We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Shamrock Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1055 Deerland Road / Route 28N, PO Box 205, Long Lake, NY 12847   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Long Lake
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little spot in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful four-night stay at the Shamrock. The property is beautiful and full of kid-friendly activities. We enjoyed the game room, outdoor sporting equipment and swing set, and a fantastic half-day canoeing on the lake. Our motel room was large enough to be comfortable for a family of four. We'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The family that has run the property for three generations does a great job. We are considering a week stay next time in a cottage. Motel rooms are small, only accommodating a single and double bed, and bathrooms really tiny, with pocket doors only. But they are clean and in good condition. Otherwise the place deserves a 5 star rating. The beach, dock, boats, outdoor fireplace, playground and game area are nicely kept up, with rules only to ensure some quiet hours for everyone to sleep. The outdoor areas encourage chatting with other guests, who were as nice as the owners. Location is beautiful, and a short walk takes you to the village of Long Lake. Expect it to be busy in the summer months, and book ahead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week. We especially enjoyed the long beach to sunbathe, swim and fish. The room was meticulous, comfortable, and had all amenities! The owners really
know how to treat their guests. They offer so much fun on the property with a game room,
boats, and shuffle board. We had a fun relaxing time. Great for couples or families. We hope to go back to rent a cottage in the fall. I would recommended this spot as a great getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Shamrock Motel for two nights in late June. This is an old fashioned motel along the road going south out of Long Lake. The same family has owned it for 3 generations and has done a complete remodeling job. Rooms in the motel, particularly the bath, are small but very clean; the shower was tiled and spic and span. The wife was born in Germany and is very nice to deal with and, I believe, has the German characteristic to keep things neat and clean. There is no AC, which surprised us, but the proprietor was correct when she said we would not need it. Open windows and the ceiling fan made for very comfortable sleeping. The location is great to be able to drive south to the Adirondack Museum in Blue Mt. Lake and Great Sagamore Camp at Raquette Lake and to drive north to The Wild Center in Tupper Lake. Good breakfast at The Diner and dinner at the Adirondack Hotel both right in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I found this place while searching online and saw they had a deal, stay 2 nights get the 3rd free, during the time we'd be visiting Long Lake. It ended up being 1 of many deals they run year round. We were very pleased with our efficiency unit, a large one room apartment type setup with a fridge and stove with oven, our own grill outside, and a small deck. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, the variety of lawn games were fun to take advantage of, and the private beach was clean and quiet. The owner, we only met Beate, was extremely nice and hospitable. I would like to stay here again and if I'm ever in the are this would be my first choice. It was a comfortable, clean, affordable place to stay that helped make our vacation that much better.

Room Tip: Efficiency unit was great for 2 people staying a couple days
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited the Adirondaks at the end of October and had a wonderful stay at the Shamrock! Everything is very well kept and the staff was wonderful and made us feel very, very welcomed! The beach is beautiful complete with a bald eagle! Hope to make this a yearly trip and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleonville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent two nights here on Oct 6 & 7 while on a motorcycle trip to the Adirondaks. The place has been completely remodled and was very clean. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. the motel is located on Long Lake and the grounds and scenery are great. There is a large back yard with horseshoes and shuffleboard and a vollyball net. There is also a beach are and fire pit. We really enjoyed our stay here I had spent two nights here on a motorcycle trip in 2006 and if anything the place has gotten even better. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms and cabins have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Motel & Cottages

Address: 1055 Deerland Road / Route 28N, PO Box 205, Long Lake, NY 12847
Location: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business since 1928. Spacious grounds, pristine sunset views, and a private sandy beach just outside cottages, motel, or efficiency units. Amenities include safe swimming, docks, boats for rent, satellite TV, WIFI, firepit, picnic tables, barbecues, Laundromat, Game/Great room, and lawn games (volleyball, horseshoes, shuffleboard). Centrally located on the Adirondack Trail Scenic Byway. 500 feet to Mt Sabattis Recreation area (tennis, playground, special events). A few hundred feet further to village shops, churches, restaurants, and municipal buildings. We speak English, German, & French. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Motel And Cottages
Shamrock Motel & Cottages Hotel Long Lake
Shamrock Hotel Long Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.