We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting North Country, NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malone
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting North Country, NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently opened Holiday Inn Express is the only choice in Malone to stay whether on business or passing through. Location is west of town on stretch of KMart, Walmart and some chain restaurants. Hotel is nrot too expensive for what it is especially if you pay in advance for your reservation. Comfortable beds with choice of 6 pillows. Fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. From previous comment, there is an earthy smell outside the hotel, but not inside and what do you expect from a rural location? Very friendly and helpful staff. Welcome cookies and water at front desk. Mo's next door is a reasonably priced sports bar/grill. Food and service was very good for this type of restaurant plus the hotel gave us a discount coupon.

Room Tip: You can choose a room facing the fields or the road. Hotel is set back quite a way from the road wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! The entire staff works very hard and loves to read feedback from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed our small extras that we do for our guests, like our fresh baked cookies! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
15
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at the this hotel for one night with my family while on vacation. The hotel is new, modern and clean. The service was fine with no problems and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was your typical holiday inn fare which was ok. The 2 problems were the pool/spa and the outdoor foul air. The pool was very cold and unheated and the spa was useless as the jets were not suitable for the size of the tub. After a long days drive I was really looking forward to soaking in the hot tub, so I was very upset when it did not work properly. All the jets do is blow bubbles. The maintenence man I spoke to said that it has always been a problem from day one, and that there was no plans to fix it properly. Although it is not the hotels fault the outside air was foul with animal manure. The hotel is built around farmland and the air was just plain foul. The hotel staff told me that this was a constant problem. There is no question that this is the best hotel in Malone, as there are only a few to choose from but there is still room for improvement. Not sure if I would ever come back to Malone, but if I did I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Our staff is always glad to hear the thoughts of our guests. We are addressing the function of our Whirlpool jets at this time & hope for a quick solution. We have contacted a local Pool technician to help get things working correctly. We hope that you return to Malone in the future and stay with us again! Take care & have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent May 27 and 28 at this outstanding hotel. We discovered it last year on a golf trip to the outstanding Malone Golf Course. We had gone to Malone regularly in the past but had stopped due to the lack of quality accommodation in the area. The Holiday Inn is exactly what the area needed. The quality of the room and customer service are top notch. We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express and the complimentary breakfast offered here is by far the best we've had. Monday night there was a manager's reception in the lobby which was a great idea. Some nice snacks and finger food was offered and we got to shoot the breeze with the hotel GM. Was a nice way to be greeted.

Moe's restaurant across the parking lot is ideal as you don't need to worry about driving if you have had a drink. They had some nice dinners specials that some of our group ordered and they were quite happy with them.

If you are heading to Malone to golf in summer or ski in winter this is the place to stay. If you are a golfer and have not yet played the Malone course you should try to get there. The hotel also has golf packages available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the facility away from the elevators and ice machines are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! Our staff is very pleased that your stay was positive & glad you enjoyed your Golfing at the Malone Golf Club. It was very nice getting to know you & many of our guests through the Manager Reception we held in our lobby. We have scheduled a few more coming soon as an ongoing monthly event. Thanks again for sharing your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to serving you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I travel here often on business. This trip, I discovered a new "favorite" room! It's spacious and the layout is perfect--a king-sized bed with a comfy chair placed where it's easy to see the TV, and a desk. Although there aren't pay movies available, there is a nice selection of HD channels plus HBO. You have to be sure to request a microwave and refrigerator when you make your reservation (too bad they're not available in every room). The rooms are always clean and the staff could not be more helpful. The pool area also has a large hot tub. There is a family-friendly pub-type restaurant next door. I won't stay anywhere else in Malone!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post reviews of our property! We enjoy guest feedback. Thanks for sharing such positive comments. Your satisfaction continues to be our priority! There is Exciting news to share with you also. Coming within the next few weeks - Refrigerators will be standard in all of our Queen rooms in addition to our current units in our Suites. We have added these 34 refrigerator units in response to requests from our guests! Thanks for choosing us ! If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here while on a mini-vacation to the Adirondack State Park. The hotel is new with the same layout as other Holiday Inn Express properties we have used in New York State. Located on Route 11 just up the hill from the main Malone intersection, it is close to local malls, the small Malone-Dufort Airport and a large Wal-Mart. Mo’s Pub & Grill is out front. We walked over and ate there (taco salad and rib eye steak) and tasted some local beers. Good eats at reasonable prices. Also shopped at a recreation supply outlet called International Border Company (on the other side of that main Malone intersection) where they have a big selection of seasonal sports and work gear -- Columbia, North Face, Carhart, Woolrich clothing (on sale) plus footwear, accessories and even kayaks.
We stayed in room 217 which faced the rear of the hotel and overlooked farm fields. Very quiet. Slept well. The room was clean with a brown and beige color scheme and white linens/towels. Each queen bed had four pillows – two firm and two soft. The hotel has a row of parking out front plus lots more spaces in the back. The included hot breakfast buffet off the lobby offered cheese omelette, sausage, biscuits & gravy, pancakes, yogurt, juices, coffee and wonderful warm, gooey cinnamon buns. The local paper was free at Reception along with some fresh chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon. We were expecting a pleasant stay and that is what we got. No complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your very detailed review of our property & area attractions! The Malone area definately has many activities to explore, both in Winter(from Skiing@ Titus Mtn, & the Casino) to summer(Excellent Golfing, & more)! We're glad that you stayed with us & have enjoyed our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again soon - thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently stayed in HI Express Malone for business and appreciated the service & convenience to other work places/clients in the North Country. Staff is very diligent to respond, particularly late night requests. Especially like the adjacent restaurant - Mo's, again convenient (great for meetings). I'll be back for pleasure as there is great skiing in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy all of the things the hotel and the area has to offer. We did just finish a great ski season so I hope you are able to come next year and enjoy Titus Mountain. We offer great ski packages that you can call us about when you are ready to come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly when on business. This is the first time that there were some glitches. I have a favorite room on the 4th floor. This time, I lugged some of my bags up there, only to find that the elevator was broken. As the hotel staff could not guarantee that it would be fixed by the next day, I was offered a room on the first floor, which I took. The staff did offer to help me with my bags. I didn't like the layout of this room. The flat screen TV doesn't turn towards the table and chairs in the corner of the room, so one can only view the television from the beds. A light bulb was burned out in the bathroom (i reported it, and it was fixed the following day). At breakfast the first day, there were no little milk cartons left, and none would be available until the next day. So, I hope this doesn't portend that this little gem of a hotel is starting its decline. We will see!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Nancy for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that this past stay did not live up to the previous stays as well as the level of service that the entire team works daily on providing. The elevator was down and it was frustrating for all of us, we tried our best to work with the situation as well as get the elevators fixed as quickly as possible. The elevator is all repaired now thankfully. I will look into your comments about the TV not being able to be viewed from the seating area to see what we can do to make that comfortable to future guests in the room. I am also sorry we were out of the 1/2 pints of milk, we do an order twice a week and rarely run out of things, I will look at our inventory levels to see if we need to increase them or if this was just a one time occurance after a busy event. We do appreciate your honest feedback and will take all of it to better serve our guests in the future. We look forward to your next visit to Malone and trust all will be as you have always experienced it to be and more !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Address: 3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Malone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.