We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head of the class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malone
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Head of the class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, May 11-13. Reserved five rooms as part of a golf package that included three rounds of golf at the Malone Golf Club. There were cheaper hotels offered for the package, but we paid extra to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

All ten of us arrived at the same time and were promptly checked in by two desk clerks. We received our golf vouchers, which were professionally labelled with our tee times. However, we learned at the course that they identified the wrong courses for our first two rounds. Still, it was a nice touch.

My room (314) had two double beds, a guest table with armchairs, a dresser and a high-definition television with every possible cable channel. I was happy to see that they received CBC and the NBC Sports Network as Game 7 of the New York/Washington hockey series was on during our trip. The bathroom had a tub and sink as well as the coffee maker.

There is a pool and hot tub that I did not use, but I did make use of the free Internet center located across the lobby. There is also free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Only one elevator is in service for all three levels, so expect there to be a wait during check-out times.

I found the complimentary breakfast to be adequate. No one should expect a grand meal to be served at a Holiday Inn Express for free. Still, the selection of milk, yogurt, cereal, bread, bagels and cinnamon rolls was fine along with scrambled eggs, sausages, breakfast patties and machine-dispensed pancakes. A bowl of apples was always filled, but I did notice that bananas were always bruised whenever any were available at breakfast.

We had wanted to reserve a hospitality room, but the hotel was fully booked for our weekend. Instead, we were offered the use of the breakfast room during the evening to sit around, watch sports on the TV and play cards. This was a great option, and we were thankful that the manager allowed us to use it.

Many of the guests staying at the hotel were there to golf at the Malone Golf Club (we met several people from Ottawa, Canada like us), and the hotel catered to us very well. There is an unlimited supply of branded tees at the front desk, and they also offer complimentary divot tools as a gift to guests. The two courses were designed by Donald Ross and Robert Trent Jones, and they are challenging layouts. Perhaps I would have fared better later in the season, but I still enjoyed playing both courses and especially liked the East Course.

State Route 11 is the main stretch of Malone, and the hotel is nearby many fast-food restaurants, drug stores and a Wal-Mart Supercenter (3222 State Route 11). Located in the parking lot of the hotel is Mo's Pub and Grill, where we enjoyed dinner and drinks while watching playoff hockey in the sports bar.

I enjoyed visiting Franklin County and would not mind a return visit. If I do come back, I would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. We take pride in going the extra mile for our guests and appreciate feedback so that we may continue to strive in making our guests want to return to our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Malone Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Please contact me directly should you wish to make a return visit. -Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
15
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've stayed here before and it was good the first couple times and still good now. They have an excellent staff who is efficient and professional. The rooms and public areas are all perfectly maintained and roomy. The bed is wonderfully firm with great sheets. Bathroom was spotless! A great value!
My only negative would be the breakfast. The food they serve is perfectly displayed and the space is clean and bright. But the actual food is all processed starch, sugar, and not fresh- the eggs and sausages looked weird. The only real fruit was a couple of sad bananas. There was a small bowl of apples on a dining table, but I didn't know if they were available to all since they weren't with the rest of the food. I think in the heart of farm country a fresher breakfast could be pulled together.
Otherwise we really enjoyed this place. They were packed full this last weekend with golfers and sports teams and parents of graduates, but it was still quiet, professional and delightful!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a back view-spectacular! Flocks of Canada geese in the fall, fields of beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased you enjoy your stays with us. As for the breakfast, we are currently working on improving our selections. We will be adding more fresh fruit this week. Again, thank you. - Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jervis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friend and I just stayed here this weekend and it was the second time and the service was amazing. Two women in particular gave us great service, Steph worked the evening shift and Erica worked the overnight shift, both were very friendly and helped us in any way they could. This is definitely a great place to stay, there is friendly service, very clean, and a great breakfast. I have stayed at the Super 8 which smells and the Four Seasons, which is not clean, and this hotel is far above these two.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here overnight as part of a ski and stay package. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were AWESOME. The rooms were new and clean and very well kept. The breakfast here is great, not just cereal and bagels...you can actually get sausage, eggs and pancakes if you wish. The only complaint (no fault of the hotel) were the noisy neighbors, but after one call to the front desk I didn't hear another peep out of them. So the hotel staff did their job on that one :) Our ski and stay package was well priced, $179 for overnight and two lift tickets (which would have been $36 apiece bought separately). Another nice bonus was that the local lodging tax was inexpensive! I highly recommend this hotel and I will take advantage of the ski and stay again next winter!! Have I mentioned the staff was GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is our second time staying here as a family. Its clean, the manager and staff work hard to keep things running nicely. I am confident it is the best place to stay in the area. We have stayed and the Super 8 and its stuffy (no air exchanger) so this hotel is refreshing. Its nice that breakfast is included, but the eggs are powdered eggs and most of the food is very low quality and very sweet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a nice view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. For two years now we have stayed here and skied at Titus Mountain for Family Day weekend. The first year we had some issues with the reservation system and we were not particularly happy. This year, however, everything g went off without a hitch. It is a clean and very new hotel, with friendly staff, a decent breakfast and very good wifi, three important things in my list for a good hotel.

Room Tip: Get the ski package for Titus. It is a decent deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Just finished up a long weekend in Malone to do a little snowboarding at Mt. Titus and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Malone. This is the best place to stay in Malone. We plan a snowboarding trip with a large group every Family Day weekend at Titus and this hotel is so clean and new. The breakfast that is included also will not disappoint. Lots of protein options and healthy options. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This is our 2nd year staying here and will continue to be the place we return. We've stayed in other hotels in the area and there just is no comparison.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Address: 3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Malone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.