We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel in striking distance of the sights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN City View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN City View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN City View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Slough, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in striking distance of the sights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

It's a travel inn, and as such, this hotel has absolutely no glamour, and no sophisticated service in dining or reception.

But you do get:
*A good price compared to Manhattan
*A very spacious room compared to Manhattan, with views of midtown two or three miles away
*Clean and functional facilities, albeit a little bit knocked about in places
*A hot and cold buffet breakfast
*A running machine or two, vending and ice machines, and free internet access in reception
*A shuttle bus to and from the subway, followed then by a 20 minute ride into Grand Central Station

What you may not enjoy:
*Breakfast self service on paper plates with plastic knives. So it feels cheap but you do get used to it. There was plenty to eat, though the same every day, and nice touches were fresh fancy doughnuts and a DIY waffle iron (which became fun in itself).
*Shuttle service to the subway was a bit hit and miss. It was often right there, and you can call the hotel to arrange it to pick you up from the station anytime day or night too. But sometimes it was being used on airport runs so you had to wait a considerable time. As an alternative, a bus route outside the hotel will take you in 10 minutes to the same subway line, but a station or two further from Manhattan. The hotel seem keen to promote the use of the shuttle bus and did not advertise the public bus at all, but it's there. Walking is an option, of course, but takes at the very least 20 minutes through the shortest residential routes and we were advised by the hotel to avoid cutting through industrial areas nearby, especially at night. The residential streets felt perfectly safe, however.

Guests were of all ages, mainly tourists, with a few workmen mixed in. There was no disturbance at night and the aircon, though a bit noisy, coped with the steamy heat.

So there it is, a perfectly acceptable means to an end if you are visiting NYC on a budget. Maybe save the money on luxuries and splash out the sights instead?

  • Liked — Budget way to reach Manhattan
  • Disliked — Long waits for subway shuttle
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    69
    64
    27
    31
See reviews for
46
50
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

This is a hotel situated in a good location close to New York. It provides a shuttle bus which takes people to and from the subway station which is about a 5 min ride away from the hotel. The hotel is situated in a part of town which could require a face lift but is very easy to access by car.

In all honestly this hotel was a let down for me and my partner and the reasons are as follows:

On the second morning I woke up to find ants all in the bed. There must have been at least ten I had seen before I compleatly freaked out. My partner went to complain and commented upon how professional the manager had been towards him. We were immediatly moved to an upgraded room and given a refund, the manager told us that this has never happened before and had the room fumigated the next day. I feel ichy talking about it.

Anyhow the other let down was we had to wait ages for the suttle bus to get back from the subway station late at night. The reason why I mention this is because I would not recommend it to lone travellers because its quiet and everywhere is shut around you. It was quite scary to be truthful.

On a good note the hotel staff are very friendly, honest and genuine. We was made to feel welcome instantly. Given the choice though I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — The professional Manager he really looked after us
  • Disliked — Ants in my pants
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

A good place with adequate facilities. Decent Breakfast Good size double room. Quiet side of the building. About a mile from the closest MTA station. Hotel was full and they offer van service to the MTA station or LaGuardia. Problem only one 6 passanger van (Dodge Caravan size) Created a problem in getting to the station to go in town on the 7 train into either Grand Central or Times Square. It is about a 20 minute walk mostly on the flat thru a largely residential neighborhood. Coming home in the evening after 10 pm I did not want to stand on street corner alone waiting for van. Caught a cab for 4.60. Not bad for New York. Excellent Irish bar around the corner in the same block with great food and very reasonable. An equally fine Italian restaurant across from the MTA station. More upscale but outstanding food and service. Reason to stay in this "remote" location. Price! 3 nights in the Christmas season cost us what 1 night would be in Manhatten. With planning and allowing time it worked fine. Not the Ritz but I was not paying for the Ritz

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

What a fabulous hotel for the value minded traveller! Although a little different than most Best Westerns (property used to be a girls school, older building), this hotel has so many positives that I have difficulty reading some of the other posted reviews. Rooms were quite comfortable, clean and well furnished. The manager, Mohammed (spelling?) was very welcoming and had a great sense of humour. This hotel offers a free, service basically on demand, shuttle between the hotel and Laguardia, the local #7 subway train, and to any location within a one mile radius of the hotel. Friendliest drivers were Hector and Bryane. Their continental breakfast is awesome - scrambled eggs, sausages, fresh made waffles, toast, bagels, donuts, muffins, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, etc. Fresh baked cookies were made every afternoon somewhere between 3 and 4 pm - awesome! Coffee was available at all hours, day and night. Hotel is located across from an old but very beautiful cemetary (scene in Godfather movie footage). Travel to Manhatten was so easy - Metro pass for all day travel on the New York transit system was only $7. I found New Yorkers to be very friendly and look forward to the chance to go back and stay at the Best Western City View once again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We were very pleased with the hotel. A shuttle picked us up from the airport. It took awhile but the traffic was bad plus the rain had caused some problems. The room was nice. and big not like some we had looked into earlier. We were very surprised when we went down to breakfast the next morning. We were led to believe that it was just juice, coffee and rolls. To our surprise we had scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, toast, donuts, fruit, juice and coffee or tea. What a great breakfast! The shuttle service to the subway worked out very well. The Irish pub just around the corner had good food and reasonable price except for the three dollar a cup coffee!! We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — rather isolated from restaurants or stores
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

I stayed one night at this hotel for my connection flight.
The hotel staffs are really kind and helpful for me.
Especially, the front desk's staff is really friendly!!!
He helped me a lot!!! I will stay at this hotel in my next trip to
New York!!!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Needed a place near the Steiner Studios at the Brooklyn Navy Yard for Barry Manilow PBS taping. Did some research and saw that this one was 5 miles away and La Guardia was around 7 miles away. Took a chance but was nervous because of the great price...$138. Free shuttle to and from the airport. Called the hotel from airport and they arrived within 20 minutes. When leaving in the morning, they got me to the airport in plenty of time for my 8:00 am flight. Very nice drivers (Anthony) was the first one. Tipped $5 each way and thought it was a great deal. They also take you to and from the subway on request. I did not stay long enough to go into Manhattan, only 2 days. Arrived before 1 so room was not ready but was able to put my bag in room and walked about a quarter of a block to a great Irish Pub and had an awesome sandwich for only $7.99. Room was clean when I returned and had a view of a lovely cemetary with huge monuments from one window and a view of the city from the other window. Staff was very nice and friendly. Front desk called me a car to take me to taping since it was raining and it was more of a local neighborhood (fire station, little stores, cemetary) where taxi's were not very plentiful as they are in the city. I gave them a time and car service showed up promptly. When I returned from taping I was going to walk back to the Irish Pub but found a Chinese Delivery Menu under my door. Called and got way more than I could eat for $11 and that included a bottle of water and a soda. Very good and delivered in about 30 minutes. Hotel had a very nice complimentary breakfast in morning, only had time for bagel and orange juice, but they had donuts, batter to make your own waffles with waffle makers, scrambled eggs and sausage. Nice sized clean room to eat in. Newspapers and television. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City View Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western City View Hotel
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
BEST WESTERN City View Inn Long Island City, New York
Address: 33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN City View Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN City View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.