We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true value of money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
A TripAdvisor Member
“true value of money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice to stay and location like in manhattan and best rate. why we should spend.more money in manhattan. Nice restaurant and bar near by and subway station is ome.block from the hote. i had nice trip of ny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    267
    136
    53
    48
See reviews for
180
204
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013. I was looking for a reasonably price alternative to Manhattan that still involved easy access to Manhattan. This hotel fits that bill. For the same priced we'd be lucky to get a closet sized room on Manhattan. Our room on the third floor was relatively large, modern and clean. The big issue here is that you have to be confident and comfortable riding the train/subway. The 7 line runs right by the hotel, and is 6 stops from Grand Central (15 mins). We lived in NYC in the 80s, so the subways today are nothing we worry about even after midnight. Just try to avoid rush hour if possible. The one negative was the breakfast, which was mediocre at best. If you like bagels or donuts and tasteless coffee your set. After two days, I went to the next door McDonald's (open 24hrs.). I almost hate to review it, because I want this place to stay as is.

Room Tip: No views and only 4-5 stories with elevator, so no preferred room that I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Made a reservation weeks in advance. Arrived after driving all day to find it had been cancelled. Desk was unapologetic and unhelpful. They could not explain why it was cancelled or why they did not call. They made no effort to assist us and would not let us speak to the owner/mgr.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Okay... where to start? I guess I'll start by the good things, since there are fewer of those.
- The beds were comfortable and the sheets had no stains.
- Room and bathroom were a decent size.
- The room we were in was reasonably silent (not facing the street).
- Wi-fi worked reasonably well (a bit slow at times, but never went down).
- The price was okay and the hotel is located near two metro stations.

Now for the not so good part:
- when we arrived (I was travelling with family members), my mother's credit card had been charged for two days already even though we hadn't even checked in.
- They didn't accept global travelling cards because "we simply cannot accept cards with no name on them" which means we had to pay in cash and cash is non-refundable. We had TEN minutes to check the room to see if we wanted it. After that, no money back was possible. Considering that it was raining, we didn't have that much of a choice.
- At least one of the people at the front desk was extremely unhelpful and rather rude.
- The have very few hangers in the closets so if you have need of more than 4 or 5, take your own! The drawers in the dresser might stick a bit. There is no safe in the room.
- The door key went bad and we had to get replacements. Apparently that is not a rare occurrence.
- The carpet in the hallway and in the room was rather dirty. Seems as though the vacuum cleaner doesn't do much for it. Air conditioner filter was filthy.
- Your room might be cleaned any time between 10 am and 5 pm but at least it is cleaned daily.
- They do not provide shower caps or other toiletries that are normally given at hotels or at least available upon request. The only toiletries that you get in the room are soap (okay), shampoo/conditioner (not that good quality) and a small moisturizer (reasonable). The bathtub drains are bad so water accumulates around your feet when taking a shower. To get the showerhead to work, I had to ask for a demonstration at the front desk (they actually have a faucet model down there to show you how it works...).
- The hairdryer provided was bad so we had to get one at the front desk.
- Breakfast is mostly carbohydrate-based with bagels, donuts, three varieties of breakfast cereal and a few kinds of bread. The eggs are powdered and the sausage didn't look that good. The only fruit available is bananas and those are more green than ripe. Orange juice tastes like cheap Sunny Delight. Coffee machine is okay. There is absolutely no variety in breakfast with the same things being served every day. Breakfast room is TINY and you have to wait to sit if you don't get there early enough. Good thing there's a McDonalds nearby...
- There is no elevator in the Lobby. The entrance is a half-floor between floors one and two so you either go up or down a short flight of stairs to get to the elevator (there's only one, by the way so sometimes it might take a while). There is an awkward lift for luggage that goes between the lobby and the 2nd floor.

In all, the hotel fell way short of the advertising and I would only stay there again if there were no better choices nearby.

Room Tip: The higher floors that do not face the street don't have much noise. If you don't like to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel surprised us. We were wanting to save money and yet not resort to a Motel 6 type of place. The people who operate this La Quinta location are so friendly and helpful. We had never been to New York before and they always gave us suggestions and help with the taxi or train.
The rooms were clean and well kept and the ladies who clean them are hard workers. The breakfast and coffee in the mornings is an added plus. It's not a top rated breakfast, but it's included in the price and was always neatly laid out with several options to choose from.
I personally want to thank the owners/managers of this hotel for all they did for us. And I also want to apologize for the other visitors who don't even have the good common sense or integrity to pick up after themselves when they're done eating. I was ashamed to see how ungrateful people can be and rude towards others. The people who work in the hotel business are in a hard industry and not one that receives many compliments. I'm grateful to this staff.
Thank you!
Giovanna & Norma
Arizona

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice hotel located around 15 mins away from the main sites in Manhattan.Felt safe walking back at night. Good value for money however new york state tax is added on top of advertised price. Clean and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice last year, was reasonably satisfied given the location and price in new york area. Stayed a night by redeeming the reward points and paying $60 since I don't have that many points. Was hoping to try The Verve but as always no room was available even booking 2 months ahead

We took a red eye flight into JFK so after breakfast we drop by the hotel to try our luck if we can check in but no chance as told the hotel was full. Then we came back again at 1pm and the room was still not available for another hour or so.

One of the lights in the bathroom was not working, we called the front desk at least twice but it never get fixed even at check out time. The room with a king bed was really small with little space to move about after the luggage. There was no microwave in the room and the cord for the coffee maker is so short that it almost toppled over with the wrongly placed power socket. Given a choice I would look elsewhere next time in NYC.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, LaQuinta, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.