We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will feel like family. And eat like a king in one of the most peaceful and beautiful spots you will ever see. Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stillwater Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stillwater Hotel
Save
You added Stillwater Hotel to your Saves list
2591 Stillwater Rd, Lowville, NY 13367   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowville
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You will feel like family. And eat like a king in one of the most peaceful and beautiful spots you will ever see. Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Love this place. The owners are wonderful and they will treat you like family . Beautiful setting, good people. Reasonable room rates. You cant ask for more. Stillwater lake is peaceful and quiet and teaming with wildlife. Bring your boat or kayak to launch or just hang out on the deck. Ive stayed two years in a row now. And plan on going back many more times.

Room Tip: rooms are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rodman, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visit Stillwater Restaurant a couple of times during the summer months. The food is always very good and the owners very personable. We enjoy the humming birds that feed on feeders that are attached to the windows and on the deck. The atmosphere is very relaxing overlooking the water and watching the boats. They have a very good wine list and unlike other restaurants you can get any wine they have by the glass. I especially enjoy the Petite Petit. I ordered the pecan crusted salmon with maple syrup and my husband ordered the roast duck. We had homemade corn bread just out of the oven and many extras that you would not get just anywhere. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our group was chased from the Adirondack's Red Horse Trail due to incredible rainfall. Marian and Joe at the Stillwater took pity upon us and put us up in their wonderful establishment. The food is fantastic, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and reasonable. This incredible spot makes a great base camp to explore all the Stillwater Reservoir has to offer. Please go, and make sure you schedule time to hang out in the bar area and relax with Marian and Whitney. I'm going back again this fall and bringing my entire family. Can't wait.

Thanks Marian for taking care of "the boys".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Started our kayak camping trip from the Stillwater Hotel. You couldn't find better hosts than Marian and Joe. They made you feel you were visiting old friends, and were a wealth of information about the area. The food was excellent, the views, fantastic. I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland , NY USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife had visited the restaurant and bar at The Stillwater Hotel quite a few years ago, but it was my first time. We stayed overnight on 9/14 before going kayaking & camping on the lake. Accomodations were quite nice. Bar & restaurant also great. The best part, however, were Marian & Joe Romano , the owners and hosts. Great personalities, and a knack for making everyone feel at home. We'll be back !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

For years I have been taking my son to a camp off of Stillwater Rd., and I always wondered what was at the end of it. Well, this year I found out. The Romanos, the people who run the place, are great hosts and the food is excellent. You definitely want to try the steak sandwich. In warm weather the deck is fun to eat on because there are lots of hummingbirds to keep you company. When eating on the inside, the table settings are quaint. I will leave it at that and let you be surprised. I ate lunch, dinner and breakfast there, in that order and enjoyed every meal. The hotel boasts modern accommodations, and for the Adirondacks they are. There is also wireless available in the common areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tully, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A while back Adirondack Life magazine described Stillwater as the place in the Adirondacks that feels most like Land's End. Anyone who's ever been there should be able to relate to that statement. Whenever I visit there what impresses me most after the pavement ends as I travel that last 10 miles is how few signs of humanity there are. The woods are deep and they crowd the twisty dirt road that leads to Stillwater as if to say it doesn't belong there.

The little burg of Stillwater is literally at the end of the road. It's not even a full fledged burg really. Right smack in the center of things there is a big dirt parking lot - the defacto town square. It's the dropping off place for those traveling Stillwater reservoir by boat in the warmer months and by snowmobile during the winter which in those parts seems like most of the year. The reservoir overpowers everything else in the scene, but then there isn't much to overpower. There's a ranger station and a small general store that sells staples like bread and milk and beer, and ice cream and gas for $5.49 a gallon. There are a few camps. And, there's the Stillwater Hotel.

If the parking lot is Stillwater's town square, then surely the Stillwater Hotel situated on it's edge is the town hall. Folks gather here, and both locals and visitors mix and mix well thanks largely to the hospitality of innkeepers Marian and Joe Romano who couldn't be friendlier if they tried. It just comes naturally to them and in short order they make you feel as though you are rekindling an old friendship after being apart for years.

They have a few rooms, not at all fancy by today's standards, but they are well appointed and spotlessly clean, well kept and fairly priced. There is a bar with a game room and a juke box and there is a restaurant - a really good restaurant. Again, not too fancy, but more than fancy enough in decor and cuisine for those parts and the food is good, exceptionally good. In fact I had the best prime rib I've ever had anywhere, on a recent visit.

The best thing about the Stillwater Hotel is that it is there at the end of the road just as it has been since 1894. It's real Adirondack and although Marian and Joe are transplants they are as real Adirondack as Adirondack gets. Really good people, working really hard, but still enjoying life and it's simple pleasures like the fine art of conversation. For a lot of us wannabes Adirondack is a state of mind that tugs at us, calling us back year after year. Undoubtedly, there are those who visit Stillwater and wonder why they bothered to drive that 10 miles of dirt road; but there are others who like me, will drive that same 10 miles and realize they are right where they want to be, understanding they have discovered a uniquely special place at the end of the road in the wilderness. I've been returning to Stillwater since I was just a kid and no doubt I'll continue to return periodically, and to look forward to my next dose of Marian and Joe's hospitality at the Stillwater Hotel .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stillwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stillwater Hotel

Address: 2591 Stillwater Rd, Lowville, NY 13367
Location: United States > New York > Lowville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stillwater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.