We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit France in Queens, NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tournesol

Tournesol
5012 Vernon Blvd, Ste B, Long Island City, NY 11101-5734
718-472-4355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional French Bistro from south west of France.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit France in Queens, NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visiting Tournesol is like stepping into France. I was in France last summer, and Tournesol is just like some of the most enjoyable restaurants I visited there. The food is delicious and the staff is friendly and fun. My brother and I chose an outside table, which was a great choice because Vernon Blvd. is pleasantly lively but quiet and calm by New York City standards. The hostess and waiters were all French and entirely charming. They brought us excellent French bread. We soon ordered a carafe of good French wine, a carrot ginger soup, a generous and interesting salad, then a bouillabaisse for my brother and an attractively presented fish dish for me. It was a perfect setting to relax and enjoy. The outside tables are close together at this informal restaurant, which was good because we struck up an enjoyable conversation with a neighbor. Meanwhile the inside dining area was filling up. The food was delicious and very well presented. The overall experience was very enjoyable and memorable.

The restaurant doesn't take credit cards, except for American Express. The wait staff must be used to the incredulous looks this news brings, because they can quickly point out the ATM only a few steps away.

Treat yourself. Dine at Tournesol and visit France without the airfare.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A piece of France in LIC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ended a three day trip to Long Island City with dinner here on a quiet Sunday evening recently. Liz, me wife, loves to use Trip Advisor when we travel for the best places to eat. And Tournesol did not fail her.

It was important to get an early table as the room filled up quickly. The atmosphere and the people watching made for an interesting experience.

We only had mains, the steak frites was cooked as ordered but the first couple of bites were a little tough. It came together after that and was a good choice. The frites are highly recommended. We also had the trout meunière and it was superb.

The wine choice of the staff was enjoyed by the two of us. As was the profiteroles at the end.

A keeper for the next visit to LIC.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paris in LIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been here many times and each is a memorable visit. The food is consistently delicious, authentically and carefully prepared. Monday to Wednesday they have a great prix-fixe that includes some of their specialties. Weekend brunch is excellent. Friendly staff always accommodating and knowledgeable, their food and wine recommendations have been excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Läufelfingen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Taste of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife & I recently moved to New York from Europe and Tournesol is the closest we've come to some of our favorite French/German restaurants.

Located just 1 block from the Vernon-Jackson 7 Train stop Tournesol is easily accessible from Manhattan, Brooklyn or further out in Queens.

If you're going on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday, be sure to take advantage of the $25.00 fixed menu. A 3 course meal for $25.00 is hard to beat.

This is a great place for anyone looking for a high quality dinner without paying Manhattan prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little piece of Paris in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was amazing! From the food to the stage to the atmosphere! It feels like you've been transported to a small cafe in Paris! The other patrons were speaking French, the waitstaff were speaking French, the food reminds me of a small cafe near the Tour Eiffel!
If you want a great place for French Food! This is the place! Most authentic I've had in my 12 years in NYC!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tournesol also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Tournesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tournesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.