We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to explore the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nesva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nesva Hotel to your Saves list
Nesva Hotel
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    79
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
46
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights coming in from La Guardia Airport was simple cost $25 with tip for a taxi from the airport. Whilst the surrounding area can initially make you question your safety you quickly come to realise you have nothing to worry about especially as the one of the 3 subway stations is only a 2 minute walk away. It also only takes 10 minutes to get into Manhattan which is a bonus and only 20mins the opposite way if you want to venture out to the Queens Mall. The hotel itself is great, nice rooms, well kept and staff who are always greeting you and ready to help with any extra requirements. Some other people have questioned the noise but we had no issues with noise coming from inside the hotel, it can be noisy from outside due to construction but we were up by 7:30 every morning so didn't really bother us. As hotels go in Manhattan the prices are quite high and I was able to get 5 nights with breakfast thrown in at a very good price for which I cannot fault. Breakfast was fine as vegetarians we were able to choose from all options breads, cereals, pastries, muffins, yoghurt, fruit, juices. The hotel should consider pro-actively topping these up every hour as many items do run out. Whilst the dining options are limited in the surrounding area there is a convenience store for basics. The room size was good and we were able to lay two suitcases flat on the floor with plenty space to walk around. My wife did point to the lack of a mirror other than the bathroom which can be one suggestion for improvement. I also felt the taxi service they offer does seem to be priced higher but I guess it saves you having to look for one yourself and they were prompt when ordered. I would love to stay here again and I would recommend this to everyone as a budget option whilst visiting New York City.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!!! Our neighborhood is safe and only a short walk to the Subway. Unfortunately, there is some construction of hotels nearby, from 9 to 5pm, that should be finished shortly. We are taking into account your mention of breakfast being replenished more often and another mirror in the room, these will be forwarded to the appropriate department. I can assure you, your comments are taken seriously and we appreciate your honest feedback.

Please come back and visit us soon!

All the best and safe travels,

Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

appearance, furnishings and service of hotel are very good, plus hotel is two blocks from the subway and each room has a functional balcony (very unusual). downside is hotel is VERY, VERY NOISY - you can hear doors locking and unlocking, elevator chimes even from other floors, construction and truck reversing chimes outside, and children being dropped off at school next door. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience during your stay at our hotel. Your comments are very important to us and will see to it that the issues are resolved. There is an elementary school around the block from us that operates on a regular 8:30 to 3:00pm weekly schedule. There also happens to be some construction going on in the neighborhood which operates on a weekly schedule from 9 to 5pm.

Once again, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please know that we take your satisfaction very seriously and hope that you will come back to give us another chance to change your mind on your next trip to NYC!

Thank you,

Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Since our son's family moved to Forest Hills we've tried to stay in Queens, when possible. There aren't that many good choices, so discovering the super inexpensive Nesva was a real break. There are several subway lines a short walk from this Long Island City hotel that whisk you into Manhattan or away from the city. The E express will get you to Midtown East in 2 stops. It's a small hotel with 4 rooms per floor, a big plus. The rooms are also small, but pretty. Ours had one of the best beds I've ever slept in. The staff knocks themselves to make sure you enjoy your stay. Don't be fooled by the rather rundown neighborhood. It's perfectly safe, and there's foot traffic. We especially enjoyed Dutch Kills the gastropub on the corner. The 'negatives' were: a nearly nonexistent lobby, no desk in room, iffy WiFi and a tendency for the room to overheat. We weren't there on business, so the first three didn't matter, and we solved the heat issue by turning off the blower at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Nesva Hotel and you found it's location convenient to the areas you were visiting in Queens and Manhattan. Thank you for your rave review on our plush pillowtop mattresses, they indeed are very comfortable!

We hope that you enjoyed your visit with your son and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


All the best,

Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My son and I stayed in a 2 bed room here Feb 14-17. The room was very small but we weren't about to hang around a hotel while visiting NYC! But it was so small we had to keep the bathroom door closed to have any room to move around. Also, no heat in the bathroom so it was freezing cold for taking showers but the water was hot and pressure good.

Basic breakfast of baked goods, bagels - OJ is Tang.

The location is on 39th st, 2 blocks up from a subway station that goes right into Manhattan and about a 10 minute walk from Queensborough Station where you can take an E train to the JFK air train. There is a deli on the corner for water and snacks. It is across from a Holiday Inn.
The larger rooms on higher floors have a view of Manhattan.

Do watch out if you get the room at the top of the stairs because the door opens practically on the first step rather than the landing.

Most of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. On Saturday night we got back around 5:30 and found our room had not been cleaned. When we told the clerk he shrugged and said the cleaning staff had left. I said there was a cart in the hallway. He never even looked at us. In a very arrogant way he called and spoke in Spanish which I understood, to find out what happened. When he hung up he didn't say anything!! So I asked if Rosita would be able to clean our room soon. He started going on about how he didn't get here until 3 and they had so many rooms to clean today. I pointed out that we were not upset at all about the room, but his attitude was unacceptable. Another shrug, no eye contact. Also watched him check in a customer in the same arrogant way. We went up to see if they were done cleaning rather than deal with him again. No apology, no sorry for the inconvenience, nothing.

The next night we got home later and he was on duty again. We came dragging in all bundled up, carrying our MOMA bags, daybags, etc and asked for ice. He, in his rude tone, asked us if we had our bucket ! Yes, we dragged it all over Manhattan today.

I wouldn't let one bad employee keep me from staying here - I just wanted to vent!

Location is also very safe. Check it out!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your honest review. We are sincerely sorry for the experience you had with our Team member. Please know that we take your satisfaction very seriously and train all our staff to provide excellent customer service. In response to your review, we immediately did an internal investigation and conducted additional training with all staff to avoid these issues in the future.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts; we will work diligently to correct the issues mentioned and hope that you will come back to give us another chance to satisfy you 100%.

Thank you,

Shirley
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

No one was at the front desk when I checked in late—around 11ish. Took 10-15 minutes for someone to appear. Room was clean but floor was loaded with loud guests. It was an easy commute to midtown Manhattan. And while this property is new and clean, it will get old really fast because the quality of the furnishings and appointments are not top notch; stay now because it will get yucky fast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied as our guest. I have forwarded your comments to my Team to review as we take it very seriously when a guest expresses concerns regarding a bad experience and see to it that it does not happen again. We all hope you will give us another opportunity as our guest.

Wishing you all the best,

Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My friend and I decided to save the money and stay a little outside the city this trip and it was the best idea yet. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else. I have friends in Astoria, Manhattan, and Williamsburg and it was super convenient to travel between all of them. Only 2 blocks from the N! Hotel was nice, safe, clean, and modern. 2 girls walking solo pretty late most nights and never felt unsafe. We had 2 twin beds, a garden tub, fridge, safe, enormous balcony with a view of the city, free breakfast (never made it up that early), and free wifi. And all for under $100 a night. These amenities at anywhere near this price are unheard of in the city, and it's only a 15 minute train ride away. Also, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The ONLY downside is that there are not many late night dining options in the area. So if you are planning on laying low one night and staying nearby you might wanna make sure you eat before 9 or download the seamless app for delivery. Giving this hotel 5 stars regardless, I will def be staying returning!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are very excited to read that we exceeded your expectations and that your trip was successful. There are 3 new restaurants only a block away and soon there will be more! We also have plenty of menu's of nearby eateries that can deliver right to your room if you prefer to stay in. Some of the greatest things about Long Island City, Queens is the abundance of diverse cultures, amazing food and proximity to manhattan and brooklyn. Please come back soon!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nesva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesva Hotel

Address: 39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nesva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nesva Hotel is a brand new modern boutique hotel offering striking views of the legendary Manhattan skyline. Located in the Long Island City (LIC) section of New York City, one Subway stop from Midtown Manhattan. Close to area attractions and major city airports. A mere two blocks from N & Q Subway Lines and four blocks from E, M, R, & 7 Subway Lines. Only a short walk across the scenic Queensboro Bridge into the heart of posh 59th Street shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nesva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesva Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.