We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City-Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Quality Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“City-Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was cheap and we didn't expect a luxurious room. It was small, but clean. But we have to do the bed by ourselves. If you are just there for visiting the city or staying a few days we can recommend this hotel to you. Because the value for money was good. Attention If you need silence for sleeping it's maybe to loud for you, but I'm not sure if you would find a really calm space neat NYC. :o)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    149
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
55
105
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great hotel, small but nice rooms, newy renowated. Clean and quiet, comfy beds. Subway to Manhattan 2 minutes walk away, there is also the G train station 10 minutes walk away in cae you need to reach Brooklyn fast :) . The area seemed somehow dodgy at night but we never had any issues, even late at night. 15 minutes ride to the Grand Central Station. We would definitely stay again. Reccomended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here for five nights with another couple in a 'family' style room with two double beds. What a hoot! It was ideal for visiting on a budget - we saved our money for doing as much touristy stuff as possible.

The room was clean and comfortable - ok, you probably would want to be good friends to share like we did (!) - but we all managed just fine. Plenty bedding, towels etc for our needs.

The breakfast was fine - bagels, cereal, coffee which was all we needed before we set out for the day. The eating area was a bit small, but we always managed to get somewhere to sit, it's not the kind of place where folk would sit and spend ages over breakfast looking at the view.

Transport into the city was v easy - as mentioned previously the subway is a few mins walk.
NB We got a taxi to the hotel from JFK - the hotel is a bit difficult to find so maybe having a printed out map of exactly where it is might help and avoid going round in a few circles like we did.

My only gripe is that when checking in, our friends (who were supposed to be on the same plane from LGW as us but were delayed) had the credit card for our booking. Despite explaining the situation, having a printout of the booking and our passports proving who we were, the young guy on the desk wouldn't let us check in. He called someone who said we had to wait an hour (maybe just to check we really wanted the room?!?) - but eventually he let us in. I'm sure he was just following some procedure but it was a bit tedious..

Didn't spoil the stay - unless I could afford a posh hotel in the centre, I'd rather spend less on a hotel in LIC. Last word about the area the hotel is in - wouldn't be wandering around on my own at night, but coming back as a couple or group was not remotely threatening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Cheapest hotel I could find within a reasonable distance of manhattan. I thought it was really good value - 1 block to subway, good breakfast- we ate before 8am so had no problems with seating, fridge in room, free wifi. rooms were clean.
Nowhere really to eat in area but we took subway to 30th street- about two stops down and went to supermarket there. Also lots more places to eat/shop there. No problem with subway so close.
Only problem with hotel was subway noise, but that's the price u pay for convenience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice (france)
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

this hotel is kind of very good staff people are very gentle room are cleaned every day and towel changed every day too that s a very good point .
other very good and very bad point is the breakfast...something like a "all you can eat" with donuts coffee apple and orange juice small croissant hard to go on a day trip with that lol so watch your weight before and after your stay it could be very bad!!^^ but enjoy it anyway you can!!.
3rd good point..you got a subway station just around a corner by 100 meters ( N and Q).so that s a good things but the fact is you have a close station so you have the noise too!! but if you have a very tough day it won t be a problem you will fall asleep soon enough!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just completed a four night stay at the Quality Inn LIC. Like all of the other hotels I've stayed at in the area, the Quality Inn is a great value for those who'd rather spend their travel money on other stuff besides where they sleep. The queen room was big enough by NYC standards, clean, and with the standard stuff you'd expect. Front desk staff was friendly, housekeeping reliable, and the free breakfast was decent for what it is.
The 39th Street N Train station is literally one long block away and then it's two stops into midtown Manhattan. Hotel is close enough to come and go to during the day if you need to drop things off.
Pros: Great location, easy access, great price and value.
Cons: My only complaint was that the WiFi was spotty in my 4th floor room. Worked fine in the lobby, I can live with that although if they could improve on it it would be nice. I have read others complaining about noise from the nearby train. I could hear it but it was kind of like a low thunder rumble, not enough to disturb or wake me up.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is a 10-15 min subway ride to the lower end of central park. The subway was about a 3-5 minute walk. It was nice to leave the hustle and bustle of Manhattan and stay in a quiet less crowded area. It's not near a lot of restaurants but we just ate in Manhattan. The hotel has a continental breakfast included. Not much of a selection but enough to get you started.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Long Island City

Address: 30-03 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.