We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Le Saladier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Le Saladier to your Saves list
Auberge Le Saladier
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   La Chaux Street, Mahebourg, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Mahebourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Svedmyra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A really nice and clean place to stay in central Mahebourg, close to all restaurangs, shops and ATMs. The landlady has a lot of suggestions and will lend you bikes if you want to go to Blue Bay. Close to the airport but not too close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
16
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at the Saladier Guest House for 9 days and it was a pleasant surprise, at $50 a day I was not expecting much but it was spotlessly clean and my room was cleaned everyday. A/c, a fridge, flat screen Tv with local channels, hot water. Breakfast was included another surprise. Its close to the airport the taxi fare is $16.
There are 2 supermarkets around the corner and the waterfront promenade is a 10 min walk. You can catch a bus to anywhere on the island from around the corner for about $2, Port Louis is 1.5 hours by bus or hire a Taxi for a day of sightseeing for $65. I mainly used the busses and hired a taxi for one day as the busses are slow and you can cover a lot more ground in a taxi. The Pyramid is a local restaurant that serves excellent Mauritian Biriyani and Kebabs. Blue Bay beach is 15min by bus or 5min by taxi. This part of the island is less crowded and cooler that the North. The hosts go out of the way to make your stay fuss free, ask them anything and you will get sensible advice on Things to do and the best way to do them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed at Auberge le Saladier for one night on a stopover from Australia to Madagascar. we chose it due to its proximity to the airport, and it was only a 10 minute taxi trip which was nice. the rooms were basic but very clean and spacious, and had a fridge and a TV. There are a couple of good inexpensive restaurants for dinner that are within a few minutes walk of the hotel.The owner Jill is lovely, very helpful and friendly, and had plenty of information and advice about the local area. Definitely a good choice of hotel for its convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

In last World Cup Challange in 2010,I won a staying in Auberge le Saladier in Mauritius,Mahebourg.I have decided to spend my holiday there on July this year ,and I am more than pleased! The hotel staff( JILL) is very friendly and helpful.Their offering to pick me up from the airport was highly appreciated.They also have helped me to organize excurssions,during which I could enjoy the splendor and beauty of the island.this is really the holiday of my dreams!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Auberge Le Saladier is conveniently located near the airport. The place is clean, rooms are a good size (we had a single room for me and a double room for my parents), location is perfect, place is quiet. The owners are extremely helpful and kind, always willing to assist with any queries you might have. They smiled all the time, seriously! Breakfast was included in the price of the room, we had a fresh bread with butter and jam, coffee, tea and fruit salad with yogurt. Wifi was available with no extra cost. We had to leave very early in the morning to catch the plane (5.30 am), the even organized a quick coffee and taxi to the airport. Over all this is a great place to stay, fantastic people running it, truly recommend and will definitely come back!

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We rented a two bedroom apartment in this B & B for 8 nights (two adults, two boys, 14 and 10) and used it as a base for exploring the island. The accommodation was good, simple, clean and comfortable. The proprietors were extremely friendly giving helpful advice and good recommendations about places to visit, travel etc. The town of Mahebourg is quiet, friendly, unspoiled and only a short bus ride from a lovely beach. It is also a good transport hub for the quieter side of Mauritius.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was our first holiday in a while and we wanted to make sure that we had a nice place to stay which were children friendly (our son is 6 and daughter is 2). Le Saladier came highly recommended to us by some friends who stayed there the previous year and I’m glad they recommended the place because I can honestly say that our stay there were excellent.

Le Saladier is about 10-15 mins drive from the airport and upon arrival we were shown to our apartment (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open living lounge & kitchen). What impressed me was that the place was very clean and extremely comfortable. We had everything we wanted.
Le Saladier is run by the owners and they were very helpful and nothing was too much for them, they were always on hand to give us good advise on where to eat, where to visit etc.

We will definitely be going back to this Le Saladier in the future and we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Le Saladier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Saladier

Address: La Chaux Street, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Saladier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Le Saladier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Saladier Mauritius/Mahebourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Le Saladier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.