We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - great for budget stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
SF bay
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location - great for budget stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We booked our trip to NY in the last minute and our plan was to stay outdoors most of the time. Quality inn fit our bill very well - it was close to the subway (5 min walk) and about 10 min subway ride away from downtown manhattan. The service was great - we arrived at the hotel long before the check in time and the staff was very friendly and they tried to accommodate us as quickly as they could. The breakfast was decent. And about 3 blocks away, we could find lots of places to eat. Although this is not the best looking location, it was very convenient for our purpose and well within our budget. The rooms weren't perfect - there was a musty smell probably coz of the incessent rains in NY the week before. But, I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have fun in NY by being outdoors and do not want to spend big bucks on heavy hotels in the downtown. Being close to the subway is all that matters in NY. :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    133
    42
    26
    9
See reviews for
48
94
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

I had a little trouble finding the place, but, once I figured out where it was, it turned out to be less than a 4 minute walk from the Queens Plaza subway station. If you take the subway exit labeled "Northern Boulevard and Queens Boulevard North", you'll be walking in the right direction on the right street. Go about three blocks and turn left on 40th Ave. (not Rd.).

I was very disappointed by the breakfast (no eggs, waffles, toaster, or cappuccino machine), and the TV lineup had some odd omissions (such as NBC), but everything else was fine. The bed was comfortable, the water temperature and pressure were fine, and everything else was in working order. The vending is very limited (no diet soda that I could find) and there didn't seem to be a convenience store nearby so come with provisions if you think you'll need them. There is a public-use computer near the registration desk.

I got an incredibly good price so I don't begrudge the minor deficiencies. I'm glad I stayed here and I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

As the flights from the UK to the US tend to be fairly pricy, we sought out a cheap alternative for accommodation and found this one. Since we weren't planning on spending any time in the hotel except for sleeping of course, we weren't particularly fussed but this did the trick! It's near the subway and only a few minutes away from the centre of Manhattan. Staff were very friendly and although the amenities are minimal, we wanted for nothing (except it would have been nice to be able to get something to drink and eat when we arrived very late in the evening - however thanks to the closeness of the subway it was fine!). It's handy that they have a PC available for guests in the lobby and the coffee was surprisingly good for coming from a machine. The breakfast isn't impressive but with so many fantastic places in the city to eat, who needs it? :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The Quality Inn is stratigically located near a subway station that provides very convenient access to the rest of the city (literally a 3 minute walk around the block). The problem is that the subway is not sub in these parts of town - rather above ground. As such, it can be heard in the hotel room. The clerk agreed to cancel one day of reservation, but we were forced to stay one night unless we wanted to lose ~150$ (taxes included). The claim that he made was that this is the first time anyone complained of the noise. Now, it may very well be that all the other guests were deaf mutes or already live near an overpass and were resilient to the noise. We were not.
The neighborhood doesn't boost confidence.
In short, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

One of the Worst experiences ever. Hotel is Owned and operated by the same person. I was in NYC for a couple of days with my girlfriend and the Hotel was not up to par with our expectations. First thing we noticed as we walked in, the A/C in the lobby was not on. It was 87 degrees outside and 90 degrees in the Hotel. I asked the front desk guy why its so hot inside and he said its because the manager/owner is too cheap to turn the A/C on. The next afternoon when we came back to have a nap after a long day in the city the housekeeper came into our room at 4pm to do room service. Once again the owner/manager is too cheap to hire enough housekeepers to have the rooms cleaned at an adequate time. The breakfast wasn't great at all. You can tell the donuts and bagels were left overs from other days as they were so hard. We ended up staying our last night across the street at the Verve which was heaven compared to the Quality Inn. With competitors right across the street I suggest the manager Vipul Patel start running his property more professionally. Turn on the AC, hire more housekeepers, and have a decent breakfast! On a side not I would like to say the staff at the Quality Inn were amazing and very helpful and friendly. But even they did not have anything nice to say about their manager.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I stayed at the Quality Inn Long Island City for two nights in June 2009. The hotel is much smaller that pictures make it look, with only 6-8 rooms on each floor. This meant that all rooms were directly off the elevator and the beeping could be heard all night long. The staff is not friendly at all, and could even be rude at times. Breakfast was fine, small selection of bagels, pastries and cereal so nothing fancy. The room was tiny, which was expected but the towels were very worn and the bathroom did not have any counter space, and was a little dirty. The lobby does have a computer, but no printer (which would have been nice for printing boarding passes). The subway is just two blocks away and I never really felt unsafe although it is in an industrial area. If I could do it over I would pay a little bit more per night and stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Very nice and clean hotel for a very good price in NEW YORK !!
Metro just around the corner (39th street bebie) and Queen Plaza. Withing 15 minutes you are in Manhattan. We loved it. Very friendly receptionists. Good internet possibilities. Free coffee all the time. Breakfast is free but do not expect much off this opportunity. Great beds and shower. We definitely going back when we visit NY again. No trouble with the subway noice to tired to hear something when you walk to NY all day. Thanks for the hospitality

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.