We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nesva Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nesva Hotel to your Saves list
Nesva Hotel
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was quite pleased with my stay at the Nesva for 4 days, in room 904 with a beautiful view of NYC as our backdrop.

It's less than 5 minutes from the 39th St subway and neighborhood is safe and is undergoing under a major facelift. A bunch of new trendy hotels and restaurants are opening up which is a good sign.

It's not the most comfortable room in the city, no chairs to sit, you either sit on the bed or the odd ottoman left under the desk. Lack of power outlets is an issue and water pressure in toilet is ridiculous. Rooms are tiny but that's expected of NYC.

But hey... it's not the Plaza and you're certainly not booking this hotel to stay in but rather visit the city. Then it's your perfect spot.

Service at front desk was prompt & professional. Breakfast does the job but don't expect anything else besides pastries, muffins, yogurt and bread.

Stree parking is free until Thursdays on one side and the other side is Friday. I had no problem leaving my car there and free of charge... quite a nice change compared to 40-50$ in the city!

Room Tip: 904 - beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    134
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
87
99
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toledo, oh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed 7/24-7/27, in town to visit our daughter who works in NYC and lives in Astoria/LIC. We had an 8th floor room with balcony facing Manhattan. [I requested in advance after reading reviews here]. The view was awesome!! Truly outstanding!! Based on earlier reviews, we knew there is no balcony furniture. So, since we drove in, we brought a couple of folding camp chairs with us. Really added to the balcony experience! We also brought a Keuerig and supplies with us, we're really glad we did that. Our room was very nice, but very small. Given that you don't spent much time in your room when in NYC, and given the balcony [with our chairs], it was fine. I've paid a LOT more for same-size rooms, without balconies, in Manhattan. The continental breakfast was OK, not great. Front desk service was OK, not great. The maid kept turning off the A/C in the room....didn't care for that. As everyone mentions, access to MTA trains is awesome. It wasn't a perfect stay, but I'm still giving it 5 stars and would recommend Nesva to anyone. Give it a try!!

Room Tip: If booking balcony room, request high-floor room that faces Manhattan. [Ask for room 803 - it worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here for one night for work. Like other reviewers have pointed out, this is a nicely decorated hotel, well situated, everything is new and in great shape and the staff was very nice.

The hotel has a few inexcusable flaws that keep it from being above-average:

- Room had a small built-in desk/counter that I tried to use for work, but there was no chair!, there was a little ottoman, tiny, way too low to be able to use as a chair.

- There were NO power outlets anywhere along the wall where the desk is, could not plug in, I guess they figured that since you cannot sit down you probably don't want to plug anything.

- I was upgraded to a balcony room in the 7th floor, the balcony was nice, but zero furniture, where do I sit?

- The continental breakfast was poor, more like what you'd expect from a roadside motel than from a trendy-looking NY hotel.

- The worst part was the condescending postcard indicating what you would be automatically charged depending on what you stole from the room: it listed things like pillows, waste basket, the TV remote, the actual TV, the iron, bath towels. That was downright tasteless and unnecessary. Condescending because it said something along the lines of "due to the popularity of our in-room amenities, we have decided to make them for sale..."

This place has what it takes to be GREAT. There is no reason not to be!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Front Office Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Hi Armando,

This was a difficult review for us to receive. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, these will be forwarded to the appropriate department. I can assure you, your comments are taken seriously and we appreciate your honest feedback.

Diana

Front Office Manager- New York Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Centrally located to Queens Plaza and Queensborough Plaza subway stations. Great base camp for getting into the city. My daughter and I felt safe there. We parked our car behind the Holiday Inn Express on the street and didn't have to pay for parking!!! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Front Office Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Nesva Hotel and you found it's location convenient to the areas you were visiting in Queens and Manhattan.

We hope that you enjoyed your visit with your daughter and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Diana

Front Office Manager- New York Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Recently stayed for 5 nights while visiting New York and the Hotel Nesva gave us everything we required.
It's location is superb with a 3 minute walk to the subway (traditional over road station but no noise from the trains in the hotel), then it's a 10 minute journey to Times Square et al. Get a $30 metro pass which is good for the subway and buses including the M60 out to La Guardia.
The hotel is well appointed and had all the facilities required, however the WiFi wasn't connecting.
Don't expect a banquet for breakfast but for 'a continental' it was fine. Hit the deli by the subway for a traditional NY breakfast.
The neighbourhood is fine, it's in an up and coming area with Queensborro Plaza nearby however there are limited facilities nearby the hotel with only a bar (Holiday Inn), Deli and convenience store which makes it nice and quiet but only a subway ride away from the action.
The staff were very curtious and nothing was too much trouble
I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone planning a trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Any room at the rear of the hotel gives views of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Front Office Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Hi Rob,

Thank you for your positive review on our new hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to point out Nesva Hotel's greatest assets, from our location to our gorgeous view of Manhattan.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon!

All the best,

Diana

Front Office Manager- New York Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dededo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

12 hours from Japan and we were so pleased to find a clean and fresh room waiting for us!
The hotel held our room even though our flight was four hours late; all the staff was friendly on the phone and in person.

The carpets, bed, sheets, and bathroom were very clean and tidy. The room was small but I think that's pretty typical for NYC; but we never felt cramped and our room had a great view of the Queensborough Bridge.

We stayed 12 days and my wife ate the complimentary breakfast almost every morning (I need more food than that so I went to a little diner called Zante's just down a block--highly recommend it too!)

The maid service was efficient and complete.

The only issue we had the entire stay was on our last night we asked for a 4 AM wake up call and didn't receive it; fortunately my wife also set the alarm on her phone. Other than that we had a terrific stay in a great hotel!

The hotel is set in a safe location, even at night; and is situated a block from a subway stop.

Highly recommended; and ask for room 604.

Room Tip: Room 604 has a great view of the Bridge and a 'full-size' hotel closet. It also has no other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Guest Relations Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of our hotel! We are happy you took to the time to share your experience with us for your stay here in Long Island City. We apologize for the inconvenience of you not receiving your scheduled wake up call and are glad to hear it did not ruin your flight plans. Please come back and visit us again next time you are vacationing here, we would love to have you back!

Best,
Nesva Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel located very close to subway station. Only 4stations from times sqware. Small rooms but very clean. Very kind management. They do what ever you ask for. A great value for your money. Highly recommended for visiting manhattan

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Guest Relations Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us. We are proud to know that we gave you an excellent experience in every category. We are also very happy you took the time to let others know about your stay with us and how much you enjoyed it. Please come back and visit us next time your are here, we would love to keep your opinion of us at the highest possible level.

Best
Nesva Hotel
Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#7 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#9 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesva Hotel

Address: 39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nesva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nesva Hotel is a brand new modern boutique hotel offering striking views of the legendary Manhattan skyline. Located in the Long Island City (LIC) section of New York City, one Subway stop from Midtown Manhattan. Close to area attractions and major city airports. A mere two blocks from N & Q Subway Lines and four blocks from E, M, R, & 7 Subway Lines. Only a short walk across the scenic Queensboro Bridge into the heart of posh 59th Street shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Nesva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesva Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.