We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good & reasonable city hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly good & reasonable city hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Location is good and close to subway. Staff are polite & helpful. Room was acceptable standard, clean and quiet on 4th floor. Breakfast was perfectly adequate although not always enough seats. Free wifi was useful. Only criticism was the rubbish on tv but I guess that was not the fault of the hotel. Maybe I was lucky but I really don't have any complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    242
    124
    46
    43
See reviews for
172
190
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volta Redonda, RJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Yes, I'm young and I have no money. The fact is this hotel is just 15 minutes away from Manhattan by train, at half of the price of a Manhattan one. As a young traveller, I like to explore too. Just loved the freedom to explore Queens also.

The only 2 cons of this hotel are the worst wi-fi connection i've ever got in a hotel and the very very poor breakfast.

But I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This "hotel" was saved a one star review because as far as I can see, there were no hookers, no drug dealers, and it wasn't overwhelmingly dirty. However, the place did feature very uncomfortable beds, substandard TV offerings, a shower that not only seemed next to impossible to use, but also leaked from the ceiling. I know its NYC, but this is Queens, and the place is $190 a night. The breakfast the next day was putrid and made me feel sick to my stomach. It is conveniently located on the MTA though.

Room Tip: check to see if your shower's ceiling leaks, not pleasant to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I came on a trip to New York for two days, i checked in came in my room and everything seemed pretty nice.
Not what i expected but it was okay. I came to the bathroom and noticed there was hair all around the sink!! Arent they
Soppoused to clean right after another guest leaves? That overall left me wondering about how clean my room was. In the morning i tried to shower but realised my shower didnt really work. I then came down to have breakfast and expected to see a variety of foods,
Souch as yogurt, fruit, waffle
Makers, etc. but I was wrong, I
Only found cereal, a coffe maker, bread, eggs and hashbrowns. I did find milk, apple juice, and what seemed to
be orange juice was actually some sort of artificial kool-aid. Overall the staff seems like they care about their guests. The location is alright with the subway right across the street. Ive stayed in many La Quinta Inns (las vegas, grandjunction) and those were exedingly outstanding, but this is one where I will not be coming back. Needless to say, I do not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We chose it for the location as it is 5 minutes away from 2 subway stations on the 7 local line and 15-20 minutes ride to Times Square. The local area is safe to walk around at night and has grocery stores, restaurants, banks and pharmacies within walking distance to the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. We were able to store our luggage after checking out and the towncar service to JFK airport cost $45. The breakfast that the hotel offers has always been the low point. It was much better going to Petes diner 2 blocks away for breakfast or buying tea/coffee from the Mcdonalds bext door.
Would possibly stay here again but only for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A block from 2 different subway stops (7 train), this hotel is the best value in NYC. Free parking (get their early), free breakfast (good coffee, donuts and bananas, skip the rest). Polite front desk staff, seems to be family owned (Indian), clean rooms, clean lobby, very nice. Get familiar with the stairs as the 5 floors share one slow elevator. There is a gym (small) and a business office/closet. Try to find a hotel with these amenities minutes away (via subway) to Times square for under $150 a night, you won't.
*Also, it's close to a few good restaurants (Chinese, Italian, Japanese) as well as McD's and a block from a CVS and Dunkin Donuts.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street/raised subway. Also, make sure you ask for a parking pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Oh boy, not up to the typical LQ standard. We have this room that is best described as lower level. Our window is about 6 feet up and we see the ankles of people walking on the street. Tub with shower but shower doesn't work, bath only. This lower level room gets lot's of street noise so don't expect a quiet nights sleep. I woke up to f-bombs coming from the street. We didn't know what we didn't know, with that said, we now do know what we didn't know and we know we won't visit this place again. I rated as 2 star, it could be worse. Staff is nice, room is clean and smells very nice.
I do realize that it is a price budget property, I'd have preferred to pay a little more for an upgraded property.
Not all is bad, the location is great. 2 blocks from subway station and a very well lit and safe street. Adjacent to McDonalds which is nice for a quick bite and popular with my child. % minutes via subway to Manhattan and just a 20 cab fare to LaGardia (less than 10 minutes).

Room Tip: ask for a room on floors 2 through 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.