We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel not far from Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Queens New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Saint Jerome, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel not far from Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

La Quinta Hotel, Queens , New York City: from March 2 to 5, 2013

Our last stay in New York brought us to this hotel. It is located in Queens and is about 3 blocks down from the nearest elevated subway station (40th Street – Lowery Street) which is served by the 7 train. The 7 provides direct service to Manhattan to one of 2 stations – 42nd Street-Grand Central and 42nd-Times Square. From there you can catch other subways or buses or walk to get to the destinations you choose.

The hotel itself is located on Queens Boulevard. If you have a room facing Queens Blvd, it can get very noisy, especially during heavy traffic times. Our room (525) was almost at subway level, giving us a clear view of any train that passed by. That of course, meant we could hear the trains as they travelled to and from Manhattan. Keeping that in mind, it is probably best to keep the window closed all the time so you won’t hear traffic noise from cars, trucks and buses and their assorted horns, and the rumblings of subway trains. Request a room on the back to avoid all the traffic and subway noise if you’re a light sleeper.

There are, however, 2 important points to note about our room. We had Room 525. The window did not close well, was not properly installed or was not properly insulated. At night it became rather cold in that room, so we had to boost the thermostat to 72°F (much too hot for me) and then the room got too hot. There was no middle. The other point is the walls. They are very thin so you hear every noise from the rooms adjoining yours. A blasting TV or a fight at 2 am is not welcome.

That said, the room is rather well appointed having 2 queen-sized beds, a TV with remote, a telephone, 3 lamps, a desk and chair, and a mini-bar (empty). It has a full bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower. The amenities (soap, skin creme, shampoo) are replenished daily. We had our towels changed every day, and it seemed that the bed-sheets were also changed daily. It was a clean room in a clean hotel and I was quiet satisfied with my stay there. The bed was comfortable, and was welcome after spending all day walking in, and taking subways, around Manhattan.

Breakfast is included in the cost of your room. It is served buffet-style from 6 am to 10 am in the area on the first floor. Although the eating area is rather small, we were able to get tables each morning. Breakfast includes doughnuts, bagels, English muffins, breads, with creme cheese and jams, cereals and juices (apple and orange) along with milk and chocolate milk, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. The hot breakfast is limited to egg patties and sausage, neither of which I cared for due to their lack of taste.

If you drive to NY, be aware that parking space is limited at the hotel, but it is free. It is literally “first come, first served” . If you can, leave the car at the hotel and take the subway to get where you want to go. We were always Manhattan-bound, so taking the subway was the obvious and most sensible choice.

I cannot rave about this hotel or any other I’ve stayed at in New York, but I would return to La Quinta. It served its function well, being a place to store our things, shower and sleep. The staff were pleasant, friendly and very helpful. After all, you are in New York and you are there to see and enjoy the city and visit its attractions. You don’t spend your time in your hotel room staring at its four walls.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy - ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    241
    124
    46
    43
See reviews for
172
190
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at La Quinta for 3 nights and we had booked 2 rooms since we were travelling with friends who have 3 kids.
The hotel is conveniently located about 3 blocks from the subway station at 40th and Lowery St.
There is a Mc Donalds next door and many little place where you can eat decently for less than in Manhattan.
The personnal of the hotel is very helpful and friendly and the plus was (at the beginning) the free parking.
When we arrived we were assigned adjoining rooms without asking. There are no communicating rooms but I thought it was nice that even without asking they had put us together.
The rooms are clean, rather large for NYC since normally we hardly have enough place to go around the bed. The bathroom seemed to have been redone recently and since we were at the front of the hotel, the noise level wasn't too bad.
I do recommend though if you can to ask for a room that gives inside and not on the street, because of the rumble of the subway trains.
There is a breakfast offered with choice of breads, doughnuts, cream cheese, jam, egg patties, and sausages. Regular beverages like tea, coffee, milk and "tang type" orange juice.

The only drawback is that the "No smoking" policy didn't seem to be enforced too strongly. Mind you, the staff, cannot go too strong on the customers, and even after complaining, there were still people smoking in their rooms for the 3 nights we stayed there.

I will go back to this hotel when in NYC.

See the pictures for a better idea of the rooms.

Going to Manhattan is easy via the Train # 7 3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that give to the inside instead of the street because if you are in front the subway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and don't really have any complaints except for the poor breakfast although I wasn't suprised. Good rates and overall a good stay. Few minutes walk to subway into the city, has a great diner 2 blocks away and a lot of various business etc close by on queens blvd.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very reasonable rates, clean, easy access from the expressway and a quick train ride into NYC. Near the middle of Queens, close to Jackson Heights & Woodside. Walking distance to the train and some excellent and reasonably priced restaurants. I will stay here again. You can't beat this place if you are looking for close, cheap, safe, and decent accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Positive Facts:
-Walk for 5~7mins and arrive at Line 7 33rd St Station
-Ride Subway from 33rd St Station and arrive in Manhattan in about 15~20 mins
-Quite a few restaurants, pharmacies, local grocery shops within walking distance

Negative Facts:
-Parking space is limited (can park no more than 20 cars) and no reservation is available. Meaning if you arrive on an not so lucky day, you will have to find your own parking somewhere else, where most parking lots are metered during the day.
-Broken lamp, radio and TV remote in the room.
-Slow and tiny elevator
-Stayed for 4 nights with a group of 4, had to request for 2 extra sets of towels every single night. I asked the reception: 'We are missing 2 sets of towels every day, can you do something?'. The answer is: 'Don't worry Sir, you just have to give us a call and we will bring them to you'.
-Tiny breakfast room. Very limited breakfast choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at the La Quinta, the first time being back in 2009. I decided to book a room here primarily because of its location and secondly because I was very happy with my stay the first time round. This year, my stay here was fairly disappointing. We stayed here for 5 nights and the room we were given was really small. (This, of course, is to be expected in New York; however, the first time I stayed here we had a really spacious room and private bathroom and I was kind of hoping we would get the same kind of treatment.)

The furniture was full of dust and in the 5 days that we were there no one bothered to clean it. You could see the dust piling up on the TV screen. Having said this, towels and toiletries were at least changed on a daily basis. The hair dryer did not work and the mini fridge was very noisy.

If you're a light sleeper you may want to get a room that does not overlook the street, as it can get quite busy and noisy at night.

Free wifi is available in the room and we had no difficulties connecting to it. Breakfast was ok - tea, coffee, orange juice, milk, hot chocolate, croissants, doughnuts, bread, bagels, butter, cheese spread and different types of cereal. We're not very fussy when it comes to breakfast so we had no complaints there. They always had different kinds of pastries, bread and bagels to choose from.

The lift is not easily accessible from ground floor where the reception is, you need to either go down one level or go up one level. This means that you need to carry your suitcase up a couple of steps before you can get to the lift. Having stayed there previously I was aware of this already so we had no complaints with regards to the lift either. It worked just fine.

They have two computers available in the lobby for guests to use free of charge. We tried to print our boarding passes but the printer wouldn't work. Fortunately, the people at the reception were very helpful and they let us use their own computers to print our passes. This was very much appreciated.

This hotel is a few minutes away from Line 7 which takes you directly to 42nd Street in Times Square. From 42nd street you can transfer easily to another metro line to reach any attraction/touristic area in the city.

AIRPORT TRANSFER: The hotel will provide you with a private taxi if you need a ride to the airport and the rate is a fixed rate of approximately 45 dollars. This is a very good price if you're used to taking a taxi to the airport rather than carrying your luggage onto the different underground trains.

I would recommend this hotel for its price and location, especially if you're just looking for a place to rest after a whole day out and about in NYC. However, if you suffer from dust allergies or you're really fussy about having a full English breakfast, then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not overlook the street because it can get busy and noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here over New Years 2013 for several nights. Did not expect too much and was not disappointed. Rooms were a little worn but basically clean, sheets and towels a little old. Bathroom basic but clean. I was expecting more room noise and was pleasantly surprised that we heard little through the walls from the rooms next door. The breakfast was standard for La Quintas - it gets you out the door with something in your stomach.

Very convenient location, quick walk to the Metro (use the 40th Street Station rather than 33rd Street). Loved the value, large portions and friendliness at Pete's Diner a block away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Queens New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Queens New York City

Address: 37-18 Queens Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Queens New York City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Queens New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Queens Hotel Long Island City
La Quinta Queens
La Quinta Long Island City
Long Island City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Queens New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.