We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own gas mask” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   227 West Main Street, Malone, NY 12953   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Malone
Shirley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring your own gas mask”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

One of the worst hotels I ever stayed at.The place smelled terrible.The rooms were dirty. The office smelled so bad i had to leave could not even get a cup of coffee which i would not have even taken a sip.

Room Tip: i have no idea what could help you here just stay away. I have to make a few more trips up here I ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
3
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

From my first phone contact to make our reservation to our check out after a great 2 night stay, I was always happy with everything about this hotel. It is an older property with a few small issues but none that would detract me from staying again. The beds were great and our room was large with a balcony off the room that I'm sure would be a hit in the summer. The price was budget friendly which helped us make the decision to stay 2 nights instead of 1. The owner/operator and all of his staff with whom we had contact were pleasant and helpful. We will stay again when in that area and will recommend this property to our friends.

Room Tip: If traveling in the summer or fall, ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. When trying to have a shower, hair from the drain came up and floated around in the ankle deep water that resulted from the plugged drain. Also, the toilette bowl had clearly not be cleaned recently, as their was a visible feces rim lining the top of the waterline. We stayed in a room with a king sized bed, and apparently they are out of fitted sheets for that bed size, as we did not have one. I wrote a note to the housekeeper (politely) asking for the drain to be unclogged and toilette bowl to be cleaned during our stay, however there was absolutely no cleaning service and our bed did not even get made. I will NEVER stay in an econo lodge again after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at this motel was very pleasent, from the kind greeting to the cleanliness of our room. An older motel but well kept, with spacious rooms and centrally located to local shopping and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. The only suggestion that I would make would be to have a litlle more space in the breakfast area and to add more items such as bagels, waffles and fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in either the side or back building they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our stay at Econo Lodge at Malone, NY was a very pleasant experience.
The owner was very helpful and easy to deal with. He didn't mind showing us the different rooms to enable us to decide.

The room was spacious and clean - 2 double beds in a room.
The bathroom/toilet was also excellent - clean and spacious.
Worth checking out on this if going thro Malone, NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good location, close to shopping centers and restaurants. Good housekeeping and friendly staff. However, the positives end here. The room was old and the furniture looked worse than one may get from a thrift store. Not surprised, as the majority of the Adirondack hotels are outdated. The room we got was on the main wing (street front) and is totally different than what you can see in the professional pictures above. They're real, although the rooms shown are located in a different wing (and yes, they're newer, cleaner and better than the rest; they even feature LCD TVs, from what I could see through the window). The A/C - heating unit was noise and we couldn't sleep because of that. The room was small, slightly bigger than an average bedroom. The breakfast area / lobby is not larger than my living room (and I don't live in a mansion...) and the breakfast consists of only a few items. Now, I understand this is not Hilton but in 2012 one should get more for the money...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Conveniently located on main street. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was readily available and always helpful. Nice picnic and barbecue spot in back. We'll be back next time we visit the North country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 227 West Main Street, Malone, NY 12953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Malone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malone
Econo Lodge Malone
Malone Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.