We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is what's in store for me on June 7th......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN City View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN City View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If this is what's in store for me on June 7th......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I booked last night a one night stay via Expedia Unpublished Rates and called just to verify if there was a possibility that I can do an early check in and then go to the Belmont Stakes, which is the reason for my trip. The lady that picked up the phone sounded extremely pissed off, maybe for my latino accent, and blatantly answered " call the 7th of June". Then I said "ok, bye", and that was it. So now I am prepared for a "nice, rough around the edges" experience in this hotel. Geez...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    71
    71
    29
    32
See reviews for
50
54
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old and not very clean, but it's really easy to hop on the Subway and get into Manhattan. So if you just want a place to sleep it's fine. You get a decent breakfast in the morning as well

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

City View in LIC is a great value. If you are traveling by car from Canada and other parts of USA this is a perfect fit for you. They have great rooms, nice views, good restaurant/bar just 1 minute walk from front entrance. But most importantly, you can park your car on their property! So, after driving all day, once you arrive you can relax and not worry about your car. You can take the subway into Manhattan for shopping/business. It is a great asset.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My adult son and I spent one night there and were pleased, overall, with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Parking is a bit tight, so I was glad I have a small car. The issue we had was that they were having computer problems; the desk clerks were distracted, thus inattentive and not very friendly (on both check in and check out). On the plus side, we got a great rate, which was even lower than the quoted rate. The neighborhood is industrial and not very attractive though it seemed safe enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I chose this hotel because the price was literally half of other hotels in NYC. the room was large and clean, and we had absolutely no issues. It is a bit far from the subway (the hotel offers shuttle service until 10 pm) so we had to walk back to the hotel at night. Overall, I would definitely stay there again. BUT if you want luxury amenities, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is located 10-15 min walking distance to Lowery metro station (20 minutes to Time Square). Surrounding is not very pleasant but becomes nice just two blocks from there. Staff is nice but the hotel is a bit disorganized : e.g., no safe place to leave your luggage if you arrive early and the computers are old and don't work well (not convenient to print your boarding pass). Rooms are clean and wi-fi works fine. Breakfast is Ok according to North-American standard

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were kindly greeted during the check-in. All of our questions were patiently answered. (It was past 10 pm when we arrived there.) The staffs were nice, even the cleaning persons. Breakfast were perfect. Room was clean and big. Although the parking lot is small, but it is free parking and you know this is located in NYC.

I just stayed there for 1 night, but the experience was greatly impressed.

Price is a little bit high, but it is normal in NYC. The location is great, very close to Manhatton area.

Room Tip: There is a cemetery close to this hotel. But you know, most people think it is a place that is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City View Inn

Address: 33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN City View Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
BEST WESTERN City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN City View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.