We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Serves its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spent eight nights at this hotel for a recent visit to New York. We arrived quite late in the evening and was a bit uneasy when the taxi pulled up next to the hotel. The area looked a bit sketchy, but later turned out to be quite ok afterall. We never felt unsafe walking between the hotel and the local subway station which is located about three minutes of walking from the hotel. Quite a perfect location if you're planning on spending the days at Manhattan as the subway stops at Times Square and also goes all the way to Coney Island. You can also take the subway further north in Queens if you want to look around the local area. The film studio Kaufman is located one subway stop past the hotel. There's also some museums around the same area.
The room itself was nice and clean. The size of the room was as expected due to New York being a big city. The beds are fine and the bathroom is clean.
Due to being located right by the subway there is some noice when the trains pass. For us it wasn't much of a problem but if you are very aware of sounds it might annoy you a bit. Try to get a room not facing the subway.
All in all an ok hotel for a rather cheap price close to New York.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't facing the subway to avoid some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    155
    47
    28
    9
See reviews for
56
110
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

In town to visit family (in a small apartment), we chose this hotel and were very pleased. True, it is in sketchy area and it is small, but it was exactly what we needed, and the price was perfect. Everything was very clean (bathroom sparkled), bedding and towels were high quality, room air conditioner top notch (here during a spate of 90-degree days). Parking is on street and at one's own risk, but we had no qualms. Do be aware of limited parking times in some spots, though; we did get a ticket one night for not observing the 8pm to 6pm window. Front staff is most helpful and accomodating. Breakfast area is small but well-maintained and served its purpose. Selection covered all the basics, and the pastries were from a local bakery. There are three high-end hotels within this immediate area, but we will not hesitate to just stay here again. Weren't in town to be inside, anyway!

Room Tip: Hotel is near a train, which we could hear periodically; however, we had no issues with this nor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is very clean, but in a somewhat industrial area with not much within walking distance. Rooms are small, but very clean. Had a City view on the 12th floor and it was awesome! Breakfast was good,,,standard fare. $750 for Fri-Sun night. Shuttle service to nearby train stop is where I had a HUGE issue. After returning from our day in Manhattan, we boarded the shuttle with our daughters, 17 & 8. We were then told to get off the shuttle because other passengers were being picked up at restaurants. The driver said he would return in 20 minutes, so we decided to walk back to the hotel. The next evening, the same thing happened, except this time, as we walked toward the shuttle, the driver said, "Don't even think about getting on this bus". Apparently for the same reasons as the night before. I felt that "I'm sorry, but the bus is full..." or something to that effect would be much more customer friendly. I could've ripped his head right off for his demeanor, especially when speaking to a family with children. Maybe I'm nit-picking here, but I do believe in customer service and this was a very poor example of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

- Friendly and helpful staff.
- Manhatten is easily accessible through the Metro and I experienced no safety problems while taking the metro at 0:30AM while on my own.
- The neighborhood does look a bit run down as noted in other reviews, but this is not a problem in itself.
- The room was very clean overall (just minor dirt on light switches and such).
- Noisy room as the above ground metro railway is nearby. It was a bit annoying but I could sleep well. I can however imagine people not being able to sleep due to this. if only the hotel would place more noise resistant windows.
- Ok price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First of all we booked it the same day as we went there (because of some problems- it was our last resort). So, we thought ourself lucky ( it was after all busy NYC Saturday). So, having in mind this- the hotel had a great location, quite near the subway. The place itself doesn't have a dining room- you just eat in the lobby. So, there is not enough room for everyone. Maybe because of that breakafast is only served till 9.30. Avoid juice from the machine- is just not for drinking.
The staff was quite friendly- we could leave our luggage in the reception office, even though the place was crowded with another suitcases, and the lady could not almost make any move...So, what the place really needs is a storage room.
The room was great. Big bed, and a jacuzzi in the room!!! We had a great fun ( especially our 4 year old son- we literally dragged him out of water:))

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for approx 3 weeks in the month of May 2014. Rooms were good. House keeping was also fine. The hotel is very close to queens plaza station hence well connected to most of the New york. All this was fine. But following aspects need serious improvement -

1. The WiFi facility is very poor. High unsecured network. Most of the apps couldn't connect easily. The speed was also poor. Devices kept giving security warning everytime we tried connecting and it threw us out of the network every 10 mins.

2. Inter room phone service wasn't working

3. The keys to be room would stop working every 3rd or 4th day.

4. The staff at the front desk wasn't courteous. Quite arrogant.

5. No consistency in breakfast menu.

Only good thing was that rooms were good and well designed. An average place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here on 2 occasions during the same trip, which we had our bags stored with the reception for a fee in between. Arrived from JFK via Sky train -> Queens Plaza, and on the 2nd stay, via LGA in a taxi for $18 before tips. Hotel is 10 mins walk from Queens Plaza, and 15 mins on the 'E' train gets you into the heart of Manhattan.

1st room was on high floor facing the taxi depot, can only hear minimal noise from the subway
2nd room was low floor facing 40th Ave and a construction site. During day time, we could hear noise from machines and workers, at night, subway was very audible. Rooms were pretty small, aged, but clean and functional. For the low rate we got, we had low expectations and were fine with the limited service and decent continental breakfast. Freshly made-to-order waffles was a pleasant surprise and coffee was decent.

Overall, we found it to be excellent value for NYC, only because we've got low rates. However, it is not recommended if you are a light sleeper unless you can confirm a good room facing away from the subway

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the subway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.