We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced hotel in New york” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN City View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN City View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced hotel in New york”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in the last weekend of May 2011. The rooms are really big and the shuttle service saved us a lot of money. The distance from the nearest metro station is not walkable with a child. So we needed the shuttle service badly. They even provided us the shuttle service when we have already checked out. There is also a facility to keep your luggage in a locker room after checking out. The room was clean and overall a good experience. For further details read my review on yahoo http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/8201125/a_review_of_best_western_city_view.html?cat=16

Room Tip: spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    69
    28
    33
See reviews for
53
57
19
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Overall I would just barely recommend this & here's why:
Pro's:
1. Free shuttle to the nearest Subway stop (stops at 10pm).
2. Great full breakfast.
3. Quiet location at night.
4. Priced right for those looking for a deal.
5. Located near the trendy area of Williamsburg.
6. Free parking.
7. Room was clean (except for the desk chair).
8. Nice, wall mounted TV, small microwave and a mini-fridge.
9. Wi-Fi for your computer.
Con's:
1. Stressfull driving to if you are getting there during rush hour.
2. Hallways were really worn and not the cleanest. Carpet clearly needed a good vaccum
& my floor had a musty smell. (but again, room was ok).
3. Front desk staff was neither friendly or unfriendly...just checked you in and went
through the motions.
4. Older excersise bike in my room?!?!?
5. The chairs in my room looked/were dirty.
Summery:
* Overall, if you are willing to go with a place rough around the edges and looking to save money I say go for it. This is not the Mariott so if that is your style then take a pass on this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This hotel is near manhattan in queens. free breakfast, internet and shuttleservice. Very good price for NYC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here for a show at the Brooklyn Bowl. We were only able to get a King smoking room, which is not ideal for us, however, it really was not bad at all for a smoking room. The room was clean and bigger than we expected. The hotel is definitely dated. We were on the fifth floor, but our "window" seemed to be more of a skylight, with only a view of the building next door. The "window" was at an odd angle, so they had rigged up a shade and king of wired it to the wall so that it really couldn't even be pulled up. We peeked from the side of the shade and joked about the "view". The air conditioner is super noisy, but after we turned it off, it was surprisingly quiet for the location. Mini fridge in room. Two towels and a floor mat only in the bath..bring your own washcloth/facetowels. I wish we had. Overall, I would go there again. The price we paid for a Friday night was on the higher end ($160), but the parking is free and the parking lot was well lit and seemed pretty safe. They list this location as being in the "Diamond District", but in reality it's more in the "garbage district". Sanitation and trash collection up the street seemed to be the main order of business in this area. Even so, we did not hear any trash trucks rolling up and down the street. Beds were pretty good and NO BEDBUGS!! I am a nutty freak when it comes to that, so I check the mattress and all around the headboard. Very clean bed. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Only ice machine is located on the first floor, so you have to wait for the very slow (hey, I said it was an older hotel) elevator or take the stairs to get ice.

Room Tip: Try to call and book ahead if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Room was large and comfortable and the beds were fine. It isn't a hotel you want to hang around in, but for a visit to NYC it is a good value. Parking was free and plentiful. Breakfast was good... Bagels, scrambled eggs, waffles, and pastries. The front desk staff was unfriendly...they hardly even looked up when you walked by, even if you said hello.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We went to New York for the Christmas holidays and were happy to find a place that's inexpensive and extremely clean (we were nervous about going to New York City due to the bed bug problem - but there was nothing to worry about much to our relief...).

The reason why we were impressed with the staff is that we were snowed in, and this was the first snow storm that winter where the boroughs weren't plowed and everyone was stranded in their homes, and in our case, in the hotel. Fortunately, the staff did their best to make us feel welcome, we had extra time internet time in the business center, and they tried to provide as much food for us in the breakfast dining room as they could. The breakfasts are good and free, anyway, but they did their best to be creative with the food since we had limited means for delivery or take out with the huge snow drifts.

The staff were exhausted, but were patient with all of us as we got cabin fever. They left the big screen tv on in the dining room so we had a place to spend our time and talk with the other travellers.

Once the streets were plowed, the complimentary shuttle service to the subway started right away. The drivers are great - I think the snow storm brought out the best in everyone - and even if it's sunny next time I go to New York, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We needed an inexpensive place to stay on our trip to NYC. Since this hotel has free shuttle service to the subway station (cars or vans through a limo service, depending on the number of people going), this was perfect for us. The location was close enough that the trip to Manhattan was easy. Since we used the all-day subway pass, it didn't cost us anything more to travel around. Saved us lots of money. When riding the subway back, be sure you DON'T get an express train and expect it to stop at the close stop. We did that once and it took us an additional 30 minutes to get back late one evening. It took us well past and we had to get a non-express train back to our stop. Be sure to get bills and change for tickets, since a few times the ticket machines were not taking Credit Cards.

The breakfast was very good. We had plenty of choices for our tastes. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Check-in was quick and easy. The lobby is small, but comfortable. We had a small room and didn't need any maid service during our 3 nights stay, so we just got fresh towels and such, and they were very friendly about it. On the night prior to our departure day, our vehicle was broken into, and we didn't want to leave anything in the car with a broken window, so they let us store our bags in a spare room and park in their lot for the day until we left that evening.

Our room was not large, but it was big enough for us and it was pretty clean. They had just painted the stairwells on each side of the building, so they have been trying to maintain things. The building is older, but it was in pretty good shape. Since we didn't spend much time there, it was fine with us.

One word of warning - If you have a vehicle, park near the front entrance, and don't leave anything that might be thought of as possibly valuable in it. We had a small bag that had a roof rack bag in it, and it was parked at the back. They have no security cameras back there, so they broke out the window to get to a $50, mostly-useless-for-anyone-else item. They did a quick smash and grab. If they had looked very hard at all they would have found a set of keys that would have allowed them to steal the vehicle. Thank heaven thieves in NY are moronic idiots, or we would have been in more trouble.

We usually have pretty low expectations for places to stay like this, but we were pleasantly surprised at how good a value it was for us. If we go back to NYC any time soon, we will certainly consider staying there, and we do recommend it. Just don't expect the Ritz for Motel 6 pricing and you should enjoy it just fine.

What we like most was the quality for the price. What we like least was having the car broken into.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN City View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City View Inn

Address: 33-17 Greenpoint Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN City View Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN City View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City View Hotel Long Island City
Best Western Long Island City
Long Island City Best Western
BEST WESTERN City View Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN City View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.