We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nesva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nesva Hotel to your Saves list
Nesva Hotel
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went to New York for a wedding and whilst the wedding was in Manhattan, hotels in Manhattan are relatively expensive. The reviews of the Nesva Hotel prompted me to book. We stayed for six nights and the hotel was small, very clean, with friendly helpful staff. Location wise, the surrounding area might not appear very upmarket, but the subway at 39th Ave was only 300 yards away and it was only three stops to Manhattan. A weekly ticket was only 31 dollars and proved invaluable as we went around Manhattan.

The self serve breakfast was available from 7 to 9 am and was quite good, with a variety of breads and cakes and fruit, and yoghurt. The enclosed patio was an attractive oasis to eat your breakfast. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms more than adequate. All in all an excellent base for tourists or indeed business visitors. Parking is available in the street outside and also covered parking is available across the street. Well done Nesva.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with a view of the Manhattan skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your valuable time in sharing your experience during your stay at Nesva Hotel. We are glad to learn that you were able to enjoy your time with us. Thank you for recommending us to future guests.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    83
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
53
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Service clearly exceeded expectations: no problem to store luggage and also printing of our broadway tickets was free. Nice clean rooms, area is fine, subway 2 blocks away to Central Park, Times square and all the way to Southtown and parking is free on the street (in front of building). No brainer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi John:

We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for accommodating your valuable time in sharing your experience at Nesva Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again very soon!


All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice new hotel with great service for people who are looking for something less expensive. Basic, modern and comfortable rooms. No restaurant, but nice employees. Really good location near the subway which will bring you to Time Square in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are happy to learn that you had a great visit. We appreciate your time in sharing your positive experience and highlighting our nice staff.

Please come back and visit us again!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel turned out to be a great place for my and my friend's needs; it's close to the subway, the room was pleasant, and the balcony in the second room we had offered a fabulous Manhattan view and was very lovely once they brought us chairs to use on it (something the hotel really should consider providing for all guests in general--the room had NO seating at all other than the beds until we requested the chairs). The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast could have benefited from real orange juice instead of the orange-flavored drink on offer; it felt conspicuously missing, and I think the extra expense would be worthwhile in terms of what it would add to guests' overall experience of the breakfast, which is otherwise simple but adequate. More places to hang towels in the bathroom would also have been useful. Overall, though, a good stay, and a hotel I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is highly recommended, provided one requests that they bring seating for it. Wi-Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at Nesva Hotel! We appreciate your time in sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to live up to all of your expectations; nonetheless, we are grateful for your valid and honest comments, for they provide us the opportunity to review and rectify, to ensure our commitment to 100% satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything was nice, except of wifi in our room (402). Friendly staff, clean new rooms. Breakfast not various, but enough. Subway in 3 blocks (E, F, Q, N). Reasonably price. Most of the rooms have a balcony, but there are no any chair or table. Rooms are quite small and space on balcony doesn't used unfortunatly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are very sorry to learn that we did not quite live up to your expectations, yet we are truly grateful for your bringing valid concerns to our attention. We were experiencing technical issues with our wifi during your stay. Please be assured that the issue has been resolved. Thank you for your honest comments as they help to improve our service.

Should we have the honor to welcome you back once again, please contact us directly so that we can make up for this past stay and promise you the experience you so much deserve.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The rooms are very nice. The pricing is awesome. I will definitely stay here again and have already started telling people about this lovely little place. This made my 1st trip to NYC very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are delighted to learn that your experience at Nesva Hotel was a positive one. Thank you so much for selecting and recommending us! We also appreciate your precious time in highlighting your experience and thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We hope to see you again really soon!

All the best,

Shirley Varela (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and the hotel is nice with, if you are lucky as we are, with a nice view to Manhattan.

The room is small, but clean and modern. Lot of pillows, we even had issue where to put them (we used just 2 and there were 6 of them) ;) The Wifi was flawwless. The breakfast was fine for this class of hotel. They didn't have high-protein stuff, but i didn't expect eggs and bacon anyways. If you want that, go to the bar at the 39th street metro station, the Greek guy there has it and it's great ;)

The neighborhood didn't feel safe. We were there on July 4th and we were returning from the city after 11pm. They were having their local fireworks there at the nearby street and were a bit loud there. It didn't feel safe so we approached the hotel from the other side. Not an issue of the hotel. The police car was usually parking there trough the day, but that night they weren't there. But that was only one experience. We didn't experience anything like that the other nights.

The staff - very friendly and helpful and caring. There was one exception, but it wasn't that terrible. The desk guy should have checked, what is more important, his upcoming cigarette break, or activating the keys for the guests, what he didn't do well. So i got to come back from 9th floor to sort it. A negligible thing, really.Just mentioning it, so you can have a picture, because the rest of our experience with the staff was really awesome.

Room Tip: Chose the 9th floor (top). It has a balcony with a back-view to Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us for 4 nights and further commenting positively regarding your experience with us at Nesva Hotel. We are extremely grateful for your honest comments about our staff and service. We understand your concerns about our neighborhood but please be assured it is very safe.

We will look forward to the opportunity in serving you again in the near future.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nesva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesva Hotel

Address: 39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nesva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nesva Hotel is a brand new modern boutique hotel offering striking views of the legendary Manhattan skyline. Located in the Long Island City (LIC) section of New York City, one Subway stop from Midtown Manhattan. Close to area attractions and major city airports. A mere two blocks from N & Q Subway Lines and four blocks from E, M, R, & 7 Subway Lines. Only a short walk across the scenic Queensboro Bridge into the heart of posh 59th Street shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Nesva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesva Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.