We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay in this area or vicinity again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City View Inn to your Saves list
City View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will never stay in this area or vicinity again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The elevator smelled of marijuana, the toilet tank and trash cans were very dirty, the bath tub stopper appeared to have black mold, the room had not been vacuumed . . . I cannot believe that the Best Western insignia is anywhere related to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    80
    33
    38
See reviews for
64
68
23
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, AZ, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I got there too early to check in, but I was invited to leave my bags in a storage closet, so I could move about easily, and even invited into the dining room to eat breakfast, even though I wasn't officially a guest there yet. In fact, the gentleman at the desk insisted I join them for a meal. The hotel is true to its name: It has a fantastic view of Manhattan. I could look out my window, and see the new Freedom Tower in one direction and the Empire State Building in the other direction. The only issue is it's a little off the beaten path, so you either have to be prepared to spend a few bucks on a taxi, or get real comfortable finding your way around on the trains.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

the location is perfect if you want to stay outside Manhattan. The "inn" itself is really relaxed and the people working there are friendly and outgoing. Breakfast is always free. Some rooms are rooms where smoking is allowed. We had one of those as non-smokers - not the greatest but hey it worked. we had a room facing the city - quite amazing views :) you can order delivery and everything to your room - no probs. You can catch the free shuttle once a day to take you to the train or subway station - n*7 runs very frequently - just take the local train ;) If you don't want to spend too much money, just need a bed to sleep and want to discover Manhattan all day long (or whatever else you wanna do) go ahead - book this hotel! If you want a place of luxury, top modern new stuff and everything, proximity to eg. central park - don't book it. If you are open minded you'll have a great time :)

Room Tip: chose a room a least on the first or second floor - it's worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I booked last night a one night stay via Expedia Unpublished Rates and called just to verify if there was a possibility that I can do an early check in and then go to the Belmont Stakes, which is the reason for my trip. The lady that picked up the phone sounded extremely pissed off, maybe for my latino accent, and blatantly answered " call the 7th of June". Then I said "ok, bye", and that was it. So now I am prepared for a "nice, rough around the edges" experience in this hotel. Geez...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old and not very clean, but it's really easy to hop on the Subway and get into Manhattan. So if you just want a place to sleep it's fine. You get a decent breakfast in the morning as well

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

City View in LIC is a great value. If you are traveling by car from Canada and other parts of USA this is a perfect fit for you. They have great rooms, nice views, good restaurant/bar just 1 minute walk from front entrance. But most importantly, you can park your car on their property! So, after driving all day, once you arrive you can relax and not worry about your car. You can take the subway into Manhattan for shopping/business. It is a great asset.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My adult son and I spent one night there and were pleased, overall, with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Parking is a bit tight, so I was glad I have a small car. The issue we had was that they were having computer problems; the desk clerks were distracted, thus inattentive and not very friendly (on both check in and check out). On the plus side, we got a great rate, which was even lower than the quoted rate. The neighborhood is industrial and not very attractive though it seemed safe enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn

Address: 33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly BEST WESTERN City View Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.