We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nesva Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nesva Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nesva Hotel
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The rooms are very nice. The pricing is awesome. I will definitely stay here again and have already started telling people about this lovely little place. This made my 1st trip to NYC very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are delighted to learn that your experience at Nesva Hotel was a positive one. Thank you so much for selecting and recommending us! We also appreciate your precious time in highlighting your experience and thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We hope to see you again really soon!

All the best,

Shirley Varela (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and the hotel is nice with, if you are lucky as we are, with a nice view to Manhattan.

The room is small, but clean and modern. Lot of pillows, we even had issue where to put them (we used just 2 and there were 6 of them) ;) The Wifi was flawwless. The breakfast was fine for this class of hotel. They didn't have high-protein stuff, but i didn't expect eggs and bacon anyways. If you want that, go to the bar at the 39th street metro station, the Greek guy there has it and it's great ;)

The neighborhood didn't feel safe. We were there on July 4th and we were returning from the city after 11pm. They were having their local fireworks there at the nearby street and were a bit loud there. It didn't feel safe so we approached the hotel from the other side. Not an issue of the hotel. The police car was usually parking there trough the day, but that night they weren't there. But that was only one experience. We didn't experience anything like that the other nights.

The staff - very friendly and helpful and caring. There was one exception, but it wasn't that terrible. The desk guy should have checked, what is more important, his upcoming cigarette break, or activating the keys for the guests, what he didn't do well. So i got to come back from 9th floor to sort it. A negligible thing, really.Just mentioning it, so you can have a picture, because the rest of our experience with the staff was really awesome.

Room Tip: Chose the 9th floor (top). It has a balcony with a back-view to Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us for 4 nights and further commenting positively regarding your experience with us at Nesva Hotel. We are extremely grateful for your honest comments about our staff and service. We understand your concerns about our neighborhood but please be assured it is very safe.

We will look forward to the opportunity in serving you again in the near future.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice clean hotel and excellent staff. Easy walk to subway and ride to New York. Great price! Neighborhood was quiet. Breakfast could have been a little better just muffins and coffee. No juice for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Nesva Hotel! We apologize for the selection at our complimentary breakfast and have listened and improved the variety offered. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and truly thank you for your patronage.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out if this hotel this morning. The Nesvas greatest asset are its staff - all of them were friendly, cheerful and helpful beyond the call of duty. In response to other reviews, we were in room 503 the room was spotless, we had a shower curtain! toiletries etc. The Internet connection was excellent. We missed a connecting flight in Amsterdam and were very late getting in (1.30 am) and there was no problem with that. The only negative thing I would say was that there wasn't a nice neighbourhood near the hotel but there was a convenience store across the road, the metro was 1 block away and great bars and restaurants 2 metro stops away. All in all a great location for a N Y visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, General Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at Nesva Hotel, we are so glad it has been a pleasant one. Your compliments towards our friendly staff are very motivating to continue offering their very best. We will be so happy to share your wonderful comments with our staff. Our hotel is located in Long Island City, an up and coming neighborhood, only a 10 minute ride into Manhattan, and restaurants are slowly popping up close to us. We hope you will be back soon.

All the best,

Tim Westwig
General Manager (tim@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Helpful and friendly staff. Its a new hotel, very clean with modern furniture and equipment. Although the rooms have tight space, beds are comfortable and well taken care off. Convenient for trains(subway) that serve Queens and Manhattan stops. Breakfast was not the greatest but if you don't care about a cup of coffee its a nice place to spend a night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks so much - we greatly appreciate your honest comments. We have listened and added items to our complimentary breakfast lineup. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you at Nesva Hotel in the near future.

All the best,

Shirley Varela (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked for 6 days and got out after 3 days. A new hotel that needs to get it's act together. Very small rooms, 1 small garbage can in the room. No dresser, no WIFI on our floor, no shower curtain. issues

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your honest comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we will be reviewing our process, rectify and retrain where necessary and implement procedures so that we may improve our service.

Please contact the hotel directly so that we can make up for this past stay and promise you the experience you so much deserve.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel took advantage of a bad situation and overcharged me and would not change my rate. I had reservation in a hotel across the street. Because of the hurricane my plane arrived late. AND WHEN i got to the hotel about 1oclock in the mornimg I was told my reservation was cancelled and they could not accomadate me as I wanted. It was pouring rain and my wife went across the street to the Nesva Hotel. They got us a nice room and we took it at about $234.00 a night for 7 nights. During our stay we discovered that peole were paying $169.97 I went on hotwire.com as suggested by the desk clerk and found it a little cheaper. The desk clerk advised that I wait til checkout and talk to Tim the manager at that time. I did and the manger said he could not change the rate as we did not book on line that we were walk ins. I am 74 years old and my wife 62. in the pouring rain at 1 oclock in the morning so they charged me a high rate as where could I go with three heavy suitcases . They saw a chance to make extra Money and they did it. No I will never stay here again

Room Tip: Stay away. obviously they will cheat you if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
This was a difficult review for us to receive. We don't want any guest to feel they have been taken advantage. We do feel that we run our hotel very ethically as was commented on by many guests that were victims of Hurricane Sandy. We had several elderly guests that houses had been badly damaged, and they gave our hotel very kind remarks about how our staff made them feel very safe and comfortable during that time. We also charged less then normal prices during that time.

First, I am glad we were able to at least help provide a room, as the prior hotel had cancelled your original reservation, even though it was a stormy travel situation. We would never cancel a reservation under those circumstances. As far as price goes, we were nearly sold out during the time period of your stay, its very unlike there were beds online that could have been purchased for less. Were there guests in the hotel that had booked much earlier and paid less , yes of course, that is standard hotel practice. When you make a last minute booking, especially during peak times, one always pays a higher price.

Now having said all that , I am the manager and we never did speak about this situation, please contact the hotel and I will speak with you directly about this situation. We certainly do not want you to feel taken advantage of and I am happy to talk that over with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nesva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesva Hotel

Also Known As:
Nesva Hotel Long Island City, New York
Address: 39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nesva Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nesva Hotel is a brand new modern boutique hotel offering striking views of the legendary Manhattan skyline. Located in the Long Island City (LIC) section of New York City, one Subway stop from Midtown Manhattan. Close to area attractions and major city airports. A mere two blocks from N & Q Subway Lines and four blocks from E, M, R, & 7 Subway Lines. Only a short walk across the scenic Queensboro Bridge into the heart of posh 59th Street shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nesva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.