We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Italy in Queens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccola Venezia Restaurant

Piccola Venezia Restaurant
42-01 28th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11103
(718) 721-8470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 42nd Street
Transit: Subway: R train to Steinway St. N/W train to 30th Ave Bus: Q101 to 28th Ave and Steinway St.
Description: Piccola Venezia is a fine-dining Northern Italian restaurant specializing in fresh home-made pastas, the freshest seafood, top quality meats and game and world-class wines. Piccola Venezia Restaurant is a family owned and operated establishment celebrating 36 years of excellence. Opened in 1973 in the spirit of the traditional Italian trattoria, Piccola Venezia has blossomed into one of the most critically acclaimed restaurants in the NY metro area. In addition to our extensive menu we also accommodate any special culinary request; your culinary wish is our command. We also specialize in catering, both on-premise and off. For special events hosted here we can offer a private dining room and prix-fix menus to accommodate any budget. One of the finest meals in New York combined with a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and attentive and friendly service equals an unsurpassed dining experience. Buon Appetito.
Port Washington, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A taste of Italy in Queens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great variety on the menu with excellent service. Most of the dishes were well prepared and tasted great. Service is outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A gem in Astoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great food in a cozy and friendly place,from beginning to end. Suckling pig was crisp and tender. Home made pasta is wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Recommended to us by a New Yorker, we soon found that other people we met all knew about this little gem in Astoria. Near LaGuardia, so easy stop on way either to or from the airport. Attentive staff, family run....old world feeling. Food was simply delicious. Rack of lamb was best we ever had. There's a menu, but the waiter also tells you about all the specials...which includes just about any meal you would want. Definitely coming back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pricey but good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely Italian Restaurant with attentive waiter service. Parking is impossible in that area so go for the valet parking. In this day and age restaurants usually do not put out more than bread and butter when you are seated, but this restaurant brought out a plate of lite appetizers, along with the fresh bread, at no cost to the patron. I ordered the Veal Pizzaiolo and it was delicious. The spinach salad was also very tasty with bacon and mushrooms. My friend and I shared the salad and instead of servingt it on just one plate for us to share, the waiter had the salad served in two portions on two separate plates for us. My husband said that the Lobster Bisque soup was very good. He unfortunately thought that the Pollo Alla Capagnola, was overcooked and burnt, which was too bad because the sauce accompanying it was delicious. The other couple that we were with seemed to have enjoyed the fish dishes that they ordered. We ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio Cavat to go with the meal. The restaurant was a bit noisy but it was a Saturday night and people were out having a good time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We walked here for dinner from the Hotel based on the suggestion of the hotel staff, and were very pleasantly surprised. Everything about the experience, from the great service, to the atmosphere & the food was top notch. They brought out warm fresh bread & a plate of light appetizers (olives, prosciutto, cheeses, etc) which were all good. We started with the caprese salad as an appetizer, which featured some rather large tomatoes and some really great mozzarella.

As the waiter said, if you want something that is not on the menu, they'll make it fresh for us anyway. That being said, I ordered up some Shrimp Fra Diavolo, and could not have been happier with the results. We finished the meal with some tiramisu, and much like the rest of the meal, it was very impressive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccola Venezia Restaurant also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Piccola Venezia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccola Venezia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.