We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ripe Tomato

Ripe Tomato
2721 State Rte 9, Malta, NY 12020-4357
518 581 1530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Malta
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in beautiful Saratoga County, the Ripe Tomato is a friendly, family-owned and operated dining experience that sets it apart from chain restaurants. We offer simple, hearty Italian and American fare prepared using fresh, local ingredients.
Amsterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the lobster bisque was outta this word. Went there w/ my folks and kids. Wish it was more kid friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and varied buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a reguvenating soak at the Lincoln Baths in Saratoga Springs, my friends and I stopped for a buffet at the Ripe Tomato. We were so glad we did. They had a buffet - as I guess they do every Sunday - and it included made-to-order omlets, pancakes, waffles, pasteries, veggies, cereals, meats of all sorts, cheeses, fruits. The staff was welcoming and helpful. I plan to take my friend to the baths and Ripe Tomato buffet for her birthday. A treat for us both!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love eating at The Ripe Tomato whenever friends come into town because they have great food, wonderful service and good prices all in a family friendly atmosphere. We have taken our children there since they were born and have never been "put in a corner" or treated differently than we were before we had kids (aside from the crayons being brought to the table).

The menu is a nice blend of Italian and American dishes from Seafood Fra Diavlo to Yankee pot roast or Pork chops. The staff is attentive and quick to make suggestions or accommodate requests. We never feel rushed or patronized. You really do feel like you are visiting a friends home for dinner.


Jra

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Italian Restaurant with Yankee Pot Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Ten volleyball parents dined here on a Saturday night and we had a wonderful experience. The service was attentive and prompt. And the food was great!

While we thought this was an Italian restaurant, it has a very diverse menu, offering Yankee Pot Roast, Pork Schnitzel, and a variety of seafood dishes, all in addition some wonderful and typical Italian selection. Each of us enjoyed our meals, with rave reviews for the Yankee Pot Roast, the Boston Baked Haddock, and the Chicken Piccata. Portions are generous, with most of us leaving with a doggie bag.

I highly recommend this restaurant. It's a bit removed from downtown Saratoga Springs, but well worth the drive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, New York
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Ripe Tomato - Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had Lunch with friends at the Ripe Tomato - we all had the roast pork - it was excellent - had some to bring home!!
I have heard they are famous for their pork and I can see why.
Easy to get to on Route 9 in Malta - will have to try it for dinner some time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripe Tomato also viewed

 

Been to Ripe Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripe Tomato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.