We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches in room for $180 per night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Roaches in room for $180 per night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was looking for a place to stay while attending the US Open this year and decided to try the La Quinta given the great location and decent reviews. Well, for $180 per night, I expected at least a clean room....not roaches scattering around in the bathroom at night! Breakfast was also very weak - bad coffee and some orange colored drink masquerading as orange juice.

We checked out early and went to the Intercontinental at Times Square for $170 per night.....which was nearly a 5 star property for a lower rate!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    248
    126
    47
    43
See reviews for
173
191
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Yes, this hotel is a good location right by the subway. Yes, there is really no other chain hotel in Queens. Yes, there is a McDonald's next door. BUT none of that outweighs the bad!

This hotel is not kept clean, the rooms are filthy and the service is just bad. Our room was so dirty, we kept our shoes on the whole time. There was a blood stain on the curtain and signs of water leaks all over the ceiling. The air was not cool and even after multiple discussions with the front desk they did not seem to care or offer to have it looked at. The cleaning crew even turned off the AC during the day two days in a row while we were away from the room then it took hours to even get any time of cool. There was not an alarm/radio and the phone by the bed did not work. The only saving grace from us moving was we were with a group and that the bathrooms were spotless. I checked many of the rooms and they were all the same dirty concept. There are even some rooms in the basement with only a small window at the top. The front desk service was neither nice nor welcoming – just when a simple question was asked. The hotel has a split foyer with a small elevator just for luggage. The breakfast is store bought but I guess free is free (we spent many a morning at McDonald's). Logistically, it is not convenient getting to the hotel or going anywhere from the hotel. And on the weekends, you have to bypass the stop on the subway to the next stop then get back on the other way to go back to the stop.

You can find a better bargain hotel with a better commute with a clean hotel! I can appreciate "bargains" but not at the cost of cleanliness!

Room Tip: No room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family stayed here recently for 4 nights. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to a subway station, free parking, free breakfast, and reasonable rates. The staff let us park our car in a spot right by the front door for the entire 4 days we stayed there. The station for the 7 train is 2 blocks away and then it is only a 15 minute ride into Manhattan. We saved lots by staying here rather than in Manhattan!

The hotel is not new, but it is very clean, and our rooms at the back of the hotel were quiet. There is free WiFi, but it is extremely slow and not worth using. The staff members were quiet, but courteous and helpful when we asked for anything.

The breakfast was reasonable each morning, although we did go to Pete's Diner (one block away) on our last morning, just before we headed out. We highly recommend the diner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

LOCATION
Absolutely perfect. 5 stops on the 7 line to Times Square. We used the TS station as a hub to all places of interest in NYC. Download the subway app it is really helpful and easy to use. I would advise a week long Metro card for $30, easy to skip through stations without having to queue or worry about cash/change.

HOTEL
If this hotel was an animal the vet would advise its owners to put it down. Front of house reception staff need a course in customer service as it appears they don't know when to use please and thank you, every question is a hassle to them and they are absolutely useless when presented with a problem. Fridge, hairdryer and door were broken in our room. Had to replace key every time we tried to enter our room. Toilet didn't flush, maintenance man came to fix it twice rather than just change our room. Carpets in corridors were absolutely filthy.

BREAKFAST
Three types of cereal, juice, bagels and toast available. Muffins, donuts, and scrambled eggs and sausages. Reasonable free breakfast.

Rooms were clean so if you need a place to lay your head while you explore NYC then it's ok. Perfect location, that's all that's positive about the hotel to be honest.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

To keep it short...no high speed Internet, no waffle station or muffins at breakfast (btw Sunny Delight does not qualify as juice). Pluses are that it was quiet and conveniently located 3 blocks from the subway and from there just 7 stops from midtown Manhattan. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friends and I were looking for an affordable yet decent option for New York City. We knew we would have to stay outside of the city. This hotel is right off the 7 train which brings you right into Times Square so it is very convenient. The hotel is older and it shows a little, however it was still a decent place to stay. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and they served breakfast in the morning (NY bagels mmm)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When this hotel first opened in Sunnyside Queens, I was ecstatic! Nice clean place, 10 minutes from the city, and a cheap and clean alternative for my friends to stay without breaking the bank…and Jacuzzi tubs, did I mention Jacuzzi tubs???

With each passing year, the cleaning staff gets sloppier; the front desk gets more disinterested in the guests, the maintenance crews allow more and more levels of disrepair in the rooms.

They’ve got a great location, and the guests be dammed.

Can it be this bad you ask? An example if I may:
Rented one of the Jacuzzi suites ran into the following:
-cigarette burn on the tub and desk chair
-wire like mesh exposed between the tile next to the tub, where the carpet and tile meet (sharp ends exposed).
-tub plug broken, so once it shut to fill the tub, it could not be open again to drain. Called the front desk, guy showed up with no tools, but a thick razor blade which is all he had. I unplugged the tub myself, and he was upset that I needed to keep the razor. I contacted the front desk about this…seemed disinterested.

A week later I contacted the CEO of the company, who then referred me to the VP of Ops.

Each time I called he answered, then hung up on me…three times in as many days.

If you need a great location for a decent price, and don’t mind filth and staff disinterest, please stay here.

But right down the road, much better options.

Room Tip: I truly can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.