We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Although not in Manhattan this hotel was the perfect place for us for our trip to New York. Just 15 minutes from Times Square by subway. Good neighbourhood, friendly staff, clean rooms with free internet for everyone, breakfast a little bit sober but ok and otherwise Pete's Grill (or McDonalds) is just around the corner. In Manhattan a hotel like this would cost you double the money so I can recommend this hotel to everyone !

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side of the hotel, bacause the Subway (7) train rides very close by and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    262
    133
    50
    45
See reviews for
177
200
41
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are really in a budget stay there. Not recommended for senior citizens. No internet on fifth floor. Had to go to the lobby to check emails. Very inconvenient.

Few blocks from subway station. Bank of America 6 blocks away. Mcdonalds across the street.

Subway takes you quite fast to Manhattan. $2.5 per person, one way trip.

The guy on the front desk suggested that I should remove my GPS from the minivan I rented. So you can expect a non friendly neighboorhood. I did walked at night with my kids with no problem.

Room Tip: No internet on fifth floor. Quiet floor though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel gets 4 stars (well I guess technically 4 circles) for its location and value for the money. The subway, which will take you to grand central, bryant park, and times square in 15-20 minutes, is 2 blocks from the hotel. You can see the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building when you're walking back to the hotel from the subway. There are also a bunch of restaurants nearby, a CVS, and the area is very safe. I felt confident and secure as a petite woman walking back from the subway at night. Even though the hotel is by the elevated subway tracks, I didn't notice much train noise or street noise. For a price that's lower than anything you'll find in Manhattan, you get a clean room with a refrigerator, that's a decent size in a quiet location.

The negatives: the wifi was a little slow, especially at night. There was a mediocre selection at breakfast. Both of these amenities were free, and they definitely sufficed, so I can't really complain too much. There was also an awkward setup in the lobby. You will have to drag your luggage up some stairs to get to the elevator. The A/C unit in the room was pretty loud. Luckily I didn't have to use it too often during my trip.

The positives definitely outweighed the negatives. This hotel is good for people who are looking for a no frills hotel that will provide you with a clean and safe place to stay while you're exploring New York, and it won't completely empty out your wallet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUGLASSVILLE
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

not the worst but close! the first problem with this place is the doors slam shut, hard. everytime someone leaves they slam enough to shake the walls!when i brought it to the attention of the front desk they look at you like you are crazy?.......the floors are quite dirty that my daughters were disgusted to walk on the floor with their slippers! the breakfast was low quality.when i asked the guy for orange juice he said the sunny delite was O.J.? the cereal was stale....next time i will spend more and feel more comfortable !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced hotel with good sized clean rooms & friendly staff. Our room had a large TV and refridgerator.

The location is quiet and next to the No. 7 (Local) subway - use either 33rd Street or 40th Street. There is a shop in the garage next door & a diner and takeaway close by.

We will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place did have in its favor the price, a good continental breakfast and are very close to a Subway stop. And those are about the only good things I can say about the place.
We are still waiting on an extra pillow since they went with a mini version of a pillow. We calling to make the reservation and requesting a roll away cot, calling to confirm the reservation we requested a roll away cot, called day of the reservation to say we’d check in late we requested a roll away cot; when we checked in we did not get a roll away cot. The operators/staff will talk to each other in a foreign language right in front of you, when they both speak English.
Over all, I would never recommend this place to anyone. I’d suggest finding another motel.

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and it was a great choice. Just two blocks from the "7" subway, 15 minutes ride to Manhattan/Times Square. The room was nice, had a good sleep with almost no street noise. Breakfast was good, the wi-fi connection was also good, and the staff is very polite and helpful. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.