We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but a cold shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty good, but a cold shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staff was nice, breakfast was pretty good (could have used bacon though), and the room was very nice and clean - only serious complaint was a major lack of hot water. Location was pretty convenient for me since I was using the 39th Av subway a lot. Stay off the local Chinese place though - not so impressive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    130
    41
    26
    9
See reviews for
44
94
37
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Quality Inn for two nights during the weekend and although I had my doubts about this place because of other reviews (such as noise), I was steered wrong. This hotel is right off of 39th Av subway station, literally a block or two away. Even at night I felt comfortable enough to walk to the hotel and from the station. To avoid the high prices of downtown NYC, look out in the suburbs that are subway accessible, such as this hotel in Long Island City (aka Queens).

This hotel was really clean and well kept. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch as well!

The downside was the lack of information by staff, I was simply checked in and got my credit card swiped and told to go to my room, not much more. I wish I would have received some info about like whats around the hotel, where to go, what to do, I had to find this in a drawer that had the info (which I was not told about). The cleaning was unannounced and someone just showed up at the door to do it. But besides that, it was a great stay and I definitely recommend the pizzeria next door!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a good hotel for the money.Clean and comfortable bed.Staff very nice.Close to Subway, only a 10 minutes ride to midtown Manhattan.Will definitely return.
There is no store or restaurant close to the hotel.There is a pizzeria right next to it.The hotel is located in an industrial area but I noticed many other hotels in the vicinity.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Quality Inn LIC is located on a block that can best be described as gritty and industrial. That being said, it is perfectly located for travel to New York City. Less than 2 blocks from the subway (Q & N lines) and only 2 stops to Lexington Avenue and 59th Street in Manhattan(Bloomingdales plus so much more), the Quality Inn presents itself as a viable alternative to NYC hotels at a fraction of the price. What I paid for four nights (including tax) is a normal price for one night in Manhattan. While not luxurious by any means, this hotel is clean and well kept. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The room I was assigned had no view (not a big deal), but was clean and comfortable. It took less than 15 minutes between walking and the actual commute to get to midtown Manhattan. You would be hard pressed to find a more convenient hotel for the price and convenience. Even the free morning breakfast is decent! While this may not have deserved the full 4 out of 5 rating, Trip Advisor has no "half" ratings for the 3 1/2 it truly deserved

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
335 hotel reviews
Reviews in 336 cities Reviews in 336 cities
668 helpful votes 668 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is perfectly described in the reviews -- and it's current 3 1/2 star rating is very accurate. I like the place. I like staying in Long Island City -- I think more visitors to NYC should consider it, since it's SO convenient to Midtown and so much cheaper. I also think there are better motels in LIC, and you should probably only pick this one if it's cheaper than the other ones which are rated 3 1/2 stars and better.

Some new observations (I won't repeat the recent comments):

Free parking is easy on the street in front of the hotel. I probably wouldn't park an expensive car, it's pretty lonely out there, but any normal car should be fine. Most travelers, of course, will not have cars, and this hotel is super-convenient for subway access.

The free breakfast is standard-issue Choice Hotel USA quality. Not sure how many travelers stay in USA Choice Hotels, but if you have, you'll recognize the breakfast. It's fine but not really good. On the negative side, the powdered eggs were cold. On the positive side, the bagels and donuts were bought fresh from local vendors, so significantly better than the processed, mass-produced junky breads usually available in a Choice Hotel.

Train noise is weird. Annoying -- especially since the rest of the neighborhood is so quiet. But not noisy enough to keep us from falling asleep, or waking us up. The rooms also didn't seem to have any views of Manhattan. I've stayed in other LIC hotels that had wonderful views. Hotel had some other strange noises, like from the heater and the plumbing. Again, annoying, but not very bothersome. Rooms are small, but bigger than you usually get at similar hotels in Manhattan. Overall, a 3-star hotel that you could easily stay in, but probably not one to particularly prefer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

on a tight budget but want to visit nyc? stay in long island city. it's a short distance to manhattan and the hotels are much cheaper. now, this is an industrial area and the hotel is nothing special. but the hotel was clean and served its purpose- a decent place to rest our head and shower. breakfast is included but, unsurprisingly, was pretty bad. hey, you get what you pay for. there's street parking so you save on parking too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.