We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Upscale Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paper Factory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Paper Factory Hotel to your Saves list
The Paper Factory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-06 36th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Upscale Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just stayed there with my wife for three nights for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Everything about this hotel is impeccable.

It all starts with the service. The staff greeted us with smiles and did everything they possibly could to make us feel at home (when you walk into the hotel, you feel a very warm and home-style vibe). The digital concierge was so neat and very in with technology, but also very helpful and assisted us with finding tourist spots and restaurants.

The rooms are slightly bigger than typical NYC rooms. They are very well furnished, very stylish, modern and comfortable. The lobby is also very nice and warm. They had just opened recently and were still finishing the bar which looked like it will work very well with the concept of the hotel.

The location is very nice, just two subway stops from Manhattan.

I highly recommend this hotel, we will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Paper Factory Hotel Long Island City. I am glad you and your family enjoyed their stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    90
    43
    18
    20
See reviews for
81
99
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Johns, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I hate to excoriate a hotel, and someday maybe it will be all that it hopes to be and claims to be now, but I really have to question the ethics of the owners in opening this prematurely. Like many hotels in Long Island City it is in an industrial area, but usually that is alleviated by some kind of warm welcome. Not only was there no signage, but there were no exterior lights at all. My cab was a block away and we couldn't tell where it was- and the desk clerk couldn't help us. She did not know the area. Someone who may have been a security person stood some distance away and sort of glared at me as I struggled with my bag. The hotel was empty. The décor was industrial but unsoftened and incomplete and really eerie. Our room was barely furnished. No endtables, no lamps, no desk, no chair. A bed and a small dresser. No glasses. No literature. A poorly chosen bath vanity forces them to store towels in the closet. A large hardwood floor with no area rug. Pull-down shades but no final window treatments. No phone! No staff, at least none that knew anything. The next morning when we tried to escape, an earnest but clueless clerk tried to get someone on the phone to help her, to no avail. Meanwhile in a room off the lobby workmen assembled the furniture and accessories intended for the guestrooms.

This may someday be a cool hotel, but I will always question the intentions of the owners.
They refunded the fee for the night we stayed there, but still cost us a good chunk of a very short jaunt to NYC. It should also be noted that Paper Factory is positioning itself as the most expensive of the new Long Island City hotels.

Room Tip: During our stay rooms, halls, and public areas had the feel of the set of a horror movie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Paper Factory Hotel, Long Island City. We take all of your comments and suggestions very serious and act upon them accordingly. We have made great strides to completely transform the property into an oasis outside Manhattan and have been successful so far.
Some of your comments were indeed correct at that time, however, if you were to visit now, you would see a great change.

Thank you again and see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have spent one week here in this brand new hotel, the place was great, the subway is in the same block, the price is really good for being in NYC, great decoration, kind staff, confortable bedrooms...everything was perfect in the hotel.
Pasamos una semana en este hotel recién inaugurado, el sitio era genial, el metro estaba en la puerta, el precio es muy bueno para ser NYC, la decoración era genial, el personal muy amable, las habitaciones confortables...todo fue perfecto!

Room Tip: Por cortesía del hotel, pudimos probar dos tipos de habitación, si tu presupuesto te lo permite elig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron O, General Manager at The Paper Factory Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Jesus P,

Thank you very much for your review of the new Paper Factory Hotel Long Island City. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your next stay.

Thank you again and see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#7 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#9 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paper Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paper Factory Hotel

Address: 37-06 36th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paper Factory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paper Factory Hotel is a boutique hotel. A former paper factory that was transformed into a luxurious building manifesting a sophisticated style at great value. Only 10 minutes away from midtown Manhattan. Our event spaces cater to whatever you desire, from conference rooms to celebrations. We take pride in redefining the ultimate Guest Experience as you know it and making the Impossible-Possible! We look forward to Inspire and be Inspired! We Live, We Love, We Inspire, We Travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Paper Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paper Factory Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paper Factory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.