We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Enrique

Casa Enrique
5-48 49th Ave, Long Island City, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Martinsville, IN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate at casa Enrique last night. Braised lamb shank was KILLER!! Dinner guests raved on skirt steak. Quaint atmosphier and great drink selection. Highly recommend a visit for LIC visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A welcome arrival to the busy LIC restaurant strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The overall white of the decor is blinding at first but makes up for the dim candle light later. The bar is very well stocked with many tequila brands. The mojito is fresh, not too sweet and rich in mint. So is the Patron margarita. Very nice and personable bar tender. Now, over to the meal: excellent. Someone in the kitchen (hello, chef Aguilar?!) knows what he's doing. The ceviche is outstanding, the fish comes charred on the outside but just so on the inside. The meat dishes are tasty, too. It's all good, unaltered Mexican food with a modern touch. The prices are just right for the quality of the food. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is small and quaint. The service is excellent and the food matches. The chef is very creative and neat. I have eaten here several times and they don't disappoint. Great drinks too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Mediocre, tasteless, overhyped.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were a party of four during a Saturday dinner service. I would say that the atmosphere was casual, but it was more kind of like nobody working there cared. The interior was all white, but it looked dirty because there were no lights on. Sad looking string of stenciled paper tacked onto the wall was the only remotely Mexican looking thing in the restaurant. I can appreciate they wanted to showcase the food but none of the whites in the restaurant were really the same shade anyway, so it kind of looked they hired an interior design student from the community college in 2003 to do the interior in a week on a tight budget.

I ordered a drink and the bartender didn't close the mixer properly, splashing cocktail all over her hands and the counter - she still served it to me, which I found to be poor bar etiquette. Service was pitiful, you really got the sense that everyone working there hated their jobs or their clientele (or both), as nobody bothered to make any facial expressions or eye contact when you ordered food (it was the same with the other tables too). When we asked for the cheque I smiled and gestured to the hostess, who glanced at me and then without acknowledging anything told the waiter to bring us the cheque. Hard to gauge if she or anyone understood what you were saying to them since nobody nodded or said anything. I understand curt service like that in restaurants with a certain style, or at a busy place at the end of a long dinner service, but it felt distinctly sleepy and unhip here - only two other parties seated, and they had 4 staff on the floor - so really it couldn't have hurt them to pretend to be friendly.

We ordered their ceviche to start, which was fresh and delicious - really liked the corn chips they came with. We also ordered chicken and pork tacos, both of which were shockingly dry and flavourless, less desireable than the tacos I got from a truck for half the price later at Union Pool (that's how bad they were, that I needed to get my taco fix at a dive bar). Tasted like the filling had been sitting in a container and reheated in a microwave. Their enchiladas really had too much lime flavour but not much else- kind of like a wet wrap covered in green sauce that you would get on an airline.

It's like they ran out of spices.

Our bill came to around $110, we left feeling satiated but ripped off. Would not return or recommend anyone go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here several times, with both large groups and with only another person. Service always excellent, never rushed unless you specify you're in a hurry. Food is excellent, tried several things on the menu including the best lamb shank ever, delicious enchiladas, chorizo tacos, and fantastic desserts. Fennel ice cream is great, and I adored the goats milk caramel ice cream too. All food very very fresh and delicious. Even their coffee is good! If they don't make any major changes you won't be disappointed. Only complaint is last time I was there it was excessively dark. The food is beautiful and the decor is refreshing--I'd like to actually see both.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Enrique also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Casa Enrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Enrique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.