We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is very clean, but in a somewhat industrial area with not much within walking distance. Rooms are small, but very clean. Had a City view on the 12th floor and it was awesome! Breakfast was good,,,standard fare. $750 for Fri-Sun night. Shuttle service to nearby train stop is where I had a HUGE issue. After returning from our day in Manhattan, we boarded the shuttle with our daughters, 17 & 8. We were then told to get off the shuttle because other passengers were being picked up at restaurants. The driver said he would return in 20 minutes, so we decided to walk back to the hotel. The next evening, the same thing happened, except this time, as we walked toward the shuttle, the driver said, "Don't even think about getting on this bus". Apparently for the same reasons as the night before. I felt that "I'm sorry, but the bus is full..." or something to that effect would be much more customer friendly. I could've ripped his head right off for his demeanor, especially when speaking to a family with children. Maybe I'm nit-picking here, but I do believe in customer service and this was a very poor example of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timmyo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Limburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

- Friendly and helpful staff.
- Manhatten is easily accessible through the Metro and I experienced no safety problems while taking the metro at 0:30AM while on my own.
- The neighborhood does look a bit run down as noted in other reviews, but this is not a problem in itself.
- The room was very clean overall (just minor dirt on light switches and such).
- Noisy room as the above ground metro railway is nearby. It was a bit annoying but I could sleep well. I can however imagine people not being able to sleep due to this. if only the hotel would place more noise resistant windows.
- Ok price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First of all we booked it the same day as we went there (because of some problems- it was our last resort). So, we thought ourself lucky ( it was after all busy NYC Saturday). So, having in mind this- the hotel had a great location, quite near the subway. The place itself doesn't have a dining room- you just eat in the lobby. So, there is not enough room for everyone. Maybe because of that breakafast is only served till 9.30. Avoid juice from the machine- is just not for drinking.
The staff was quite friendly- we could leave our luggage in the reception office, even though the place was crowded with another suitcases, and the lady could not almost make any move...So, what the place really needs is a storage room.
The room was great. Big bed, and a jacuzzi in the room!!! We had a great fun ( especially our 4 year old son- we literally dragged him out of water:))

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for approx 3 weeks in the month of May 2014. Rooms were good. House keeping was also fine. The hotel is very close to queens plaza station hence well connected to most of the New york. All this was fine. But following aspects need serious improvement -

1. The WiFi facility is very poor. High unsecured network. Most of the apps couldn't connect easily. The speed was also poor. Devices kept giving security warning everytime we tried connecting and it threw us out of the network every 10 mins.

2. Inter room phone service wasn't working

3. The keys to be room would stop working every 3rd or 4th day.

4. The staff at the front desk wasn't courteous. Quite arrogant.

5. No consistency in breakfast menu.

Only good thing was that rooms were good and well designed. An average place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaurmayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here on 2 occasions during the same trip, which we had our bags stored with the reception for a fee in between. Arrived from JFK via Sky train -> Queens Plaza, and on the 2nd stay, via LGA in a taxi for $18 before tips. Hotel is 10 mins walk from Queens Plaza, and 15 mins on the 'E' train gets you into the heart of Manhattan.

1st room was on high floor facing the taxi depot, can only hear minimal noise from the subway
2nd room was low floor facing 40th Ave and a construction site. During day time, we could hear noise from machines and workers, at night, subway was very audible. Rooms were pretty small, aged, but clean and functional. For the low rate we got, we had low expectations and were fine with the limited service and decent continental breakfast. Freshly made-to-order waffles was a pleasant surprise and coffee was decent.

Overall, we found it to be excellent value for NYC, only because we've got low rates. However, it is not recommended if you are a light sleeper unless you can confirm a good room facing away from the subway

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the subway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zachary_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel should do a better job in taking care of was is important to the guest. As a choice member guest that ask for a late checkout I was told it would be and additional $20 per hour. Also the hotel has a complimentary continental breakfast that ends at 9:30 am. Two days in a row I came down for breakfast at 9:10 am and there was very little items left. I ask the attendant for more eggs and he said NO. And Saturday moring the breakfast attendant was sitting to the side eatting himself. I wonder did he get some eggs? I ask front desk about the location of a drug store and was told blocks away on Broadway, but I found one near the hotel on 36th street. I guess they didn't know the area. Most hotels make the guest their priority, but NOT here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sneedtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We got an amazing price--about $400 including taxes for 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Very friendly staff, though mostly the staff is there for checking in and out; you won't spend much time at the hotel.
Rooms are in good shape, comfortable beds, clean. There is definitely some subway noise, but our room (on the front side) mostly we could just hear rumblings of the trains, nothing too bad. We slept fine.
2 of our 4 days, when we went to take showers, there was NO hot water. Not really acceptable in a newish hotel.
Breakfast would be ok if not for a few issues: Saturday, there was some fresh fruit (bananas and apples). Sunday, when those were empty, I asked the (friendly) worker at breakfast. He shrugged and answered, "It's Sunday." Umm, I do believe that there are fruits sold on Sundays in NYC. Monday, again no fruit. Didn't bother asking. Other than that, there was plenty of coffee, and actually the baked goods (variety of bagels and donuts) was of high quality from a local bakery. Best bagel I've ever had in a hotel!
Location is quite good: From LGA, take M60 bus to Atsoria, then the N/Q train to 39th Avenue Stop. It's about 1 block from there. From JFK, simply take the E train to Queens Plaza and walk the 2 blocks to the hotel. Super easy!
So while at the price we got, we'd recommend it--it's a great deal and we were very happy, I'm seeing rates of $120-200 for some nights and I could see where I'd be expecting hot water if I were paying higher rates.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcaulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#11 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing