We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal cuisine & service in Long Island City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Famiglia

Mia Famiglia
44-29 Vernon BLVD, Wyndham Garden Hotel, Long Island City, NY 11101
+1 718-606-0043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal cuisine & service in Long Island City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've eaten at Mia Famiglia countless times, and this restaurant is always a highlight of my business trips to Long Island City. Larry, Laura and the whole group take great care of me and my associates each and every time we dine.The food is phenomenal. I have a hard time passing up the Cold Antipasto appetizer when I'm dining alone - it's incredible and the size could easily serve three people. For dinner, my favorites are the Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage, the Chicken Scarpriello and the Chicken Saltimbocca. And for dessert, you'll absolutely love Mama's Cheesecake.

If you're around Long Island City, I strongly recommend you have dinner at Mia Famiglia...it's exceptional cuisine and service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    40
    11
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Italian in LIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor of Mia Famiglia for several months if not over a year. I come to LIC for business and rarely do I not eat here. In fact, when I do not eat here, I always regret it because no other restaurant in the area compares. The food is awesome. The staff is friendly. And the owners are very accommodating. And if the dinner plates were not great enough, the home made cheesecake is put perfection. Try it once, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Um...Yes, please!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Here's the deal. If you want to be a trend setter, come here. This gem is tucked away in New York's up and coming neighborhood, Long Island City. Anyone who has followed Laura from her Arthur Avenue days, knows well enough that this lady knows her food. Fresh and made to order, Laura experiments with ingredients without straying away from her authentic Italian roots. She, Mama & Larry have created a warm and inviting atmosphere which makes you feel you are at a dinner party you do not want to leave.
This place is generating buzz. It's well deserved. Do yourselves a favor and get there. Your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

recently on the food network, but they don't let it get to their heads. Great food at reasonable prices.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great family restaurant run by a wonderful family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a strange visit to this restaurant. My wife and sister-in-law and I went to Mia Famiglia only to discover it was closed for the evening. A waiter outside the restaurant said they were closed due to a private party. He said we could come back at 8 PM when other guests would arrive. We returned about 9 PM only to be turned away because it was a "family & friends" party to preview the premier of Rocco DeSpirito's 'Restaurant Divided' on the Food Network in which Mia Famiglia was being featured. Well to make a long story short, they invited us in and we were made to feel like family. Larry, Laura and Momma Vecchio were gracious hosts. We sampled food that was featured in the show and it was delicious. We also got to meet Rocco. A gentleman indeed. We never got a chance to have dinner there due to other commitments but our trips to the bar for drinks with our families were unforgettable thanks to Robert the bartender. Three cheers to the Vecchios and their wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mia Famiglia also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Mia Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Famiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.