We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Room was clean, staff was helpful. In the washroom you have to pull a gold ring underneath the faucet in the tub to turn the shower on. I found that kinda strange.

We took the subway into town. It took about 1/2hr on subway or a bus took us down 5th ave. That took about 40mins.

Small shops around, McDonalds beside it for a late night snack. Breakfast was pretty good. The only fruit I saw were bananas. Few cereals, bagels, scrambled egg and sausage.

Personally my biggest concern was the commute into Manhattan. Going in was fine but we ended up taking cabs back most of the time. If you are going to take a cab, try going North near Central Park. The ride was the cheapest from there. Average was $20-$30 for a cab.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    276
    154
    57
    54
See reviews for
199
211
46
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

So upon a arrival we immediately noticed there was only one towel in the bathroom. When asked to bring towels up to the room the manager acted as if there was a major towel restriction. Ironically the next night we had no wash cloths. When asked for the manager said they ran out of them. I know this sounds pity but to actually run out of towels is a bit crazy. We also noticed very limited parking in the rear. The staff appeared very busy at nothing and could care less about basic needs. Furthermore someone elected to allow construction at the only front entrance during regular business hours. This looked very unprofessional and just tied the lobby up for two days. If I were you I would find another place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in July and was satisfied with the experience. Great location to subway - only 7 stops to Times Square, free parking, wi-fi and good breakfast. Clean room, comfortable bed, no smoke smell.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed with my son June 17th through June 20th, 2014. First stayed in June 2011. Excellent location to subway and for getting into Manhattan. Room was clean. Housekeeping left one washrag. Asked for 2nd and was told to call front desk. Had to call twice before I got extra one. Breakfast is HORRIBLE! Stale bread and watered down juices. All the carbs appeared stale like they had been reused and reused. 24 hour McDonald's next door and many places to eat in close proximity to hotel. Front desk informed me check-out was at 11am. Website says noon. Will take that up with Customer Service. Owners are kind enough to allow guests to leave luggage at front desk and return later for them - at no cost but at your own risk! Shower is pretty unusual and I had to call front desk to find out how to run the shower. Housekeeping did not give us soap/shampoo after staying for two nights - UNACCEPTABLE! Price quoted at check-in was not total quoted online. Consistency is important. Spent way too many minutes trying to open door to room each time. Will stay again because I spend lots of time away from the hotel enjoying the city, so the inadequacies do not irk me that much.

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from the road and the trains. Quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
416 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've reviewed this motel before and it's getting more bizarre with each stay. Yes, there are some small nuisances with room upkeep. But this time I opened the door to find a man in my room. And he wasn't a guest. Just a relative or some night shift worker who needed a place to watch TV and drink a soda in quiet for a while. Well, I moved rooms. And by the way there's a daily key charge. Even when you return it. they removed it but they really didn't want to. Suit yourself because this place can be real cheap at times, even with the possibility of having to share with the night watchman.

Room Tip: Check the room first for faults.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've stayed here several times, it's a little oasis of a nice hotel in a non-so-fancy neighborhood. But it's three blocks from the subway on a brightly lit street and the rooms are clean and really nice. The price is usually the best I see in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.