We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I travel here often on business. This trip, I discovered a new "favorite" room! It's spacious and the layout is perfect--a king-sized bed with a comfy chair placed where it's easy to see the TV, and a desk. Although there aren't pay movies available, there is a nice selection of HD channels plus HBO. You have to be sure to request a microwave and refrigerator when you make your reservation (too bad they're not available in every room). The rooms are always clean and the staff could not be more helpful. The pool area also has a large hot tub. There is a family-friendly pub-type restaurant next door. I won't stay anywhere else in Malone!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post reviews of our property! We enjoy guest feedback. Thanks for sharing such positive comments. Your satisfaction continues to be our priority! There is Exciting news to share with you also. Coming within the next few weeks - Refrigerators will be standard in all of our Queen rooms in addition to our current units in our Suites. We have added these 34 refrigerator units in response to requests from our guests! Thanks for choosing us ! If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
14
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here while on a mini-vacation to the Adirondack State Park. The hotel is new with the same layout as other Holiday Inn Express properties we have used in New York State. Located on Route 11 just up the hill from the main Malone intersection, it is close to local malls, the small Malone-Dufort Airport and a large Wal-Mart. Mo’s Pub & Grill is out front. We walked over and ate there (taco salad and rib eye steak) and tasted some local beers. Good eats at reasonable prices. Also shopped at a recreation supply outlet called International Border Company (on the other side of that main Malone intersection) where they have a big selection of seasonal sports and work gear -- Columbia, North Face, Carhart, Woolrich clothing (on sale) plus footwear, accessories and even kayaks.
We stayed in room 217 which faced the rear of the hotel and overlooked farm fields. Very quiet. Slept well. The room was clean with a brown and beige color scheme and white linens/towels. Each queen bed had four pillows – two firm and two soft. The hotel has a row of parking out front plus lots more spaces in the back. The included hot breakfast buffet off the lobby offered cheese omelette, sausage, biscuits & gravy, pancakes, yogurt, juices, coffee and wonderful warm, gooey cinnamon buns. The local paper was free at Reception along with some fresh chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon. We were expecting a pleasant stay and that is what we got. No complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your very detailed review of our property & area attractions! The Malone area definately has many activities to explore, both in Winter(from Skiing@ Titus Mtn, & the Casino) to summer(Excellent Golfing, & more)! We're glad that you stayed with us & have enjoyed our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again soon - thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently stayed in HI Express Malone for business and appreciated the service & convenience to other work places/clients in the North Country. Staff is very diligent to respond, particularly late night requests. Especially like the adjacent restaurant - Mo's, again convenient (great for meetings). I'll be back for pleasure as there is great skiing in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy all of the things the hotel and the area has to offer. We did just finish a great ski season so I hope you are able to come next year and enjoy Titus Mountain. We offer great ski packages that you can call us about when you are ready to come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly when on business. This is the first time that there were some glitches. I have a favorite room on the 4th floor. This time, I lugged some of my bags up there, only to find that the elevator was broken. As the hotel staff could not guarantee that it would be fixed by the next day, I was offered a room on the first floor, which I took. The staff did offer to help me with my bags. I didn't like the layout of this room. The flat screen TV doesn't turn towards the table and chairs in the corner of the room, so one can only view the television from the beds. A light bulb was burned out in the bathroom (i reported it, and it was fixed the following day). At breakfast the first day, there were no little milk cartons left, and none would be available until the next day. So, I hope this doesn't portend that this little gem of a hotel is starting its decline. We will see!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Nancy for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that this past stay did not live up to the previous stays as well as the level of service that the entire team works daily on providing. The elevator was down and it was frustrating for all of us, we tried our best to work with the situation as well as get the elevators fixed as quickly as possible. The elevator is all repaired now thankfully. I will look into your comments about the TV not being able to be viewed from the seating area to see what we can do to make that comfortable to future guests in the room. I am also sorry we were out of the 1/2 pints of milk, we do an order twice a week and rarely run out of things, I will look at our inventory levels to see if we need to increase them or if this was just a one time occurance after a busy event. We do appreciate your honest feedback and will take all of it to better serve our guests in the future. We look forward to your next visit to Malone and trust all will be as you have always experienced it to be and more !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an up-to-date hotel with clean, comfortable rooms that are relatively spacious. Check-in was quick and easy. The elevator is a bit slow, but it's a minor issue. One of our key cards did not function, resulting in a lock-out and a trip to the front desk. The bathroom was spotless and had good water pressure, even on the fourth floor. The king size bed was firm and quite comfortable. In-room wi-fi worked but the signal was marginal. The television was a 32 inch flat screen that operates from a cable box. There are a lot of channels, including all the HBO east coast feeds, with many in HD. The guide, however, can be a challenge and takes a bit of effort to figure out. The pool area is exceptional, and there is a very large hot tub. The fitness room is typically small but well equipped. The breakfast room is relatively spacious and has the usual motel fare - cereal, yogurt, fruit, assorted danish, and toast/bagels. There is a pancake machine and hot scrambled eggs & bacon, though they are likely pre-packaged. All-in-all a decent breakfast, though not great. This is probably the most expensive hotel in Malone, but it's actually a very reasonable rate, all things considered. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like to keep an eye on your car, get a room on the back side and park out back. Front parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you BGRCHIP for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It was very detailed and extremely helpful to all who will read it. Our entire staff enjoys reading the feedback on the hotel that our guests leave. We look forward to your next stay at the hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lawrence, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a night here, very CLEAN and the kids loved the pool. The breakfast was very good and a lot to choose from. My kids loved the Pancake machine. Comfortable beds, only thing is there was not a crib available , the place was very busy. My key cards wouldn't work for anything bu my door, which wasn't that big of a deal overall very nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you LOVEBALANCE for leaving a review on our hotel. I am glad that your family enjoyed the pancake maker and the pool. We are very proud of our large spacious pool house and it gets alot of use and praise from our guests. I am sorry that we were not able to provide a crib during your stay. The next time you are traveling to the area please feel free to contact the hotel directly in advance to reserve that. We rarely have all of our cribs in use at one time, but obviously this did occur during your stay at the hotel. I am sorry we were unable to accomidate your request. We looking forward to serving you and your family on your next visit to Malone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great to make a reservation with the actual hotel. Concierge was very knowledgable.A lot of staff cleaning rooms. Immaculate facilities.
My children will not stay anywhere else and this hotel did not fail us. Local ski hill was great and we got money off the next door restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello SEANS, thank you for you review. I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy our hotel, pool, the restaurant next door and Titus Mnt Ski area. Even though Malone is a smaller town, we do have many family friendly things to do and they all seem to be right at your finger tips from our hotel. So thank you for mentioning all of them in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Malone
Address: 3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.