We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Smoke

Holy Smoke
241 Route 6N, Mahopac, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Mahopac
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sadly bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I hate to do it but I have to give it the worst rating possible. The food was cold, tasteless and less than fresh. Even the texture was wrong. The macaroni and cheese was cold and gritty. GRITTY? I was nauseated after tasting it and feel queasy thinking about it now. All and all nothing was good and I will never return, which is sad because we used to like to eat there. I got the impression they might be going out of business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shrub oak,ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ok, I don't know what restaurant these other people went to, but it couldn't be the same. I just got home from Holy Smoke in Mahopac, NY. I ordered New England Clam Chowder, Buttermilk Fried Chicken with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and a side salad. The soup was room temperature, but tasty. The chicken looked like it came from a Swanson Frozen Dinner, the potatoes turned out to be mac and cheese(which I didn't order) and the salad dressing was much too thick. I also asked for Zinfindel wine-they don't have it, then I asked for a Pina Colada, their blender is broke. Give me a break. I did speak to the manager and told her about the experience and that I will never come back. Very disappointed. Don't go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Smokehouse Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Some good old comfort food. All home made meats, smoked in the bacement. Decent price, amazing protions, fantstic selection of food.

Also a fantastic collection of micro brews on tap (rare to find them on tap) and an impressive collection of bourbons.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in the North!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Large portions! A bit pricey...but it's cheaper than going to North Carolina. Abundance of beers. Baby back ribs were real good but were only available as a full rack...no 1/2 racks :( It was good that I had my buddy there to split them with. BBQ chicken was good and we had plenty of leftovers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holy Smoke Smell!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Amazing beer and whiskey/scotch selection... just amazing. Food is usually exceptionally tasty, and there is a LOT of it. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Only downfall (and it's a big one) is that the smoker is located inside the restaurant, so when we go we wear yesterday's clothes, literally bag them in plastic if not wash them immediately upon returning home, and shower. I will not go if I don't need to wash my hair the next day, unless my craving is desperate. Sad thing, to decide to go to a restaurant based on whether or not I already have dirty hair!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Holy Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.