We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value- cool hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Paper Factory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Paper Factory Hotel to your Saves list
The Paper Factory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-06 36th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Good value- cool hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for one night. We wanted a place relatively close to where our son lives in Astoria and this was a good location for us. We read the reviews in Trip Advisor first, of course, and it just sounded like a cool place- and it was. We were greeted warmly at the front desk although our room key didn’t work and I had to go back to the front desk and have it re-set or whatever. The hotel is a converted factory and has, for example, concrete floors with some rugs in certain places. There was a lobby on the 2nd floor although kind of a work in progress but the relaxation area on the 1st floor off the main lobby that was very nice. There is a coffee bar there [we had coffee and croissants for breakfast] and they’re working on a restaurant.
The room was neat- with antique or antique-looking furniture but with a modern bathroom and nice TV. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the view was, well, interesting [see my pictures]. The bed and bedding was very comfortable and we slept very well that night. I noticed that some other reviewers mentioned it was noisy and I could understand that given the concrete floors but it was quiet during our stay [on a Wednesday night]. The room did not have a closet but had hooks instead to hang your clothes.
The Paper Factory Hotel is only a few blocks away from The Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria which we toured the next day. The location was fine for us- especially during the day- but might be a little unsettling at night- take a taxi.
This hotel might not be for everyone but we really enjoyed our stay here and the price was reasonable at $159.00 plus taxes. I recommend you try it- and hope you found this review helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I want to thank you on behalf of the team at the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island city on your survey of the Hotel.
We take all of our guest comments and suggestions very serious and act upon them accordingly. As we know the guest is who we service and who we listen to at the end of the day and your feedback is extremely important for our business to thrive.

Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to servicing you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
43
61
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are in our mid-50's and wanted to stay someplace near to our son who just moved to NYC. This place looked great. And it would have been perfect, but we aren't used to, nor is it easy for us to sleep when it's noisy.

First, the hotel is terrific. Almost new, very eclectic (and sparse, but comfortable) decorating. It's actually in an old paper factory and the ceilings and floors are all concrete. Beds are small (doubles) but fine. Good maid service.

The toilet is in one room with the sink, while the shower is in a separate room. Convenient and nicely done.

The bedroom, even with two double beds in it, is a nice size - not small like many NYC hotel rooms.

The staff is wonderful and accommodating.

It's EASY, easy to get to anywhere in NYC from the hotel, because there are several subway stops close and somewhat close.

All that being said, the Paper Factory Hotel is really like an upscale hostel. There are kitchens on three of the floors, foozball and ping pong tables in several places, comfortable leather couches everywhere, a coffee bar in the lobby (which is very cool). For the price, it's an outstanding hotel.

Here are the two negatives, one more imagined than real.

The hotel is noisy, and there's no getting away from it. It's in an industrial area so starting early morning you hear a lot of trucks going by outside. You can hear water running anytime anyone in a room around you flushes or takes a shower (no tub). You can hear people talking vaguely in the room next to yours. The doors shut hard and because of all the concrete, they echo. You might be better off on the top floor (I believe 6) facing the side instead of the front street, but it's doubtful.

The second negative is that coming back to the hotel late at night, you either need to be on the subway that is half a block away or a couple of blocks away. There's another stop about 6 blocks away and the walk back was a little hair raising. There were a lot of dark areas, and no one else around. Nothing screamed that the neighborhood wasn't safe, but we just weren't comfortable.

If you take a taxi to and from the hotel, be prepared to have the exact address and work with them to get there - not one of our taxi drivers knew the hotel. (It's still too new, I think.)

I think for the right kind of traveler - couples who are younger (average age looked to be about late 20's or early to mid-30's, almost all couples, very few families), or sound sleepers, this hotel will be absolutely perfect for you!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I want to thank you on behalf of the team at the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island city on your survey of the Hotel.
We take all of our guest comments and suggestions very serious and act upon them accordingly. As we know the guest is who we service and who we listen to at the end of the day and your feedback is extremely important for our business to thrive.

Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to servicing you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our second stay at the Paper Factory Hotel. Our first room was an Executive King which was much nicer than the Standard Queen room we reserved just the other night. Of course, the King is much bigger but the shower and bathroom are also much nicer in the King. The Lobby is beautiful and once they get the bar finished it will be a great spot. I think they could do a little better on the amenities as well. They give you 3 towels for two adults. The room was cold when we got in there and you have to call the front desk to put the heat or air on. The TVs do not get many channels. On the plus side, parking right outside the hotel and the subway is across the street. The one thing that drove us crazy was that they spay a fabric refreshener on the sheets and pillowcases. The smell is a little overwhelming. We will definitely stay there again when we are in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Paper Factory Hotel. We appreciate your suggestions and comments and are working very hard to make this Hotel the best it can be.

We also want to let you know that we are in the process of completing with the cable company and as of now 65% f the hotel has premium cable with on demand, lots of movie channels and DVR capabilities.

Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Fantastic experience in this newly renovated hotel. The staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful especially as we went with 30 hormonal teenagers. Nothing was too much for them. The rooms are done to a high finish with a lovely walk in shower. Only criticism I couldn't stay their longer.
Thank you for making my first experience of NYC a great one. Me and my partner are planning our return next year and will definitely book :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Paper Factory Hotel. We appreciate your suggestions and comments and are working very hard to make this Hotel the best it can be.

Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall my experience with this hotel was good. The decor in the lobby and around the hotel is very cool and artistic. It's also inexpensive, close to Astoria and the staff were very friendly overall. There is usually plenty of street parking available as well.

The rooms are very basic but comfortable and clean. However, there is no sound proofing in the rooms. We stayed here with a group of friends and were told by security we were being too loud. We were not being crazy or loud, just talking in normal voices. You can hear EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I want to thank you on behalf of the team at the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island city on your survey of the Hotel.
We take all of our guest comments and suggestions very serious and act upon them accordingly. As we know the guest is who we service and who we listen to at the end of the day and your feedback is extremely important for our business to thrive.

We have come up with a way to insulate our rooms so that the acoustic is less noticeable. I also apologize on the way we handled the situation with the noise and I like with any comment will use it as a learning tool.

Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to servicing you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Paper Factory is very artistic in appearance but it lacks in comfort and amenities. There is no sound-proofing and because of the concrete and wood flooring, high ceilings, airy hallways, and poorly sealed doors, you can hear every sound outside your room. There was a late night party going on in a few rooms while we were there, and the partiers were slamming doors and running from room to room, and we had to notify the desk three times before it was resolved. We got very little sleep. The TV in the room got hardly any regular channels, but many strange ones. Also, the shower curtain fell off the hooks when I pulled it shut, and it was too short so water leaked onto the floor outside the stall. They also only gave us three towels and there wasn't even a cup to get water in. I feel like they skimped on amenities to save money overall. The decor is fabulous but I feel the owner should think as much of comfort and amenities as he does beauty, and maybe this could be a top-notch place. Another thing that might help is to have some older, more mature adults in charge or at least supervising the operations of the place. There didn't appear to be any supervision there at any time. Also, the hotel door is never locked and it might be worth putting in a lock to ensure the safety of the patrons. I did love the fact that the subway was right across the street, and the coffee in the lobby cafe was great.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you want any quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I want to thank you on behalf of the team at the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island city on your survey of the Hotel.

We take all of our guest comments and suggestions very serious and act upon them accordingly. As we know the guest is who we service and who we listen to at the end of the day and your feedback is extremely important for our business to thrive.

The acoustic in the rooms is our top priority and we have come up with a long term solution that will eliminate this challenge.


Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to servicing you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

First let me just say the hotel is ok. it's not your ordinary i must say, first there was NO ice bucket and no where on the floor to even get Ice, 2nd 2 of us stayed and there was only 1 wash cloth smh., 3rd when I ordered for ice it took them about 20 min. And 2 guys came to my room with 3 cups of ice. Besides that the room, Last but no least they had No Movie Channels just a bunch of foreign channels for what reason i don't know.. So here's my Honest review, it's up to you if you would like to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I want to thank you on behalf of the team at the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island city on your survey of the Hotel.

We take all of our guest comments and suggestions very serious and act upon them accordingly. As we know the guest is who we service and who we listen to at the end of the day and your feedback is extremely important for our business to thrive.

We have upgraded our system with regards to the cable and WIFI in the building and I'm sure the next time you visit you will rate us 5 stars.

Thank you again for your time and we are looking forward to servicing you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paper Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paper Factory Hotel

Address: 37-06 36th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paper Factory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paper Factory Hotel is a boutique hotel. A former paper factory that was transformed into a luxurious building manifesting a sophisticated style at great value. Only 10 minutes away from midtown Manhattan. Our event spaces cater to whatever you desire, from conference rooms to celebrations. We take pride in redefining the ultimate Guest Experience as you know it and making the Impossible-Possible! We look forward to Inspire and be Inspired! We Live, We Love, We Inspire, We Travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Paper Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paper Factory Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paper Factory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.