great snorkeling, great food and drinks; a full day's activity. Glass-bottom boat trip is more about the snorkeling really than the barge with transparent windows in the bottom of the hull. We also went on the snorkeling with a power boat, also part of the all-inclusive. We had a great time snorkeling in between the fish.

Location; very good. It is on the windy side, but huge lagoon to do activities on like sailing and water-skiing etc. The view over the lagoon from the beach was just amazing!

Extra; we booked a car to the other side (Tamarin Bay) and went swimming with the spinner dolphins. Woke up at 5, had early breakfast. At 6 we were picked up at 8 we were on the water. At 10 we were back and on the way to the 7 Coloured Earths. Bit boring, but informative. Then to the Hindu temple and were back at Preskil by 14h00. Good trip. Then had a game of tennis; the Hotel has rackets, but you have to buy the balls.

Staff and service; no complaints, only compliments.

Summary; best holiday in ages! The quality of our experience have persuaded us to visit Preskil again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 weeks at Preskil beach and it was an amazing experience.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. I would recommend the trips round to blue bay if you like snorkelling, and also the free ones from the hotel itself. We went to a few spots in the lagoon, and I was never quite sure if we went to the same place more than once. If you don’t want to pay for the hotel trip to blue bay, you can get a taxi from outside the hotel, and then pay for a local boat from blue bay. It works out a bit cheaper, and is a viable alternative (although we were warned not to do this by our travel rep). It also possible to find interesting snorkelling straight from the beach. This comes with a warning; I am not saying there is an amazing reef just off the beach, all I am saying is that there are corals and interesting fish to see (a small puffer for example). Tip, check out the right side of the pier there was an amazing blue angel fish living there.
We were not into diving, but made good use of the water sports available. The guys working on the beach were always very helpful and full of good advice.
The food was very good and I would recommend the steak restaurant. The steaks there were fantastic and the service equally so. We visited numerous times over the two weeks, and I was never disappointed. You should really try to book the day before, but we did manage to get in booking on the day itself. For the buffet, they had a different theme each evening, and it was always possible to find something nice even if you did not really like the theme. There was a lot to choose from, which was not the case for lunchtimes. A small gripe really, but the children never tired of their chicken burgers.
I would say that the accommodation is getting a little dated, but in no way did this affect us. Because the chalets are stacked one on top of the other, you get a bit of noise from upstairs. I think the people above us were furniture movers, because they were forever dragging furniture across the room! The shower pressure was good, but the temperature varied a lot, so you had to dip in and out as it got hotter and colder.

With regard to excursions:
Preskil is on the south eastern side of the island, and we did go on an excursion that required a taxi to the western side. Unfortunately this means sitting in a lot of traffic during rush hour on the motorway as it heads into the capital. That excursion included dolphin watching, which was very disappointing, but perhaps I was spoilt by the equivalent in the Maldives. In Mauritius, the dolphins seem to live in the bay, which makes them easy to find; and so they are surrounded by tourist boats. It’s more amusing watching the boats and people than the dolphins. As soon as they surface, there is a mass rush as boats try to manoeuvre their guests into position; followed by multiple splashes and tourist leap excitedly from the boats in an attempt to swim near them. The dolphins then dive under to get out of their coral, and the boats drive round scooping up the swimmers. It’s a free for all, and the rules for boat owners that you see at the start of the trip are completely ignored. It’s a shame, and stark contrast to the Maldives, where there was one boat in open water, and it seemed as if the dolphins came to us rather than us chasing them.
The other excursion was to a waterfall and lagoon island called ile aux cerfs. The boat and snorkelling was lovely, and so was the waterfall, but for us, the island was too touristy. The fact that you have to walk through the gift shop just to get off the boat was a warning. It may suit other people, but not us; so it’s fine if you don’t mind the crowds, are fine paying for deck chairs, want bars and toilets to hand, and just want to sit all day in the sun.
We also tried to go to the lion park. This was a complete fail as it was a local holiday (it’s a shame the taxi did not tell us this). So we sat in the traffic for ages, only to find the place packed out with massive queues. Tip; check for local holidays.

Room Tip: Try upstairs for a quieter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel with a beautiful sheltered beach. The rooms are a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. The staff are friendly and nothing is a problem. The Security team are always present providing a real sense of safety.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius

Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Mahebourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.