We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some work.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Could use some work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Goods: subway purple line is close. Good view of Manhattan Skyline. Good price. 24 hour front desk.

Needs work: had to dry myself off with a hand towel because there were no bath towels. Breakfast doesn't have much. Maid did not bother to make the beds. Have to get our roomkeys re-coded every night because they don't work. Beds are small and lumpy. Bed sheets are stained and old. Pillows are very small!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    250
    127
    49
    43
See reviews for
174
194
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Rooms are okay. The location is decent. The service is a bit lacking. It started with not being able to get towels in the rooms. It took a while but we eventually got that taken care of. During breakfast, they are receiving deliveries but they leave the door wide open while several guests freeze in the dining area. Additionally, the toaster is plugged into a cheap power strip with a low amp circuit protector that will not handle the machine. It constantly trips and the guests can't figure out how to make it work. It was pointed out to the attendant and he just shrugged. The breakfast area was busy but the attendant didn't try very hard to keep it clean and stocked. Quote disappointed in the service. Staying 3 more nights so we can see if it improves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my family. The price was great for NYC and it was so close to the city. While planning our trip, my primary concerns were safety, cleanliness, location and value. I spent days reseraching the reviews on TripAdvisor and other websites, as well as the neighborhood in general. I brought along with me household cleaners and my own sheets, just in case. Here's my opinion:

Safety: The neighborhood felt very safe. There were some nights where we returned after midnight and still felt like it was okay to the hotel from the subway station. The hotel seemed to be filled with other visitors just like us.

Hotel/Cleanliness: Everything was very clean. I did not even use my own sheets. The bathroom was clean and newer looking. I did notice that some people talked about the rooms near the train being loud. We are NOT light sleepers but we were in one of these rooms and did not hear a sound.

Transportation/Parking: If you want to grab a parking spot, get there early. We found a spot as soon as we arrived but we got there on a Sunday around 11am when alot of people were checking out. As far as transportation into the city, we purchased 7-day metro cards at the 40th Street Station for $31.00 ($1 for the card $30 for unlimited rides)

Breakfast: The free breakfast saved us a little bit of money and it was nice to have but we could not eat it every day. There were bagels, english muffins, toast, donuts, cereal and microwaved eggs and sausage. There is also jelly, butter, cream cheese, coffee, hot cocoa and juice.

Area: There is a 24-hour McDonalds directly next to the hotel. The lobby and drive-thru are both open all night long. We ate at Pete's Diner; the food was amazing and the portions were huge. There is a White Castle just past the subway station.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So we only stayed here one night due to being rewards customers and the location and easy access to Times Square, but I was completely disappointed. I dont think this was up to LQ standards. The room was tiny, cold, horrible mattress (seemed broken). When we checked in we were given a room, opened it only to find someone else's luggage. SCARY. All I could think was what if they give someone a key to my room. The women behind the counter was helpful in finding right train to take to get to 911 memorial, but other than that cold greetings. No elevator to ground level, and you either have to carry luggage to 2nd level to get it to elevator then to room or have employees assist with luggage lift, which they seemed put out if you asked. Don't think this room was worth $193.

Only pro is location to very convenient train 7 to Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here during my 5 nights visit to NYC, and was surprised how good the hotel really was. Of course the hotel is located in Queens (20-30 mins from Times Square), but if you are travelling on a budget you can't afford a hotel like this to the same price on Manhattan. The rooms were good, and we were upgraded because our heater did not work. There is a Subway station around 100 meters from the hotel and also a bus stop just outside. The breakfast was primitive, but there was a lot of restaurants in the area. I will absolutely book this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jerome, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

La Quinta Hotel, Queens , New York City: from March 2 to 5, 2013

Our last stay in New York brought us to this hotel. It is located in Queens and is about 3 blocks down from the nearest elevated subway station (40th Street – Lowery Street) which is served by the 7 train. The 7 provides direct service to Manhattan to one of 2 stations – 42nd Street-Grand Central and 42nd-Times Square. From there you can catch other subways or buses or walk to get to the destinations you choose.

The hotel itself is located on Queens Boulevard. If you have a room facing Queens Blvd, it can get very noisy, especially during heavy traffic times. Our room (525) was almost at subway level, giving us a clear view of any train that passed by. That of course, meant we could hear the trains as they travelled to and from Manhattan. Keeping that in mind, it is probably best to keep the window closed all the time so you won’t hear traffic noise from cars, trucks and buses and their assorted horns, and the rumblings of subway trains. Request a room on the back to avoid all the traffic and subway noise if you’re a light sleeper.

There are, however, 2 important points to note about our room. We had Room 525. The window did not close well, was not properly installed or was not properly insulated. At night it became rather cold in that room, so we had to boost the thermostat to 72°F (much too hot for me) and then the room got too hot. There was no middle. The other point is the walls. They are very thin so you hear every noise from the rooms adjoining yours. A blasting TV or a fight at 2 am is not welcome.

That said, the room is rather well appointed having 2 queen-sized beds, a TV with remote, a telephone, 3 lamps, a desk and chair, and a mini-bar (empty). It has a full bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower. The amenities (soap, skin creme, shampoo) are replenished daily. We had our towels changed every day, and it seemed that the bed-sheets were also changed daily. It was a clean room in a clean hotel and I was quiet satisfied with my stay there. The bed was comfortable, and was welcome after spending all day walking in, and taking subways, around Manhattan.

Breakfast is included in the cost of your room. It is served buffet-style from 6 am to 10 am in the area on the first floor. Although the eating area is rather small, we were able to get tables each morning. Breakfast includes doughnuts, bagels, English muffins, breads, with creme cheese and jams, cereals and juices (apple and orange) along with milk and chocolate milk, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. The hot breakfast is limited to egg patties and sausage, neither of which I cared for due to their lack of taste.

If you drive to NY, be aware that parking space is limited at the hotel, but it is free. It is literally “first come, first served” . If you can, leave the car at the hotel and take the subway to get where you want to go. We were always Manhattan-bound, so taking the subway was the obvious and most sensible choice.

I cannot rave about this hotel or any other I’ve stayed at in New York, but I would return to La Quinta. It served its function well, being a place to store our things, shower and sleep. The staff were pleasant, friendly and very helpful. After all, you are in New York and you are there to see and enjoy the city and visit its attractions. You don’t spend your time in your hotel room staring at its four walls.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy - ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;