We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away from here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Shamrock Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1055 Deerland Road / Route 28N, PO Box 205, Long Lake, NY 12847   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Long Lake
Syosset, New York
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Keep away from here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

The management is mean, they threw us out of the motel when they saw we had an infant. The baby wasn't even crying. We told them in advance and had stayed there two times before with our other baby. It ruined our vacation and was one of the most upsetting events we have ever been involved with. They embarrassed us, were very unprofessional, and after we were all moved in, with the baby and older child napping, they made a major scene and literally kicked us out . They said we only made reservations for two people, and the cabin fit 4 as well! Luckily, there was room at the other motel in town. Even when we stayed before, something was very unusual about the people who run this place, we should have realized on the other trips but liked the grounds so much, we overlooked it. For your own sake, skip this one. It's not worth taking a chance on.

  • Liked — The Grounds
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamrockMotel3861, Owner at Shamrock Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
This review is not possible.
- no one with the reviewer's characteristics (location/hometown) was registered with us in July 2006 (date of stay)
- it is possible that the reviewer had the wrong location/business - the review was written over 2.5 years after the supposed stay
- we would surely be out of business if we were attempting to run a family oriented resort and acted like this reviewer believes we did
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We've been going to the Adirondacks for years - stayed in many places in the area, some in the same town. None can compare with the Shamrock Motel & Cottages. Not only is it fanatically clean and freshely renovated, it has what no other place has - space and fantastic grounds. Our room had 2 great beds, cable TV, WIFI access, coffee, refrig, and a large picture window that looks out on Long Lake. The new owners showed us one of the refurbished cottages - small fireplace, hardwood floors, and a screened-in porch looking directly on to the lake. We're staying there the next time we visit. We walked about the grounds as sun set - fantastic. Great staff and the owners went out of their way to help us out with a couple of local attractions.

  • Liked — Nice accomodations but the grounds/properties were fantastic
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We spent one night at the Shamrock on our way to Quebec. We are 2 adults and our teenage son. The rooms were remodeled last year. The motel seems well maintained. Room was not terribly large, but it's a typical older motel room. Bathroom was quite small. Had a small refrigerator. No a/c. but it wasn't a problem. The windows opened and had screens. The family running the motel was quite friendly and helpful. They had internet access in the lobby. Everything was clean. The best part of the motel were the grounds. Large and lovely with a nice little beach and some boats available to rent. There was a tetherball and shuffleboard and play equipment. Very nice for families. This was all behind the motel away from the road, so you could let the kids run and see them from your room or cottage. There were also picnic tables and a fire ring and grill for guest to use. The motel is outside of Long Lake, but it was an easy 5 minute walk to town.

  • Liked — family run, nice grounds
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Motel & Cottages

Address: 1055 Deerland Road / Route 28N, PO Box 205, Long Lake, NY 12847
Location: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business since 1928. Spacious grounds, pristine sunset views, and a private sandy beach just outside cottages, motel, or efficiency units. Amenities include safe swimming, docks, boats for rent, satellite TV, WIFI, firepit, picnic tables, barbecues, Laundromat, Game/Great room, and lawn games (volleyball, horseshoes, shuffleboard). Centrally located on the Adirondack Trail Scenic Byway. 500 feet to Mt Sabattis Recreation area (tennis, playground, special events). A few hundred feet further to village shops, churches, restaurants, and municipal buildings. We speak English, German, & French. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Motel And Cottages
Shamrock Motel & Cottages Hotel Long Lake
Shamrock Hotel Long Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.