We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, close to manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good value, close to manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

on a tight budget but want to visit nyc? stay in long island city. it's a short distance to manhattan and the hotels are much cheaper. now, this is an industrial area and the hotel is nothing special. but the hotel was clean and served its purpose- a decent place to rest our head and shower. breakfast is included but, unsurprisingly, was pretty bad. hey, you get what you pay for. there's street parking so you save on parking too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    154
    47
    28
    9
See reviews for
56
109
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This remains a solid choice for a Long Island City hotel. Close to the subway and the rooms are clean comfortable and affordable.

Breakfast is decent too, except for the odd fellow who is in charge of maintaining it. I grew up in Brooklyn so I understand that friendliness isn't as instinctive in New York City as in other places. But even by New York standards, this young man is unfriendly. He never ever smiles, never says "hello" or "good morning" but instead stands around, often in the way, and stares at the guests eating breakfast. Needless to say, this makes one uncomfortable and begs the question as to why someone with no personality whatsoever is in the hospitality business. He doesn't wear a uniform as he should, nor does he display a name badge. But in fairness, he does a decent job of maintaining the buffet so if you are not bothered by his gaze, you'll be satisfied with the breakfast. And given the location and cleanliness of this hotel, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here again last week and am still happy with it. The breakfast has been noticeably improved--they now have scrambled eggs and a waffle maker. Some people might find the location to be noisy because of the elevated trains, but it didn't really bother me. I like the proximity to the subway and came back to Long Island City from Manhattan two or three times each day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Staying here was a little concern of mine since we have never been in NY before and this hotel was very reasonable compared to the rest.

Getting to the hotel was hectic since we drove to the city and TRAFFIC is CRAZY on a Friday afternoon. We are very thankful that we were able to park the car and not use it until we left. Using the Metro on 39th was a wonderful help. It was a bit confussing at times but since we did not have to drive in that mess we figured it out quickly.

We stayed in room 203 and there is construction across the street. Since we were there Friday afternoon till Sunday morning it was not a problem for us. The room had a king size bed that was comfortable but it was small. We were not in it that much anyway.

The Q and N train that is not far from the room was not a problem either with noise. We went to see Christmas Spectacular at Radio City music hall and returned back at the hotel after 11pm. We felt safe as we walked the 1 block to the hotel. It is always a good idea to keep aware of your surroundings no matter where you are.

Breakfast was good with waffles, fruit, cereal, eggs, and danish. Wish they had two waffle makers since it takes a few minutes and you don't want to wait in line for it.

Everyone was a great help with the metro and anything that we asked for. I would deffently stay here again if we were to come back again.

I

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The essence of this hotel is VFM (value for money) and proximity to Metro stations ( you can see the hotel from metro station). This hotel is located in Long island, but I could hardly feel the difference (other than manhattan skyline) as the 2 metro stations were so close, just a block away. Within 15 minutes you can reach times square. Its mindless to pay double the price in Manhattan for pigeon hole rooms, when you have to use the same metro to commute elsewhere.

The rooms are fairly spacious and clean. The beds are comfy and wifi signal strong. The room has all the essential amenities for guests. The staff was extremely helpful specially the girls at reception, Cyre and Nabila. Who gave good tourist tips and info about the city. The hotel is very safe and the surrounding area are okay to walk at night, with moderate precaution to be kept by tourist.

If someone is staying for more than 3 days, then I would recommend traveller to buy one week metro card for $ 30. Which allows you unlimited travel through out the metro trains/bus for one week. Its very economical than spending $2.50 for each ride. In fact you can use the same card for commuting to JFK or LGA airports.

You can order Chinese food/Italian Pizza (printed menus available at reception) and they provide you free delivery for any order above $ 6. Thus you don't need to venture out at night in search of food.

Please be prepared the breakfast consist of wafers, fruits, bread, donuts and other bakery stuff and its available only till 9.30 am. Its okay if you are staying in a good budget hotel in NYC.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a bang for the buck. Sure will re-stay on my future visit to big apple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a large group of friends. It was perfectly located for us -- about a mile from where we had to go every day -- and the subway was just around the corner. The room was spacious, especially for NYC, and the beds were comfortable. Wifi worked great. There isn't much in the way of eating in the immediate surroundings, minus a few hotel restaurants, but that wasn't a problem for us. It's a basic hotel with few frills, but definitely enough comforts. The price was also hard to beat for being so close to the city. Will definitely stay here again if we need to be in LIC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.