We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We spent 6 days at this hotel (Excellent Location)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Valrico, Florida, United States
1 review
“We spent 6 days at this hotel (Excellent Location)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

and we have nothing but good things to say about our stay. It was conveniently located in Queens. 2 blocks from the subway, plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, coffee shops, liquor store within walking distance. The area is safe, parking was limited but we were able to park in the hotel's parking lot every single day. The staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was more than sufficient. By car you are centrally located to reach all boroughs within minutes.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here without any second thoughts.

I just hope they do not raise their prices when they realize they have a gem on their hands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    242
    124
    46
    43
See reviews for
172
190
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My only complaint is the curtains. They are sheer & let the light in. Plus they had some weird stains on them that looked like coffee. Other than that, I could not have asked for a better stay. They have free parking (woohoo!), easy subway access, lots of access to food (McDonald's across the street if you don't like adventure), & it was a decent sized, clean room. They even allowed us to keep our luggage at the front desk while we were in the city after check out. Someone complained about the "foreign" people (they don't even have an accent!) at the front desk who make this unlike a LaQuinta. If you only like to stay where white people work the front desk, this is not the place for you (nor is most of New York City). However, if you enjoy good service,you will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was close to the subway, and had shops and food outlets nearby. It was an excellent choice. The subway station was literally 5 minutes walk, we bought a weeks metrocard for $30, £20 to go anywhere. Bargain! It took about 15 minutes on the subway to get into central Manhatten and was no problem, I felt very very safe. It was no different to going to London. The hotel room was big, clean, massive bed, excellent shower, loads of storage. It had a coffee maker that we couldnt get to work, but in the breakfast room downstairs you could get free coffee, tea hot chocolate whenever you wanted. The breakfast was brilliant too. Donuts, cereal, bagels, cream cheese! And included in the price. We met some Brits on a trip and they paid double what we paid, with no breakfast or drinks or anything, just to stay in Manhatten. This was £100 a night for 2 people, pricey I thought but cheap compared to staying in town. There was a fab diner 2 minutes up the road called Petes Diner. Food was lovely, very reasonable, huge portions and open 24hrs a day! And theres a McDonalds next door if you are really hard up. If I ever went back to NY I would stay here again without a doubt. The receptionist was very nice and helpful, but even if she wasn't you only see them for like 5 minutes when you check in so who cares?!! Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute while on the road just hours before arriving as everything else was booked. The room we had was clean but very small and cramped. No turn down service in two days, no towels changed, absolutely no signs of any kind of housekeeping. The coffee maker in our room was not working but the front desk just told us that the hotel was full and they can do nothing about it. The breakfast room is too tiny, the breakfast spread is below average. The staff's attitude is totally indifferent, they don't extend AAA discounts which all La Quintas do. It felt like a fake La Quinta hotel, we had a delightful stay just a week before this at the La Quinta at Chapel Hill in Durham .Good thing is onsite parking and proximity to the subway. That is all the reason why someone might live here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,Tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The La Quinta on Queens Blvd. is easy to find and very convenient to all NYC points due to it's close location to the 7 train. Room was clean and quiet. Parking of course is very limited but there is at least some parking.Price is very good when you compare to other NYC hotels.The only oddity is that the elevator does not go to the ground floor. In order to get your bags to the elevator, which starts on the 2nd floor, you must use a small service elevator(just large enough for bags) for getting the bags to the 2nd floor and then the main passenger elevator.Overall a good choice for any NYC stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had this hotel booked for over 6 months. When we arrived, we were told that our credit card was declined. They then made us move to another hotel. When I was able to contact my credit card company I found out that the reason it was declined was due to a mistake of having the wrong expiration date. I was also told that they only tried to run the card once! They never tried to call me to fix the problem. Once the card was declined, they cancelled my reservation! Stay away from this hotel! Very poor customer service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you're looking for a cheap stay while in New York this might be right up your street! The hotel is fine, near the subway (7) which is handy for the city. Our air-con unit had to be replaced after it packed up, and the window wouldn't open. We asked a few times to have this sorted but the staff seemed a little reluctant, so after the window failed to open the second time we left it.

Worth a stay though if you're on a budget!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, otherwise you'll be overlooked McDonald's or the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.