We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Enrique

Casa Enrique
5-48 49th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
347-448-6040
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've been meaning to try this restaurant ever since reading the NY Times review a few months back. We came on a Sunday afternoon, and they were serving their brunch menu. This was not the standard eggs benedict - pancakes - omelets menu; rather, full of interesting Mexican dishes. I had the pozole, a dish not often found in NY Mexican restaurants, and it was absolutely delicious, perfect for a chilly afternoon. Authentic, flavorful, and very satisfying My dining partner had chicken enchiladas which he also enjoyed. They have a big menu of tequila and mescal based cocktails. Mine, mescal with pina (pineapple juice) was better than expected. Very refreshing, with a nice smoky flavor.

I look forward to going back and trying their full menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate at casa Enrique last night. Braised lamb shank was KILLER!! Dinner guests raved on skirt steak. Quaint atmosphier and great drink selection. Highly recommend a visit for LIC visit.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A welcome arrival to the busy LIC restaurant strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The overall white of the decor is blinding at first but makes up for the dim candle light later. The bar is very well stocked with many tequila brands. The mojito is fresh, not too sweet and rich in mint. So is the Patron margarita. Very nice and personable bar tender. Now, over to the meal: excellent. Someone in the kitchen (hello, chef Aguilar?!) knows what he's doing. The ceviche is outstanding, the fish comes charred on the outside but just so on the inside. The meat dishes are tasty, too. It's all good, unaltered Mexican food with a modern touch. The prices are just right for the quality of the food. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is small and quaint. The service is excellent and the food matches. The chef is very creative and neat. I have eaten here several times and they don't disappoint. Great drinks too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mediocre, tasteless, overhyped.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were a party of four during a Saturday dinner service. I would say that the atmosphere was casual, but it was more kind of like nobody working there cared. The interior was all white, but it looked dirty because there were no lights on. Sad looking string of stenciled paper tacked onto the wall was the only remotely Mexican looking thing in the restaurant. I can appreciate they wanted to showcase the food but none of the whites in the restaurant were really the same shade anyway, so it kind of looked they hired an interior design student from the community college in 2003 to do the interior in a week on a tight budget.

I ordered a drink and the bartender didn't close the mixer properly, splashing cocktail all over her hands and the counter - she still served it to me, which I found to be poor bar etiquette. Service was pitiful, you really got the sense that everyone working there hated their jobs or their clientele (or both), as nobody bothered to make any facial expressions or eye contact when you ordered food (it was the same with the other tables too). When we asked for the cheque I smiled and gestured to the hostess, who glanced at me and then without acknowledging anything told the waiter to bring us the cheque. Hard to gauge if she or anyone understood what you were saying to them since nobody nodded or said anything. I understand curt service like that in restaurants with a certain style, or at a busy place at the end of a long dinner service, but it felt distinctly sleepy and unhip here - only two other parties seated, and they had 4 staff on the floor - so really it couldn't have hurt them to pretend to be friendly.

We ordered their ceviche to start, which was fresh and delicious - really liked the corn chips they came with. We also ordered chicken and pork tacos, both of which were shockingly dry and flavourless, less desireable than the tacos I got from a truck for half the price later at Union Pool (that's how bad they were, that I needed to get my taco fix at a dive bar). Tasted like the filling had been sitting in a container and reheated in a microwave. Their enchiladas really had too much lime flavour but not much else- kind of like a wet wrap covered in green sauce that you would get on an airline.

It's like they ran out of spices.

Our bill came to around $110, we left feeling satiated but ripped off. Would not return or recommend anyone go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Enrique also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Casa Enrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Enrique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.