We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramiro's 954

Ramiro's 954
954 rout 6, Mahopac, NY 10541
845-621-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Mahopac
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mahopac
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We try to dine at Ramiiros a few times a year. My son hates it when we come here because he thinks it's too noisy and he's 8 (not exactly a quiet age). My husband and I both enjoy almost all the appetizers and entrees here. Beware, the pork shank is so big you'll be bringing it home to share. We love their desserts as well and the coffee is very good.
I do wish they wouldn't put diced apples in the sangria though -- that's just not a good fruit mix for this particular type of wine.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOCAL GEM~NEVER DISSAPOINTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A local gem!! Never fails to deliver and we have been going regularly since they opened. Food, service , atmosphere are all awesome. we have visited weekdays as well as busy packed holidays and weekends and we are always made to feel special. Service staff is the best I have seen anywhere! Food superior.The chef and owners take such pride in making sure your experience is perfect it is a refreshing experience these days.
We recommend them often and our friends have not been disappointed either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I like spicy food, and my boyfriend does not. The wait staff made sure his sauce was on the side of his dish, so he could taste it. A good thing, as I thought the sauce was delish and only mildly spicy but he thought it was hot. Bth meals we've had here were very good, and different. Mango martini was a great starter. If you want a festive atmosphere, eat on the first floor. If you want a quiet meal, opt for upstairs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorpt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They keep us coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was very surprised to read a poor review of the service at Ramiro's. My husband and I are regulars and (aside from recently witnessing a patron's unnecessary rudeness to the waiter after a member of their party left without paying their portion of the check) we have never had a negative experience there. Not only is the food a refreshing change of pace from the glut of Italian and Chinese places in the area, but the hostess, wait staff and kitchen staff are all very friendly and helpful. It is often difficult to find a restaurant that offers great food on a consistent basis, but Ramiro's does that. We are treated royally and all that keeps us coming back.

We had a great New Year's Eve dinner at Ramiro's. There were 12 of us and we asked for separate checks before the orders were taken. Everyone paid their check. No problems.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not prepared for a large group”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been to Ramiro's several times in two years. The food is always excellent. Tonight was our second large group dinner (24 people) and the staff were completely unprepared for us. When we arrived, the staff provided us with appetizer menus. Our appetizers had been ordered 6 weeks in advance. Only AFTER the appetizers were served did we see entree menus. 4 hours after arriving ONE bill came for all 24 people. (Each couple pays their own share and we had received individual bills in the past.) Dessert and coffee were never offered. Our annual lake association dinner ended on a sour note due to a complete lack of ability to handle this size party.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramiro's 954 also viewed

 

Been to Ramiro's 954? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramiro's 954, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.