We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“multi-day stay using Metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“multi-day stay using Metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed five nights, room looked out at elevated MTA railway on Queens Blvd but noise not a problem. Room worked fine, cable, WiFi worked ok. On a hot day the corridors upstairs were stuffy, maybe A/C not on. Tiny parking lot in back,we were fortunate to get one of the 10-12 spaces the first night and never moved it, taking the #7 everywhere. About 3 blocks to the 40th St station, didn't try to check out much else in the area.
Breakfast had excellent bakery-quality donuts and pretty good bagels. Maybe 3 kinds of Kelloggs with milk/ap/orange juice and toastables. Eggs/sausage a bit rubbery and only ate it once.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    266
    135
    53
    48
See reviews for
180
202
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Having made a reservation over 6 months in advanced, I call the day before arrival to confirm the room for late arrival and the bed configuration. Imagine my dismay when we arrived at 11:20 p.m. to find our room had been cancelled. They do not charge your credit card when you make the reservation ... but they do not wait until you check in either. We were not informed of this and they tried to charge our card the morning we were to arrive. Because they had an old number from our initial reservation, they just cancelled our reservation. The hotel was full when we arrived and the hotel desk clerk was unhelpful, to say the least. When we contacted the 800 number, we were told a La Quinta in NJ had availability. Before driving there at that time of night, I called the hotel directly and was informed they had no rooms either. When we complained to customer service after our return home, we were sent a form letter that included "We are concerned that we did not exceed your expectations during your last visit to our hotel." Exceed our expectations? We never had the opportunity to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is very close to subway which is a huge plus for a city like New York. The rates are reasonable considering it is 25 mins from Times Square by Subway. When it comes to comfort, the amenities provided are basic but sufficient. The bed and bathroom were clean. The continental breakfast lacks variety though.There is a 24 hr McDonalds adjacent to the hotel. Overall the stay was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The good:

-Less than 200 per night let me save about $100 per night compared to what I would have spent in Manhattan.
- A lot less noisy and crowded than Manhattan. I do enjoy getting away from the crowds every night.
-2 blocks from subway.
-3 surrounded by restaurants, CVSs, Mcdonalds, and many others.
-Refrigerator included in the room.
-Nice fruit shop nearby.
-This is my second time in this hotel. No complaints. I get what I expected.
-$40 taxi fare from JFK. You can also take the subway.

The bad
-Average hotel.
-Small bathroom.
-Don't try the breakfast. Walk a couple of blocks and get yourself a decent coffee.
-You do get noise from the subway. I have no problem to deal with it.
-Staff do speak english, just fine tune your ear. They just do their job. No complaints, no good words either.
-Old TV. Very few tv channels.
-No parking.
-No nice views.
-Average lobby.
-Average/poor business center.

Room Tip: Get a high floor. Avoid the first floor it vibrates a lot when the subway passes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

La Quinta LIC is a good, clean hotel, in an excellent location, near the train, and many restaurants and shops. The hotel offers quality service and fairly big room for NYC at a reasonable price. Breakfast is included, which is also convenient. LaQuinta could improve its fitness centre, which is in a very small room with 1 tred mill & 1 weights machine, and offer some vending machines.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My brother and I stayed there recently. It was spotlessly clean, spacious (for New York), a nice small hotel very close to the #7 train 40th St Station. While the main street, Queens Blvd, is very commerical and industrial, any block in any direction is residential, pleasant, with apartment houses, duplex houses, trees and small local stores on the other avenues around it. It is also inexpensive for New York, and yet you can be at Times Square in 12 minutes. It was a perfect budget choice, clean inexpensive and convenient (for not being in Manhattan). It is also easy to get here from LaGuardia and JFK Airports by public transport, and accessible to Newark Airport also by public transport. Also, when other slightly closer-in nearby hotels have higher seasonal prices, this one is even a better bargain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.