We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four letter word - dive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“four letter word - dive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Oh boy, not up to the typical LQ standard. We have this room that is best described as lower level. Our window is about 6 feet up and we see the ankles of people walking on the street. Tub with shower but shower doesn't work, bath only. This lower level room gets lot's of street noise so don't expect a quiet nights sleep. I woke up to f-bombs coming from the street. We didn't know what we didn't know, with that said, we now do know what we didn't know and we know we won't visit this place again. I rated as 2 star, it could be worse. Staff is nice, room is clean and smells very nice.
I do realize that it is a price budget property, I'd have preferred to pay a little more for an upgraded property.
Not all is bad, the location is great. 2 blocks from subway station and a very well lit and safe street. Adjacent to McDonalds which is nice for a quick bite and popular with my child. % minutes via subway to Manhattan and just a 20 cab fare to LaGardia (less than 10 minutes).

Room Tip: ask for a room on floors 2 through 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    316
    134
    54
    43
See reviews for
170
190
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for four nights on a friends recommendation. The location is great, and the price is ok. Breakfast is not as good as we expected. The fridge was so noisy we had to unplug it. The bath exhaust fan didn't work. We asked for more towels and the man was rude. The paint in bath was peeling and moldy. My daughter was grossed out by hair in the bath. The sheets were actually a foot too short. The wifi connection was entirely inadequate. We would not stay there again

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Goods: subway purple line is close. Good view of Manhattan Skyline. Good price. 24 hour front desk.

Needs work: had to dry myself off with a hand towel because there were no bath towels. Breakfast doesn't have much. Maid did not bother to make the beds. Have to get our roomkeys re-coded every night because they don't work. Beds are small and lumpy. Bed sheets are stained and old. Pillows are very small!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Rooms are okay. The location is decent. The service is a bit lacking. It started with not being able to get towels in the rooms. It took a while but we eventually got that taken care of. During breakfast, they are receiving deliveries but they leave the door wide open while several guests freeze in the dining area. Additionally, the toaster is plugged into a cheap power strip with a low amp circuit protector that will not handle the machine. It constantly trips and the guests can't figure out how to make it work. It was pointed out to the attendant and he just shrugged. The breakfast area was busy but the attendant didn't try very hard to keep it clean and stocked. Quote disappointed in the service. Staying 3 more nights so we can see if it improves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my family. The price was great for NYC and it was so close to the city. While planning our trip, my primary concerns were safety, cleanliness, location and value. I spent days reseraching the reviews on TripAdvisor and other websites, as well as the neighborhood in general. I brought along with me household cleaners and my own sheets, just in case. Here's my opinion:

Safety: The neighborhood felt very safe. There were some nights where we returned after midnight and still felt like it was okay to the hotel from the subway station. The hotel seemed to be filled with other visitors just like us.

Hotel/Cleanliness: Everything was very clean. I did not even use my own sheets. The bathroom was clean and newer looking. I did notice that some people talked about the rooms near the train being loud. We are NOT light sleepers but we were in one of these rooms and did not hear a sound.

Transportation/Parking: If you want to grab a parking spot, get there early. We found a spot as soon as we arrived but we got there on a Sunday around 11am when alot of people were checking out. As far as transportation into the city, we purchased 7-day metro cards at the 40th Street Station for $31.00 ($1 for the card $30 for unlimited rides)

Breakfast: The free breakfast saved us a little bit of money and it was nice to have but we could not eat it every day. There were bagels, english muffins, toast, donuts, cereal and microwaved eggs and sausage. There is also jelly, butter, cream cheese, coffee, hot cocoa and juice.

Area: There is a 24-hour McDonalds directly next to the hotel. The lobby and drive-thru are both open all night long. We ate at Pete's Diner; the food was amazing and the portions were huge. There is a White Castle just past the subway station.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So we only stayed here one night due to being rewards customers and the location and easy access to Times Square, but I was completely disappointed. I dont think this was up to LQ standards. The room was tiny, cold, horrible mattress (seemed broken). When we checked in we were given a room, opened it only to find someone else's luggage. SCARY. All I could think was what if they give someone a key to my room. The women behind the counter was helpful in finding right train to take to get to 911 memorial, but other than that cold greetings. No elevator to ground level, and you either have to carry luggage to 2nd level to get it to elevator then to room or have employees assist with luggage lift, which they seemed put out if you asked. Don't think this room was worth $193.

Only pro is location to very convenient train 7 to Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.