We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just half a night, but it was a great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nesva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nesva Hotel to your Saves list
Nesva Hotel
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just half a night, but it was a great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for with a group of friends after learning that we couldn't check in to our hotel early. It was perfectly located for us, as we were meeting with a large group in Long Island City. The surroundings are quiet at night -- not much going on -- which I liked. The room we got (two double beds) was small, but well appointed. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Front desk guy was righteous. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We invite you to come back soon and stay longer than half a night :) If you are looking for a special rate, please email us at info@nesvahotel.com or call us at +1-917-745-1000 and mention your previous stay. We look forward to having you again soon!

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
46
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a long overdue review but here it goes...So I came upon this little gem while planning a VERY last minute getaway to the city. The hotel we usually stay at in LIC was booked solid which worked out in our favor because Nesva's nightly rate and garage was cheaper. Although we showed up around 7:30pm, check in was simple and smooth. We took our luggage and necessities in and left the car and keys in the garage/uhaul rental center across the street. The room (801) was tight (this is New York after all) but gorgeous. After freshening up, we decided to go and explore the city.

The next morning, we had the free breakfast before checkout. The breakfast area was very tight with all the people there bit the food was adequate. After checking out, we loaded up the car and decided to explore the city more since we had until closing ( 5pm since it was a Sunday) to get the car out with no extra charge. We have fun going places we had been before and new places we had never seen and although we planned to be back to the car around 3pm it ended up coming to the last minute. We would have made it to the garage in time had the train come on time. It was about 10 minutes late so we did not get to the garage it about 5:10. After knocking to no avail and calling various numbers ( including the one of the back of the parking stub that we were told to call in case of emergency), nothing. After explaining to the guys at the front desk our situation, they gladly joined in to help. They said one of the guys that worked at the garage lived on the street and was usually outside although they did not know what building. After looking up and down the street and calling other numbers. They too could not locate him. Our only choice was to check back in but I explained to them that we didn't anticipate this cost and was financially limited. They checked us into another room (601) just as nice as our previous one and about $50 cheaper. I asked if they would still keep an eye out for the guy because we need some essentials from the car ( ie diapers, change of clothes) and they promised they would. Two hours later we got a call from the front desk that they had located the garage guy and that he was downstairs. The guy apologized for the situation and said he would have waited if we had called to let him know we were running late ( I tried several times but phone service is basically none existence underground in the subway). He said we could park the car overnight on the street directly in front of the hotel and he would only charge us $20 which was the rate for one day. We thanked him and agreed. All in all it was a great stay when with the unexpected additional cost... It could have been worst.

Ps: for those worried about the location. I feel LIC is a great neighborhood. It's not the prettiest but we have always felt safe there. In fact all three stays in LIC have been with initially our oldest son (7) and now the baby who is 15 months. Every trip we have felt comfortable walking about the neighborhood and to and from the train stations even in the wee hours of the night/ early morning. It's a glamorous and shiny but it's comfortable... This is New York City after all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in detail about your recent last minute stay with us. It's really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Nesva Hotel and hope you'll visit us again.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel on booking.com and was surprised of how this little hotel had everything we needed. Beautiful decor, comfortable beds and a great view of the skyline. We booked a king balcony room. The staff were great and answered all out questions and even allowed us to keep our bags checked on our last day so we can go into the city before leaving. There is free breakfast and a nice patio area to enjoy it. This hotel is 2 blocks from the 39th subway station and from there it only takes 10 minutes to reach Times Square. There is also a parking lot across the street at a very reasonable price and a drug store right next door. There are little dinners around the corner where you can grab a quick coffee and something to eat in case you miss the breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel and I will be booking it in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us during your most recent trip. It has been our pleasure to have you. We appreciate your time in commenting on your experience and highlighting our staff and the service we provide. Thank you for your kind words, if there is anything you personally need for your future booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@nesvahotel.com.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for our silver wedding in August for five nights. The staff were all very friendly & welcoming & the room was spotless & had a fantastic view of the Manhattan Skyline. Upon arrival, our room was adorned with two lovely swans on the bed & rose petals also covering the bed & around the bath & a bottle of champagne was there ready too. It really was so romantic! Breakfast was simple & on a help yourself basis & there was ample to choose from for our needs. Manhattan was easily accessible by subway which was just a few blocks from our hotel. We managed it with a weekly Metrocard. The neighbourhood is up & coming & in the process of being developed. I imagine that in the coming years, there will be a lot more on offer locally. So if you want to have more spending money & don't mind a short hop to the city, then this hotel is for you. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the top floor for your stay & you'll have an incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Nesva Hotel for such a wonderful celebration! We appreciate your recommendation to future guests. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and were able to provide the service you so much deserve.

We hope to welcome you back should your journeys bring you back to our busy city.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is not in Manhattan proper but it is just minutes away from it, very accessible to public transportation, maybe even more so than hotels in Manhattan proper. The place was clean and the atmosphere family oriented and the staff helpful and friendly, excellent value. The neighborhood it is located in is currently undergoing an upward change from an industrial area. I am aware that things seldom remain the same, everything changes but should I need to I would stay there again in a New York minute and I would have no reservations about recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Great value, if you are staying for a few days get a one week metrocard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are happy to hear that we were able to provide the service you expected and appreciate your precious time in commenting about Nesva Hotel. Thank you for your complements regarding our staff and service, for that is what we strive for each and every day.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Nesva after reading a recommendation in the Sunday Times.
Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Good comfortable rooms with all mod cons including wifi.
Breakfast was limited but more than adequate to set you up for the day.
Very convenient for travel into Manhattan via tube or bus.
Lots of pubs and eating houses one stop away on Broadway .
I will be staying again next time in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your time in sharing your experience and complimenting our friendly staff. We are truly glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Nesva Hotel and absolutely look forward to the opportunity in welcoming you back!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My 2 adult children, my Daughters boyfriend and I came into NYC for the Baseball All-Star Game in July. Hotels and parking are so expensive in the City that it made me shop around for something a little more reasonable outside of the city. I read favorable reviews on Nesva online so thought I would give it a shot. The choice was a HOME RUN! Every member of the staff was polite and helpful. The rooms were a touch small but very clean and comfortable. Neighborhood is quiet. The location is perfect. Very close to 2 subway stations and 2 great little family diners. I felt safe walking to and from the subway even after midnight. There is a guarded indoor parking garage directly across the street. Parking was $20 a day and the owner Frank was very helpful with directions and tips on things to do and see in NYC. This will be my choice for lodging on all my future trips to NYC. Thank you Nesva.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind remark "HOME RUN"! We are absolutely grateful for your patronage; moreover for your time in recommending us to future vacationers and warm regards to our staff for the service we provide.

We hope that Nesva Hotel will be your future choice and look forward to welcoming you back again!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nesva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesva Hotel

Address: 39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nesva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nesva Hotel is a brand new modern boutique hotel offering striking views of the legendary Manhattan skyline. Located in the Long Island City (LIC) section of New York City, one Subway stop from Midtown Manhattan. Close to area attractions and major city airports. A mere two blocks from N & Q Subway Lines and four blocks from E, M, R, & 7 Subway Lines. Only a short walk across the scenic Queensboro Bridge into the heart of posh 59th Street shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nesva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesva Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.